We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coziest B&B we've stayed in...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amelia Island Williams House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 December 2008

With the holiday decorations up and the fireplace on in our 2 room suite (Macgregor Aury Room) things couldn't have been cozier for our one-night birthday getaway. The inn is so quaint and well-maintained...beautiful old Victorian home with a fabulous location in the heart of Fernandina. Steps from Centre St. and fabulous shopping/restaurants. Breakfast is gourmet and served in front of a roaring fire during our stay. The room was clean, beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable! We wish we could have stayed longer and we will certainly return! Only suggestion...ask where the thermostat to the room is...it got into the 30s that night and we couldn't find the thermostat!!! Got a little chilly ... turns out it was in the hall outside our door!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pugfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2008

Last March we contacted the William House, and asked about a private wedding ceremony. We received an immediate positive response from the owners, and we booked immediately. Our experience from beginning to end was wonderful. The Inn and rooms look exactly as photos show on their web site www.williamshouse.com. We stayed in Macgregor Aury Stateroom, and found to be truly delightful. We enjoyed the gas fireplace and the adjoining sitting room.

We were given a tour of most of the rooms at this wonderful B&B, and again found them to be exactly as seen. Breakfast was a unique and tasteful experience. We loved the wine hour and the inter action with the other guests. The owners arranged for a private carriage ride giving us a tour of the Historic District. It was a wonderful hour, and the driver was full of informative information.

Our only negative experience was the $141.00 meal for Thanksgiving at the Beech Street Grill. Yes, that was for two with one glass of wine. The three course meal was a fix price of $50.00 per person plus an automatic 20% gratuity. The atmosphere at the restaurant, food presentation, and service left a lot to be desired. It was basically the only game in town! To say the least, this was truly a “High Price Turkey Dinner”!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank grace1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

Beautiful, welcoming, relaxing, refreshing, carefree, incredible...

Simply put...

Williams House + Deborah and Byron = Absolutely amazing!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catgirl2_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2008

We booked the "Smugglers Cove" room last Saturday. A beautiful historic house, but, alas, we arrived to discover that the room's bathroom had no door--only a transparent gauze curtain. The lack of a bathroom door seems like important information for a room booking for over $200/night, at least for those who don't fall in the category of smugglers, who may not concern themselves with such niceties. Luckily, another room was available, and we had a good stay in the "Santa Maria," in the building next door, with a nice upstairs front porch and a pleasant view of the shady street, and, as a sop to the conventional, a door to the bathroom.

The house is situated to provide a nice walk through the historic neighborhoods on the way to downtown Fernandina. Luigi's is nice place nearby to eat outside on a pleasant evening.

Another note for early risers and those who may prefer the option to have breakfast with "the one who brung them"---breakfast was served from 9-9:30 at each of two large tables. The breakfast and coffee were very good, but by the time it was served, we had already driven to the beach and been offered coffee and breakfast by two very friendly B and B innkeepers there, where breakfast was already available for guests, who were enjoying it on their own schedule and with the choice to eat in groups or on their own.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Sollveig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

My wife and I spent 4 wonderful nights at the Williams House this month (at the same time as the honeymoon couple that just posted a review). We enjoyed our stay immensly.

We booked a beautifully appointed suite in the cottage, which was decorated in an Asian motiff. It was incredibly comfortable and relaxing. The 2nd floor porch off of our room overlooking the grand old live oak tree covered in Spanish moss was the perfect setting for our nightly happy hour.

The inn is beautifully kept and is decorated with an incredible collection of beautiful antiques. While the cottage we stayed in is charming, the main house is truly beautiful and impressive. The architecture is stunning and the building has been lovingly restored and maintained.

My wife and I operate a Victorian inn in Cape May, NJ (also a Select Registry inn), so we have a true appreciation for the beauty of this inn and quality of the accomodations that Byron and Deborah provide.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QV-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

We recently stayed in the William's House on our honeymoon. The inn keepers were gracious and the home lovely. One of our favorite part was relaxing on the upper and lower porches. We took a nine mile bike ride out to a fort and over to the beach which is natural looking with dunes and all. Wear helmets if you want to ride on the trail while in the park. It was a nice change from the commercial beaches of South FL. At the inn keepers' recommendation we ate at the Beach Grill where we had a delicious and romantic dinner while listening to piano music. The carriage ride was a must, what a beautiful island! The city feels like a home not a tourist trap. You'll leave relaxed and yearning to return.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ourTravelAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

Fell in love with Amelia Island, thanks in large part to Deborah and Byron, owners/managers of this quaint, romantic getaway. Our accomodations were comfortable, clean, superbly furnished with fine antiques and a very, very comfortable King sized bed. The gas fireplace added warmth and ambience, the sitting room overlooking the gardens and fountain was delightful as was the quiet, private porch. Deborah proved to be a superb chef and each day at Five, she and Byron served up a most enjoyable "get together" with good wine, "eats", conversation and history about their unique home and Island. They recommended two fine restaurants for dinner (La Bodega & Espana) and then provided a couple of bicycles so we could work off a bit of what we packed on at supper. They're a wonderful couple, warm and helpful, and you can "feel" their commitment to making sure the Williams House maintains its standing as Amelia Island's premier Bed & Breakfast. Talk about good old "Southern Hospitality" . . . they seemed to have invented it. We'll likley be back later this year or early next and use it as our base of operations as we go hunting for our own little piece of paradise; a vacation home on the uncrowded beaches of Amelia Island. "Thanks Deborah and Byron - we'll see you again - real soon".

Whitney & Cheri Southwick
San Diego, CA

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank wsouthwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
1.6 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#4 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
700 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
723 reviews
7.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,572 reviews
7.9 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#6 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
4,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Island Williams House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Island Williams House

Address: 103 S 9th St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £173 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amelia Island Williams House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Williams House Inn has something to offer those couples seeking romantic Amelia Island getaways, pampering and rejuvenation, or respite from the distractions of everyday life amid our live oaks dripping with Spanish moss and wide verandas with porch swing. Rejuvenate yourself or your relationship at the Williams House bed and breakfast inn. Take a deep breath of history exploring by foot, bicycle, horse drawn carriage or trolley, all the treasures of the island. Soak up the sun on our wide sandy beaches. Our award winning Amelia Island bed and breakfast offers eleven distinctive guest rooms, ten with private baths in the Inn, Hearthstone House, and Carriage House, each celebrating the rich history of Amelia Island. We serve a two course gourmet breakfast each morning that will satisfy any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Expedia so you can book your Amelia Island Williams House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Williams House Hotel Fernandina Beach
Amelia Island Williams House Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing