We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Years and years of wonderful visits!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amelia Island Williams House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We think we have been to the Amelia Island Williams House 21 times; our first year was either 1994 or 1995. We have been visiting all those years for the Isle of Eight Flags Shrimp Festival, a wonderful food festival that includes a pirate invasion, fireworks, live music, pubs, wonderful restaurants, and an amazing first class juried art show. At the top of our experience list is the Amelia Island Williams House! Byron and Deborah McCutchen, Innkeepers, have become like family. Each year when we visit, it seems as though we were only there the previous week. They are relaxed, laid back, welcoming, and accommodating. All we need to do is ask and we have whatever we need. Breakfasts are wonderful, always including fruits and juices, fresh breads, and wonderful entrees that incorporate a variety of savory/sweet ingredients. We have never been disappointed. This year was especially poignant for me, as I lost my husband on Valentine's Day. It was a bittersweet trip, and Byron and Deborah were sensitive to my feelings--they had known CT for 20 years as well!! I made my reservations for next year when I checked out. There is no more elegant, beautifully decorated, convenient, welcoming inn on the island.

Room Tip: Consider stairs--there are a number of first floor rooms if you prefer not to go upstairs. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our stay at Williams House was nothing short of fabulous. Our hosts were warm and gracious, our room was lovely with a huge en-suite bathroom. Breakfast each morning was delicious! We took a picnic lunch with us on the complimentary bikes to the nearby beach and nature trails - sat on the porch swing enjoying wine and conversation with Bryon and other guests. A short walk into the historic district for amazing dinners finished up our evenings. We will definitely return to Amelia Island and our favorite inn... Williams House.

Room Tip: Catherine's Chambers is private with a huge bathroom - double Jacuzzi tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had an excellent stay. Our hosts were very friendly and the breakfast was stupendous. The rooms were large and comfortable. It was very relaxing to sit on the porch, sip a glass of wine, and talk about the town and surrounding area. Very happy we selected the inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Byron and Deborah were so great. We had our wedding there we wanted small and got just that. They adjusted the package to fit our needs and made us feel like family from the moment we spoke to them on the phone. We can not say ENOUGH about how pleased we are and WILL be back. a definite on a trip to Fernandina.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richbar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Our travel agent booked us into the Ritz Carlton which I changed to more 'affordable accommodation'. Judging from the web photo's Williams House seemed to offer more the 'old Amelia Island' style but was I wrong! The rooms were tiered, the staircases narrow and the afternoon snacks meagre... counted out to the minimum per guest. We had to leave before breakfast at 09:00 (why only at 09:00??) and a 'to-go' brown paper bag was given. One slice of cake-bread and a small cup of fruit salad was all the bag contained. No water, not even an apple! This hotel is overpriced at $220 per room and would be better value at half the price. What could have been a lovely old style Inn was now a 'has been' boarding house best avoided.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nico558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmccutchen, Owner at Amelia Island Williams House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

We always hope that guest will spend two nights with us so that they are able to enjoy all the amenities that we offer such as free wi-fi and parking, use of our bikes and beach chairs, and towels. We offer a free social hour complete with appetizers and free glasses of wine. We have fresh flowers, complimentary bottles of water and homemade cookies in the guests' room on arrival and access to complimentary beverages and snacks all day. We offer a 2-3 course hot breakfast served in our dining room between 9 am until 10 am. We happy to start breakfast at an earlier time perhaps by 8:15 or try to accommodate guest leaving early with a to-go breakfast of fruit and fresh baked friendship bread. This guest was only here for one night checking in at the wine hour which he took part in_enjoying several glasses of complimentary wine and taking almost the entire tray of appetizers for himself. We did replenish the tray so that our other guest could enjoy a bite as well. this is not meant to be a meal just a light bite before dinner. This guest said that they would be leaving at 7:00 am so we offered to leave a to-go breakfast for him. There was coffee and additional bottles of water available to him at all times.
This guest reserved online so we were not able to make a room suggestions, but it clearly states on our website which rooms are located on the e2nd floor and the building that they are in. We would have been happy to make a 1st floor room available to him if we had know that climbing stairs was a problem. The stairs he refers to are in the Hearthstone House which was built in 1859 and are 3 ft wide, enough for a person carrying luggage to easily ascend. Our other staircase is in the main building and are 4 ft wide.
We want to assure guest that this is not a tired old boarding house, but indeed a beautifully restored and completely renovated Inn maintaining the ambience of the Victoria era but complete with modern baths and all the amenities that discerning travelers expect. We hope you will visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My mom, sister and I had a wonderful weekend at the Williams House. Byron and Deborah were incredible hosts with a wealth of knowledge for us about the island, places to eat and things to do. They arranged a carriage ride for us through the historic district which was relaxing and extremely interesting! Aside from making dining recommendations for us, they made us a reservation at Le Clos, a French restaurant that is hard to get reservations for. We were hesitant as the food genre is not one we normally gravitate towards. After much discussion and assurance from both Deborah and Byron as to the quality of the food and variety of menu we went and enjoyed an incredible meal! The rooms were clean, larger than expected, and interesting to discover (all of the decor). The house as a whole was incredibly clean and well-maintained. Last, the breakfast, oh, the incredible home-cooked breakfasts....what more is there to say...I wanted EVERY recipe for every meal they made, just wonderful! Would HIGHLY recommend a stay, and hope to return again myself!

Room Tip: call and talk to owners, they will fit you with best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at the William's House! Just a short walk to the historic downtown Fernandina, where there is plenty of restaurants and shops! Enjoyed taking the bikes out for a ride through the neighborhood! The Inn Keepers were very kind and gave a lot of helpful advice! Will definitely stay there again!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank ItsASunnyDayinFlorid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
1.6 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
691 reviews
7.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,537 reviews
7.9 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#6 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Island Williams House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Island Williams House

Address: 103 S 9th St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £185 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amelia Island Williams House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Williams House Inn has something to offer those couples seeking romantic Amelia Island getaways, pampering and rejuvenation, or respite from the distractions of everyday life amid our live oaks dripping with Spanish moss and wide verandas with porch swing. Rejuvenate yourself or your relationship at the Williams House bed and breakfast inn. Take a deep breath of history exploring by foot, bicycle, horse drawn carriage or trolley, all the treasures of the island. Soak up the sun on our wide sandy beaches. Our award winning Amelia Island bed and breakfast offers eleven distinctive guest rooms, ten with private baths in the Inn, Hearthstone House, and Carriage House, each celebrating the rich history of Amelia Island. We serve a two course gourmet breakfast each morning that will satisfy any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Amelia Island Williams House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Williams House Hotel Fernandina Beach
Amelia Island Williams House Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing