We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amelia Island Williams House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 21 March 2009

My wife and I just returned from our stay at the Williams House and could not be happier with our stay. Great hosts in an incredible inn which we recommend highly, good restaurants all within a short walk in the towns historic district that were recommended to us by Byron and Deborah.
In all a wonderful and relaxing inn that we would visit again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    41
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
46
356
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Great for romance or a girl's trip. The owners took care of everything. Our room was spotless and luxurious, breakfast was fabulous!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooshi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

I've kept meaning to post this on here, better late than never! We chose the Williams House for our wedding Sept 9th 2008. The room we selected to stay in was the Pirates Cove, and whilst some people have mentioned the lack of privacy in the bathroom (it just partitions off rather than a separate room) this to us added to the charm of a beautifully decorated room. The hot tub was wonderful as well!
The owners Byron and Deborah could not have been more accommodating. As I am from the UK (my wife from the US) I conducted all the arrangements for the wedding via email, and everything was taken care of, our requests for flowers, champagne in our room and an excellent recommendation (they even made the booking for us) for our wedding dinner in the Beech St Grill just a block away. Byron officiated at our wedding and everything was just perfect.
The breakfasts were delicious, and our request for the morning after the wedding was catered for - a delicious bacon strada which we saw listed in a magazine review of the House, they sell a book of recipes and it's well worth the money - that will be our anniversary breakfast.
It was very pleasant to chat with the other guests over breakfast.
Perhaps we'll make it back for our 10th wedding anniversary!
I cannot praise the Williams House highly enough - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichSBarnsley_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2009

First B&B experience; fine breakfast dining; casual, warm conversation with owners (ask about the ghost stories). Cozy and comfortable rooms with elegant decor. Most relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savor2th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidW2981
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2009

Our stay at The William’s House was the perfect getaway weekend for me and my partner. It was early in February and unusually cold even for north Florida and the MacGregor-Aury Stateroom was warm and romantic. We started off our weekend with a walking tour of downtown Fernandina, guided by a museum volunteer it was an informative tour, but we didn't make it all the way to the end. It was bitterly cold and we were not really dressed for the weather. On the up side, the tour made us really appreciate the fireplace in our room. After quickly finishing off our chocolate covered strawberries and a glass of Champagne we went to dinner at Espana on 4th street; it was easily within walking distance. The meal was wonderful and fresh. Back at The William's House we were greeted by a roaring fire and a comfortable king sized bed for a quiet night alone.
The next morning breakfast was unbelievably decadent, fresh warm pears with a lovely glaze to start, and blueberry stuffed French toast made from scratch and topped with whole blueberries. By this point the weather had warmed up enough for comfortable outdoor activities so we were then off to Fort Clinch for a great taste of island history with live civil war era re-enactors which are there the first weekend of each month. If you are interested in history I would recommend planning a trip to make sure that it falls over the first weekend. We rounded out our day with a little shopping and lunch downtown. By evening we were ready to be off of our feet and we ended up playing cards in the main house sitting room during the wine social hour, beginning at five o’clock, where we heard some the personal history of the B&B from Byron & Deborah.
Our final day was the most relaxing of all. We followed a self directed tour pamphlet of the town’s historic homes which winds up and down the residential areas of Fernandina. Usually this starts at the visitor center but we figured we’d start where we were, number twenty-six, The William’s House and then make the loop from there. After our leisurely walk we returned to enjoy the front porch swing and cinnamon the cat. Upon our departure Deborah quickly offered to take our picture in a few locations showing off the house. Our stay was memorable and will be the standard to which all our future B&B experiences will be judged. I highly recommend The William’s House to anyone looking to spend time in Amelia Island.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidW2981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Byron and Debbie were very nice and they made us feel right at home. Gave us all the infornation to make our stay very enjoyable. The room was outstanding and very comfortable. Easy access to fine dining within walking distance too. The B&B was centrally located which made it easy to get to downtown and the beach area. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MBH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Great room and service. Loved breakfast and talking with other guests at evening wine time. Stayed here 14 years ago, just as good now. Room with hot tub was a blast.
Amelia Island is wonderful and quiet for a get away.

  • Liked — romantic feel of old house
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sktchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,400 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
1.6 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
658 reviews
7.9 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#7 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
3,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Island Williams House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Island Williams House

Property: Amelia Island Williams House
Address: 103 S 9th St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amelia Island Williams House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restful elegant Inn on Amelia Island with 10 beautifully decorated guest rooms all with private baths, wonderful amenities and all the comforts of home, plus great southern hospitality. You stay includes delicious gourmet breakfasts, Sunset social hour, complimentary bikes, wi-fi and so much more. Come be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amelia Island Williams House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Williams House Hotel Fernandina Beach
Amelia Island Williams House Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing