We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at Home Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amelia Island Williams House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed the weekend for my wife's birthday. Our room was in the Hearthstone House. We enjoyed the whole experience. The hosts are wonderful and immediately made us feel at home. A relaxing, great place to stay that is walking distance to restaurants and businesses in old Fernandina.

Room Tip: Check out the website for room descriptions and photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a lovely house, well preserved and lovingly taken care of, within walking distance of restaurants and shops. The Innkeepers, Deborah and Bryon, were welcoming and attentive. We stayed in the Princess Amelia room which was very nice and well appointed. There were a few little problems with the room that I addressed in the comment card but nothing that we couldn't deal with for our two night stay and they didn't enter into our choice of very good rather than the excellent rating we really wanted to give the property.

Our rating stemmed from our second morning breakfast. The first morning the dining room was set with one long table sitting 8 people and two smaller tables set for two people. It was pleasant and even though we were the last to arrive, people lingered at the table and we had some easy conversation. Breakfast was strawberry croissant pancakes which I enjoyed immensely, my husband no so much but he's not a sweet eater to begin with and I'm sure Deborah would have supplied him with something else if he had said anything. Now fast forward to day 2. We arrive around 9:15, (breakfast is served between 9 and 10) the dining room is packed. The tables set for two now have 4 people at each of them. Don't know if the tables had extensions of some kind but the people looked rather cozy. The large table only had one place left so Bryon asked us to wait a few minutes which was okay with us. It didn't take long for two people to leave but I felt they cut their stay at the table short since they had been lingering over coffee the day before. At least we now had a seat at the big table. I'm not sure what happens when the inn is completely booked, maybe they have a couple of seating times. The food started out well, fruit and mini cinnamon buns were good, but then it went downhill. The sausage casserole wasn't cold but it certainly wasn't hot. I'm sure it was quite good before it sat for a while. Our toast was cold, even soft butter didn't help much. However, we could have overlooked that, stuff does happen. What was most disappointing was the ensuing conversation. One of the guests has or had cancer and he insisted on telling the whole table about it in excruciating detail. Of course everyone is polite and you could say it's not the innkeeper's fault they have a boorish guest but we just think Bryon should have managed to steer the conversation away from the subject in some manner. So combined with the food not being as good as we expected and the topic of conversation we fled the dining room as quickly as possible. There was no chance of enjoying a second cup of coffee and pleasant conversation. I'm sure this does not happen often, I'm just sorry it happened to us at such a lovely place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiGiOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Beautiful old historic bed and breakfast preserved in a Victorian time bubble, we arrived late and left early but the setting and the hosts were perfect, I can imagine a wonderful family Christmas or gathering would be perfect. Rooms were comfy and had all the necessary amenities, and the home made cookies were a nice touch.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be very different each with unique touches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArdyAitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to the Williams home. The 152 year old home is located close to the historic distric. We thought our room the smugglers cove was perfect, from the size of the room to the decor to the private balcony. Byron and Debra made us feel at home. We would not hesitate to book another visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Williams House in the King Ferdinand room. It was so beautiful and luxurious. Deborah and Byron are fantastic hosts and breakfast was phenomenal! They scheduled our reservation for a wonderful dinner at Le Clos, which was an excellent recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights over the weekend to celebrate our second wedding anniversary. It's conveniently located in the Historic District within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. Byron and Deborah were very friendly upon check-in; other reviewers have commented that the process seemed cold or hurried but we did not find it so. Introductions were made and we were asked to sign the guestbook. We were given some information about the area including a map and a dining guide which Deborah took the time to go through with us, even highlighting the places we should check out. We were told about the social hour and breakfast times.

Our room in the carriage house was very clean and comfortable. We were not asked to turn the coffee pot on for the other guests, as one reviewer stated, we were just told that coffee was available to us if we wanted it. We did go to the main house for social hour and passed a very pleasant hour chatting with Byron and the other guests.

Breakfasts were served at 9 AM and consisted of two courses, a sweet and a savory. Both mornings the meal was very good and my husband and I left feeling full and satisfied. Byron and Deborah were very attentive through the entire meal, my drink was never empty and dishes were cleared promptly. They also helped keep the conversation flowing, asking about our lives and how our vacation was going.

All in all I would recommend Williams House to anyone looking to stay in a B&B in downtown Amelia Island. It's reasonably priced and the house and grounds are very charming. We stayed in the Isle of Santa Maria room and were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aroland17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Williams house is very beautiful. My boyfriend & I came here just for the night for a mini-vacation getaway. This was the PERFECT choice!! The room was very beautiful & really brought us closer as a couple. We both agreed that after our stay here we felt closer & the whole weekend was magical. The staff is very friendly & the breakfast was delicious!!! I highly recommend staying here & taking advantage of their bikes. We brought our own, but riding to Espana for dinner, had a few drinks at the palace saloon & the next day rode bikes to Ft. Clinch park & had an amazing day there. Amelia Island is a place I would want to live & the Williams house is the place to stay when visiting!! :)

Room Tip: Smuglers cove was absolutely perfect! Hot tub outside, private porch, extremely cozy bed, walk in sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
1.6 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#4 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
702 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
729 reviews
7.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,573 reviews
7.9 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#6 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
4,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Island Williams House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Island Williams House

Address: 103 S 9th St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £174 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amelia Island Williams House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Williams House Inn has something to offer those couples seeking romantic Amelia Island getaways, pampering and rejuvenation, or respite from the distractions of everyday life amid our live oaks dripping with Spanish moss and wide verandas with porch swing. Rejuvenate yourself or your relationship at the Williams House bed and breakfast inn. Take a deep breath of history exploring by foot, bicycle, horse drawn carriage or trolley, all the treasures of the island. Soak up the sun on our wide sandy beaches. Our award winning Amelia Island bed and breakfast offers eleven distinctive guest rooms, ten with private baths in the Inn, Hearthstone House, and Carriage House, each celebrating the rich history of Amelia Island. We serve a two course gourmet breakfast each morning that will satisfy any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Expedia so you can book your Amelia Island Williams House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Williams House Hotel Fernandina Beach
Amelia Island Williams House Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing