We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Couples B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amelia Island Williams House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Warner Robins, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Couples B&B”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I had an amazing time at the Williams House in the Island Getaway suite. The room was spacious and located in the building next to the main home. We especially enjoyed the hospitality of Byron and Deborah. Breakfast was exquisite and meeting the other guests was friendly and fun. The location within the Historic District makes it easy to walk or bike (provided for check-out) to the nearby shops and restaurants. My wife and I particularly enjoyed the CraigCat water tour at Backwater Adventures located at the marina; there we were able to tour Cumberland, see dolphins up close and other historic landmarks. I will definitely consider the Williams House if we are lucky to have another couples weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernie R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    41
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
46
349
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The charm of Amelia Island and the wonderful atmosphere of a top rated Select Registry Inn made this one of the best trips we've taken. The tender care and hospitality of Byron and Deborah and their wonderful staff made it the best trip we've taken. The memories of this trip will not be enough to sustain us. We will return to Amelia Island where we know the Williams House will be again the best trip ever. Thanks to all for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Chloe's Garden Room has the best of everything and it's closest to the dining room, which fo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Conservation of water and energy priorities were posted and adhered to. For a luxurious accommodation, it was nice to see the genuine concern for the environment.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheree A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Williams house for 3 nights in Chole's room. The room was right off the main dining area on the first floor of the main house. It had a nice comfy bed, great sunlight and a nice whirlpool bath.
We were welcomed with yummy chocolate chip cookies and bottles of water. There were amazing plush robes for us as well. The room had a tv, dvd player and over 100 movies we could watch- although we didn't use this feature. The best part of the house for us was the huge front porches full of chairs where we sat and relaxed and read. Even on the morning it stormed, the porches were dry and provided us the perfect setting. The 500 year old oak tree was also one of our favorite parts of the inn.
The innkeepers, Byron and Deborah, are delighful. They are perfect hosts- will engage in conversation if prompted and will do anything to help you enjoy your stay. They provided us good recommendations on food, beach chairs, umbrella and beach towels for the days we went to the beach, and had bicycles for us to use as well. Breakfast was yummy each day- two good size portions- first with fruit/yogurt/pastry, second-egg/toast dish. The location is perfect, 2 blocks from the charming historical district where most of the shops and restuarants are, and about 5 min drive to Fort Clinch and the beach.

My only critiques would be: Even though the pastries were yummy, I would have preferred home baked ones- not the ones from Sams. Also, there was a lot of cool facts and history about the house that we learned from a local we met on the island- not from the innkeepers. The rooms had the history of the rooms, but I didn't see/hear any stories of the hidden room (used to hide slaves they were sending north to freedom) from the innkeepers. I think that would have been a great touch.

We will definately return.

Room Tip: I loved staying in the main house. Chole's room is large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webekrusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Williams house was very nice. The location was ideal as we spent equal time at the beach and downtown area. The bed was not comfortable and the pillows were about 20 years old. I should send them a bill for the massage I had to get. We have stayed in many B&B's. This one was by far the most "strict". There were notes every where. Don't use this, use this, don't sit here, sit over here, close this door. I felt like I was back in grade school. The food was okay at best. The staff for the most part was friendly.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have good intentions and are concerned about the environment.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OntheGotoEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmccutchen, Owner at Amelia Island Williams House, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
We do strive to offer quality accommodations and service and we apologize if the guest felt that they did not receive this.First of all, our pillows are not 20 yrs old. They are replaced quite frequently and we try to have a variety on the bed with at total of 6 pillows to choose from. This guest stayed in the MacGregor room which is one of our most popular and we receive compliments on the mattress all the time. We have never had one single complaint. As for the notes they are informational not instructional #1) is a welcome to the Inn-please let us know if you need anything and is accompanied by fresh baked cookies and complimentary bottles of water; #2) is located in the bath and says that we have provided a make-up cloth for removal of your cosmetics and #3) a card explaining our green practices. There are no " don't use this" signs or "don't sit here" signs that we know of-maybe that was another property, but not this one. As for our breakfast, 20 other guests raved about our strawberry croissant French Toast on Sunday and the baked egg and cheese souffle on Monday's menu. We are always happy to accommodate special request or any dietary requirements if asked. We hope that guest will make an effort to get to know us and let us know if there is anything we can do to make their stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield, virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

It was a delightful, relaxing 3 days in a lovely historic inn with pleasant, efficient inn keepers who were unobtrusively present. It seems that every need was anticipated and every need met....from cookies and bottled water awaiting our room arrival to lovely amenities complete with soft cozy bathrobes in the bathroom to a basket of quality snacks and refreshing lemon water greeting us after a day of touring. If you want to enjoy the nearby beach, fluffy beach towels and chairs are provided. If you are an early riser, coffee is ready to sip on the two story porch, reading the morning paper while waiting for others to arise for the delicious breakfast....a different menu each day and each attractively presented. Afternoon wine and gourmet appetizers were served to our party each evening on the shaded patio.There is beauty wherever you look in this Victorian home with fresh flowers inside and blooming Jasmine outside..The hosts are accommodating to guests and welcomed our reunion party of 13 Viet Nam Aviators with their spouses and even a grandson. Only because we reserved all of the rooms, they allowed for the 3 year old grandson to stay with grandparents in their room in the Carriage house. It was simply a perfect setting for our reunion, to gather and share memories of old,and now, adding memories of our stay at lovely Williams House.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at the William's House in the Southern Memories room located in the Heartstone House. Lovely room with genuine vintage furniture. My husband was happy that they had a small TV in the room and I was happy to soak in the tub. The meals we had for breakfast were good portions and both unique but simple (a good thing). I appreciated that fruit was always the "first course" and they were very accommodating of my diet.

Accessing the house/room is easy - they give you a main door code and a key. Parking is on the street in front of the house but there is minimal traffic. The location is perfect - walking distance from the historic area but not so close that you would be awoken at night from any nightlife. Upon arrival you are greeted with bottled water and cookies in your room. The bathroom is large although the shower space is tight as this room is wheelchair accessible and the shower has a built in seat.

The owners and staff were very kind and professional. Housekeeping is provided daily and there's always someone around should you need anything BUT neither the owners or staff were intrusive. We were able to enjoy our privacy and relax without any interruptions.

All in all a lovely B & B. We look forward to staying here again next time we are in town.

Room Tip: Southern Memories room is has two walls with windows allowing the perfect amount of outdoor lighting...
See more room tips
Green Features: Green practices are evident from signage regarding laundry to the "green" toiletries.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We traveled with another couple to the Williams House and loved our stay. The house is beautiful, the rooms comfortable but the hosts, Deborah and Byron, are really what made this stay special. Breakfast each morning in a beautifully set dining room. Each morning was a different treat - think fruit cup that will take to the tropics. Meeting the other guests and chatting with the hosts felt like being with neighbors. Sitting on the porch for cocktails before or after dinner or sampling the tasty tid-bits and wine provided for quests made a nice change of pace. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: King Ferdinand room is quiet and cozy, own fireplace and private bath.
See more room tips
Green Features: Save the water program encourages quests to reuse towels to conserve.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBJBeaufort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
1.6 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
7.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
7.9 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#7 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Island Williams House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Island Williams House

Property: Amelia Island Williams House
Address: 103 S 9th St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amelia Island Williams House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restful elegant Inn on Amelia Island with 10 beautifully decorated guest rooms all with private baths, wonderful amenities and all the comforts of home, plus great southern hospitality. You stay includes delicious gourmet breakfasts, Sunset social hour, complimentary bikes, wi-fi and so much more. Come be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amelia Island Williams House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Williams House Hotel Fernandina Beach
Amelia Island Williams House Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing