We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful mornings and AMAZING afternoon social hour!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fernandina Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Addison on Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Bob and Shannon create and serve a wonderful breakfast every morning! Then off to the beach and to see the sights of fair little Amelia Island and the surrounding area. But plan your day so as to be back to The Addison in time to clean up for Happy hour! It's a great time visiting with Bob & Shannon as well as the other guests! Everyone trades stories about their day and gets advise on what they should work into their plans as a "must see" or a "must dine" place before they leave. The Addison is a wonderful place, very clean and comfortable, and the attention to detail and service is outstanding! Amelia Island and The Addison are both on our list to return to again and again. (As I'm sure you will discover that other guests are saying the same thing after you have a chance to talk with them. We were the newcomers - most guests have been the multiple times. That says so much!)

Room Tip: Room #3 is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandLBoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I had another beautiful stay at the Addison B&B on Amelia Island. We were pleased to enjoy our favorite main house room. The room and accommodations were once again top notch with comfy bedding. The housekeeping service always covered all the details and after breakfast the cleaning service performed while we were out afterwards,so when we returned to relax before Happy Hour the room was ready for us.
The breakfast were relaxing on the shaded porch with soft wicker seating and soft easy listening music. All the breakfast were so scrumptious; the new Mediterranean grape olive oil cake, the quiche was light and flaky and the croissant French toast a real hit with every guest we shared the four mornings with. The proprietor's Bob/Shannon/Lea were always in Best Service mode. They were even so kind as to offer us homemade granola/berries with milk to assist with our early departure to the airport our last morning which was an hour earlier than the breakfast hour Happy Hour included a New favorite called Mionetto a semi-sparkling wine Prosecco which had been a favorite on our past December holiday visit. Bob made sure to keep us topped off with choice of beer, wines and always a appetizer of hot dips/spreads/toast creations...it was a Full House and we met many who had returned to the Amelia Island location and a few New Comers who hated to leave...it seems this Island hide-a-way a real note worthy place to stay again and again... summer is off to a good start

Room Tip: The Main House does have other guest staying up stairs and guest do arrive through the main front do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We travel all over the world and I have to say we have never stayed in a friendlier place. We were in Fernandina for a family reunion and everyone at the inn went out of their way to make our stay perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a very nice B&B in the Old Town section of Fernandina Beach. It's larger than many B&B establishments - some rooms are in the main building and some in what appears to be an addition next door. We had a small family reunion for a few days here. The host was accommodating to our needs for space to be able to meet and talk and for reserved space at breakfast.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a small private porch but we never used it because it was hot outside. The shaded courtyard with fountain was cooler.

The breakfasts were excellent. If one did not want the "special" of the day, alternatives were offered. From 5 PM to 6 PM, we were served free wine, beer and snacks.

There is no pool but for our group, that was not a problem. The Wi-Fi worked fine for me. Bicycles are available for free use.

The hosts were friendly and helpful. Every restaurant they recommended was good.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms require climbing one flight of stairs. Discuss this with the innkeeper if this is a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senior60+
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently stayed three nights at the beautiful Addison on Amelia Island and wish we could have stayed longer. The grounds are impeccable and the public spaces were fresh and updated. We were in Room 3 and it was perfect in every way. The room is spacious, beautifully appointed, and the private porch was a particular delight. We took our coffee on the porch each morning, enjoying the cool of the day and then had our wine there in the early evening as we watched the storms roll in. The breakfast every morning was exceptional. We will be back without a doubt!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I returned to the Addison for our 4th visit. I'm not sure what else can be said that hasn't been said in prior reviews except that the Addison is continually improving. The breakfast and happy hour menu has continued to progress to being much more "from scratch". The beach gear and bikes are always in good condition. The whole place is impeccable, from the landscaping, to the parlor, to the rooms. We're ruined for all other B&Bs. Nothing else is as good as The Addison. They have earned every award they have recieved.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 are in the main historic house (1 & 2 downstairs, 3-5 upstairs). Rooms 6-15 are in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeylizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Addison on Amelia Island exceeded our expectations. At first we tried to book on the beach but am so glad we didn't. The location was perfect. It was within walking distance to the downtown area. The Inn itself was beautiful and so peaceful. Room 10 was perfect and the fountain in the court yard was simply soothing. Bob, Shannon, and Leigh were wonderful hosts. Food and hospitality were great. We loved everything about The Addison. Will definintely want to stay there on our next visit to Amelia Island.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbeverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
691 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,460 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,543 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
#1 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast
Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £146 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing