We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“was great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amelia Island Williams House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“was great”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Byron and Deborah were so great. We had our wedding there we wanted small and got just that. They adjusted the package to fit our needs and made us feel like family from the moment we spoke to them on the phone. We can not say ENOUGH about how pleased we are and WILL be back. a definite on a trip to Fernandina.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richbar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    41
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
46
349
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Our travel agent booked us into the Ritz Carlton which I changed to more 'affordable accommodation'. Judging from the web photo's Williams House seemed to offer more the 'old Amelia Island' style but was I wrong! The rooms were tiered, the staircases narrow and the afternoon snacks meagre... counted out to the minimum per guest. We had to leave before breakfast at 09:00 (why only at 09:00??) and a 'to-go' brown paper bag was given. One slice of cake-bread and a small cup of fruit salad was all the bag contained. No water, not even an apple! This hotel is overpriced at $220 per room and would be better value at half the price. What could have been a lovely old style Inn was now a 'has been' boarding house best avoided.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nico558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmccutchen, Owner at Amelia Island Williams House, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We always hope that guest will spend two nights with us so that they are able to enjoy all the amenities that we offer such as free wi-fi and parking, use of our bikes and beach chairs, and towels. We offer a free social hour complete with appetizers and free glasses of wine. We have fresh flowers, complimentary bottles of water and homemade cookies in the guests' room on arrival and access to complimentary beverages and snacks all day. We offer a 2-3 course hot breakfast served in our dining room between 9 am until 10 am. We happy to start breakfast at an earlier time perhaps by 8:15 or try to accommodate guest leaving early with a to-go breakfast of fruit and fresh baked friendship bread. This guest was only here for one night checking in at the wine hour which he took part in_enjoying several glasses of complimentary wine and taking almost the entire tray of appetizers for himself. We did replenish the tray so that our other guest could enjoy a bite as well. this is not meant to be a meal just a light bite before dinner. This guest said that they would be leaving at 7:00 am so we offered to leave a to-go breakfast for him. There was coffee and additional bottles of water available to him at all times.
This guest reserved online so we were not able to make a room suggestions, but it clearly states on our website which rooms are located on the e2nd floor and the building that they are in. We would have been happy to make a 1st floor room available to him if we had know that climbing stairs was a problem. The stairs he refers to are in the Hearthstone House which was built in 1859 and are 3 ft wide, enough for a person carrying luggage to easily ascend. Our other staircase is in the main building and are 4 ft wide.
We want to assure guest that this is not a tired old boarding house, but indeed a beautifully restored and completely renovated Inn maintaining the ambience of the Victoria era but complete with modern baths and all the amenities that discerning travelers expect. We hope you will visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Kisco, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My mom, sister and I had a wonderful weekend at the Williams House. Byron and Deborah were incredible hosts with a wealth of knowledge for us about the island, places to eat and things to do. They arranged a carriage ride for us through the historic district which was relaxing and extremely interesting! Aside from making dining recommendations for us, they made us a reservation at Le Clos, a French restaurant that is hard to get reservations for. We were hesitant as the food genre is not one we normally gravitate towards. After much discussion and assurance from both Deborah and Byron as to the quality of the food and variety of menu we went and enjoyed an incredible meal! The rooms were clean, larger than expected, and interesting to discover (all of the decor). The house as a whole was incredibly clean and well-maintained. Last, the breakfast, oh, the incredible home-cooked breakfasts....what more is there to say...I wanted EVERY recipe for every meal they made, just wonderful! Would HIGHLY recommend a stay, and hope to return again myself!

Room Tip: call and talk to owners, they will fit you with best room!
See more room tips
Green Features: as many bigger hotels, they work on water conservation by only replacing towels/washcloths that are on the floor
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Johns, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at the William's House! Just a short walk to the historic downtown Fernandina, where there is plenty of restaurants and shops! Enjoyed taking the bikes out for a ride through the neighborhood! The Inn Keepers were very kind and gave a lot of helpful advice! Will definitely stay there again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsASunnyDayinFlorid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was our 2nd visit here. I love the location, and the Inn is lovely. We always have a fireplace and thats my favorite feature. The hosts are friendly and unobtrusive. Breakfast was delicious: quiche, poached pear, beautiful presentation. The bed was great!

Room Tip: Always get a private in -room bathroom. We did. But I noticed there was a sign on a hallway bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed in The Santa Maria Room with it's Toile & high Victorian furniture to it's balcony & claw foot soaking tub, not a complaint can I utter. The deliciously light gourmet breakfast, fantastic coffee & the company around the table made us want to sit around instead of getting out & on with our days. Byron & Deborah could not have been any more gracious, accommodating, professional & personal. I would recommend this beautiful old home to anyone with any taste for the finer finishing of life.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We enjoyed a beautiful weekend at the Williams House. Our room was Southern Memories and it was truly memorable. The bed was very comfortable, like sleeping on a cloud! We also took advantage of the spa tub, wink... The added convenience of being able to walk to the restaurants and shopping were an added plus. Our only dissapointment were in the breakfasts served. We have stayed in several B&B's and are accustomed to having at least 2 choices as well as biscuits/breads , there was only one option served each morning. This is a beautiful home, great location, and wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debyann62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
1.6 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
7.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
7.9 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#7 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Island Williams House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Island Williams House

Property: Amelia Island Williams House
Address: 103 S 9th St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amelia Island Williams House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restful elegant Inn on Amelia Island with 10 beautifully decorated guest rooms all with private baths, wonderful amenities and all the comforts of home, plus great southern hospitality. You stay includes delicious gourmet breakfasts, Sunset social hour, complimentary bikes, wi-fi and so much more. Come be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amelia Island Williams House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Williams House Hotel Fernandina Beach
Amelia Island Williams House Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing