We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay and worthy of the great reviews”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernandina Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Addison on Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for our first wedding anniversary during Memorial Day weekend and it was perfect. The property is beautiful and in a convenient location close to historic downtown but offset enough from it for a quiet weekend lounging at the B&B too. Breakfast was great and the social happy hour in the evenings is a great way to meet new people and get to know the owners before heading out to town or the beach. Definitely recommend the Addison for couples looking for something different and to unwind away from the busy life and will be coming back soon.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have traveled to Amelia Island many times. It has great beaches, friendly people and good restaurants. During our past visits we had dogs and needed a pet friendly place to stay. For that reason, the Residence Inn was our choice. We no longer have pets and thought we should try something different. Please note, the Residence Inn was not even considered an option. It was good enough for dogs, but that is about all.

For this stay, we toyed with both the Ritz Carlton and The Addison. They are at opposite ends of the island and offer very different amenities. The Ritz is a typical high end resort with pool, spa, golf, beach etc. The Addison is in historic Fernandina Beach within walking distance to shops and top-notch restaurants. We decided upon The Addison as we tend to enjoy the north end of the island over the resort end. There is much more to do on the north end.

How can I possibly compare a B&B to a Ritz Carlton? Once you stay at The Addison, you will understand how.

The breakfast was better than any breakfast I’ve had at any hotel, ever! Yes ~ better than a Ritz Carlton. Others have raved about the breakfast served at The Addison on TripAdvisor. We had very high expectations. Our expectations were greatly exceeded.

Our room, number 3, was beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed morning tea on our private balcony overlooking Ash St. Dollar for dollar, we both thought our room was a better value than anything else the island has to offer.
Each evening the owners, Bob and Shannon, host a complimentary happy hour. Guest can enjoy the lush gardens while sipping an adult beverage on the veranda. Light hors d'oeuvres are served while guest talk about their days and new friends are made. If you are very lucky, you might meet Maggie.

Bob and Shannon will go out of their way to make sure you are happy and comfortable. Be sure to check out some of the special packages. Going to the beach? Let them know and they will set you up. Concierge Services are offered. Check out the web site for details.

Within easy walking distance of the inn are some of our favorite restaurants. They include Espana, LuLu’s and Le Clos. All rated in the top 10 on TA. Make reservations in advance.

In my opinion, if you are traveling to Amelia Island, there is nowhere else to stay. The Addison is it. If they are sold out, rearrange your plans so you can stay at The Addison. While there, be sure to ask Bob for his meat loaf recipe.

Room Tip: Some rooms offer balconies. They are a little more expensive but if you enjoy coffee or tea in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoWhat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is my fifth stay at The Addison and as always, it feels like coming home. Bob and Shannon are the most amazing hosts and I have a lovely stay every time I visit. From the gourmet breakfasts, to the happy hour appies, to the beautiful room and surroundings, I couldn't ask for a more perfect place to stay while in Fernandina Beach. Big thank you to Bob and Shannon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennfromvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This bed and breakfast is in a quiet area walking distance to all that the historic area of Fernandina Beach has to offer. The island is always friendly and laid back.

The Addison came highly recommended by friends in the Florida area. They had nothing but glowing comments so we thought we would give it a try.

The Addison did not disappoint. The rooms are very, very clean and have all the amenities one would expect but even better. The staff pays great attention to detail. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quite at night.

We had all the privacy we wanted or needed. It is a very quite inn even though they were full the entire weekend.

The food is wonderful. The owners pride themselves in their culinary skills. Breakfast is two courses and more than I could eat. Every morning is a taste bud's delight as is happy hour. Happy hour offers a nice light appetizer and wine or beer.

The owners and staff go to great lengths to make each guest feel welcome and relaxed. They have a concierge service available to help with reservations, beach items...etc... They are up on all the local attractions and make good suggestions for day and evening activities.

The only ding I will give them is the email after check out is obviously a standard form letter.The staff goes to such lengths to make you feel relaxed and welcome, like you are visiting friends but the email sent after check out is a form letter. The larger part of the letter asking for good reviews (which I would give them anyway). Sort of not in keeping with the rest of the atmosphere but, I brush this off as the busy life they have trying to run a successful B&B.

I would stay here on my next visit to the area and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roswellite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend and will definitely be back and recommend to friends. Bob and Shannon are great hosts, the breakfasts were excellent, and our room was absolutely perfect. Our room had a private porch overlooking the street; perfect viewing with a glass of wine! We will be back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Smmltnrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I had the good fortune to spend a few days on Amelia Island while visiting with a friend, I can highly recommend the Addison. We had a magnificent ground floor suite large clean and comfortable. Excellent bathroom with quality toiletries. 5pm drinks and nibbles on the veranda allowing the opportunity to meet with other guests and chat with the hosts. Breakfasts were fresh and scrumptious. Free umbrellas and bicycles = in good order . Dying to go back......

Room Tip: Any room will do..................
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

There are so many positives about The Addison, it's hard to figure where to start.

For us the most important part of a good experience is the innkeeper. Their attitude and attention to their visitors makes or breaks the experience, as it affects the accommodations, the staff and attitude.

Bob and Shannon and their daughter are probably the best innkeepers we have experienced. They are friendly, attentive and attuned to individual needs. They have truly embraced the role of an innkeeper and make you feel welcome and cared for.

Location is ideal for staying in town. Off the main strip but close enough to be able to walk all about town..and to many excellent restaurants.

Breakfast is varied every day and features two courses. We experienced a week's worth of breakfast and each day was excellent. (See photos for some examples). They also work to accommodate any dietary issues. We had breakfast every day al fresco on an outdoor veranda. Every day at 5pm there is a wine/beer hour with some appetizers. Then there are the nightly cookies and snacks available to all.

The inn is very well kept and the rooms are maintained well. Housekeeping is excellent. (See photo of room)

The inn also makes bicycles, beach chairs, umbrellas and towels available. The inn is about 2 miles from the Main Beach.

Parking is limited and much of it is on-street, but it is not a problem as it is very available.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorenzoLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
678 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
#1 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
245 reviews
7.9 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#7 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £177 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing