We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms, Noisy Pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms, Noisy Pool.”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Overall the hotel was very nice. We enjoyed our stay.

Pro's:
1. Nice spacious rooms with kitchen. The kitchen was a great thing to have, especially for keeping cold food to bring to the beach.
2. Friendly staff.
3. Nice breakfast in the morning, in a nice dining area.
4. Decent fitness facilities.
5. Clean and well maintained.
6. Resort shuttle takes you anywhere on the island!

Con's:
1. Our room was near the pool/hot tub. It was around 3am when everyone at the pool wound down and went to bed. Loud music, and drunk people. I don't think this would be a problem in different areas of the hotel. My tip is to get a room that is not near the pool/hot tub if you can, or bring ear plugs.

2. The pool area is basically a gated pool in the parking lot.

3. Overall when staying near the ocean, I think it's better to stay beach front, however this is much less expensive, and it's fairly easy to get to the beach.

Room Tip: Pick a room that is not near the hot tub/pool. Bring your own bottled water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel!

I am glad that the pros outweighed the cons (I am a fan of bullets, too). My GM has seen the comment about the pool noise and has emailed our night staff to remind them of pool hours so that we can avoid those situations in the future. Our pool is only open until 10pm, so thanks to your review, I’m sure we will take more actions to keep with those hours so that our sleepy guests can rest comfortably.

We hope to have you again soon and safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    235
    45
    18
    10
See reviews for
423
626
58
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Overall, I really liked this hotel. Rooms were clean and spacious. Very dog friendly Hotel. Staff were very nice and prompt in responding to request. I was disappointed to learn after a visit to my doctor this morning that I got "hot tub rash" from being in their hot tub. Apparently it is caused from bacteria in the water. Lesson learned..don't use public hot tubs.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HeatC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I was happy to read that our hotel’s accommodations met your needs and that our staff addressed any needs promptly! However I am sorry to hear about your hot tub rash – I have let our maintenance engineer know. He maintains the hot tub and I’m sure he wants to know when there are issues. Thank you for the heads up – we haven’t heard of any issues from others but this will keep us on alert.

Thank you again for your input, and we hope to see you next time!

Safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Wonderful hotel....Clean and stylish. Modern feel. The amenities were all up to date and clean. The staff was so wonderful and helpful. They even were considerate to allergies that I told them I had and substituted part of our Romance package with other items of equal or additional value. They left a wonderful note in our room and really made us feel they really put personal consideration and thought into our stay at Ameila Island. Staff in breakfast area / lounge was cheerful and pleasant. Kept the area clean and sanitary for all the guest eating there. Close proximity to walk to the beach. We had king bed suite and it was spacious. Bathroom was nice size.

Room Tip: Had view of pool. Was very quiet. We used the stairs all the time since the many access by key doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCortina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Romance Package! We were happy to find alternatives to the Godiva chocolates, and I’m glad that those were good substitutes. Thank you so much for your glowing review of the Inn, and we hope to have you again soon. (If you liked the Romance Package, you have to try the Historic Sunset Tour next!) :)

Safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I had researched quite a bit before booking our accommodations on Amelia Island. The Residence Inn had very positive reviews so we decided to try it out. I am so glad we did! We had a King suite which had a nice kitchen area (smaller full size fridge, microwave, stove cook top -no oven, dishwasher& sink) with a table with 2 chairs, a main living area with a pull out sofa, chair & flat screen tv and a separate bedroom with the king size bed and another tv. The bedroom was connected to the vanity area and another door took you into the shower and toilet. It worked out so well for us! It was a short walk to the beach which was nice, but we spent most of our time by the pool. The absolute best part of our stay (which I did not see mentioned in any other reviews I read) were the hotel events. One night for the "Manager's toast" they served appetizers: cheese& crackers, pita bread & hummus, chips & salsa, veggies & dip, chips, beer and wine. Another night was "cookout" and we had burgers, hot dogs, baked beans, chips, potato salad, cole slaw, beer, wine or pop. The final themed event was "nacho night" nachos and cheese and beverages. This was in addition to the wonderful hot breakfast that was served daily. What a great surprise!
Overall hotel breakdown:
Pros:
-Nice pool area with hot tub
-Clean hotel
-Friendly & helpful staff
-Nice breakfast every morning (eggs, sausage or bacon, potatoes, oatmeal, waffles, bagels, toast, fruit, juices, etc)
-Quick walk to the beach
-Immediately behind the hotel was an entrance to Egan's Creek Greenway - nature walk to see gators, turtles, birds, and river otters
-Nice room layout
-Reasonable rate
-10 minute drive to downtown Fernandina - very cute town with lots of good restaurants
-Very relaxing, laid back atmosphere

Cons:
-The beds were not the most comfy and the pillows were flat. We asked for a thicker pillow and they had some that were not down and were slightly better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephin128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to offer such a glowing review of our hotel!

I'm so glad you enjoyed your suite and the amenities. I have to say - sometimes it's hard to work when just a few feet away, guests are enjoying the pool in the sun! Haha but I'm glad. We love taking part in the Residence Inn tradition of offering evening socials! We also just bought a popcorn machine and a sno cone machine, and sommmme of us are trying to plant it in Bob's ear to get a cotton candy machine too!

We have taken down your comments about the bed, and I actually think we are going to be making some changes to the bed arrangements over the next year or two. It sounds like you were able to attain some of our foam pillows - you're right, they CAN be thicker than the standard down pillows.

We invite you to stay again with us anytime, and safe travels!
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

First I want to say thank you Charlene for your great customer service. You greeted me when I checked in and when I checked with a smile. The location is good and an easy walk to the beach, or if you prefer a 5-7 minute ride to the Main beach with paved parking. I was there on a Thursday/Saturday and the beach got very crowded on Saturday at noon. I suggest you travel during he week if you prefer less crowds. I was on the 5th floor facing the pool which was quiet(note: during the week/kids still in school). My room was very, very nice. I was in the studio suite and it looked exactly like the picture online. Tastefully decorated, clean, updated with a full kitchen,flat screen and spacious. Location is a short drive to: walmart, dollar tree, target, grocery stores. Also downtown with shops/eateries a very easy drive with free parking. All staff were very friendly and helpful . I have shared this with friends/family and will definitely visit here again.

Room Tip: I was here off season(after spring break/before memorial day holiday) A pleasant time during the wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blessed7_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

I have passed on your compliments to Charlene - she is definitely an asset to our staff and her warmth radiates to our guests as well as the rest of us!

I'm glad you enjoyed your suite and amenities. It sounds like you're a beach lover - next time you're in town, I recommend checking out Amelia Island State Park toward the south end of the island. It's a little quieter and can be fairly secluded! We also offer Let's Beach It! packages, which you might also enjoy.

We would love to see you and your friends/family return to the island for some relaxation. Please let us know how we can help!

Safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This was our second stay at Residence Inn Amelia Island and it was even better than the first time. This hotel is kept exceptionally clean and the staff is the friendliest and most professional. Everyone says hello and smiles. You can tell they enjoy working there.

This time we got a one bedroom suite which we thoroughly enjoyed. With a kitchen available, it was easy to have snacks and beverages handy. I have to say I did not cook; it was vacation after all, but having everything there can be a huge savings. The pool was warm and inviting, the rocking chairs out front are a nice touch, and I really love the ice water with lemons and limes in it that is placed as you enter the hotel so you can refresh yourself. It's these little touches that make us keep returning.

Not only is breakfast provided, but during the three nights we were there, one night was a manager's reception with cheese and crackers, beer, wine, and soda. Another night there was a barbeque with burgers, hot dogs, meatballs, beans, potato salad, cole slaw, garden salad, and the assortment of beverages as before. Complimentary...a thank you to the guests.

It's about a block from the beach, easy walk, and just the best place to stay if you're headed to Amelia Island. This won't be our last trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

I have passed your compliments on to our staff! We work hard to remain a Marriott award-winning hotel and it's encouraging to hear such praise. Not to mention, you touched on one of my favorite items in the hotel, too! The citrus water in the lobby is so refreshing, I make my own at home now! (2 oranges, 2 lemons, a few sprigs of mint in a gallon pitcher is great and can be refilled once or twice before the fruit requires replacing!) I'm so glad you enjoyed our evening socials - those meatballs are my kryptonite!

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return.

Safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This hotel has a super location to a fantastic beach. You are within walking distance, although we drove. The room had everything that we needed. We were close to beach, dining, downtown, etc. The pool is heated and the hot tub felt great. Dane and Charlene at the front desk were helpful with recommendations and driving directions.

Room Tip: Do you want to be close to the exit? Lobby? near guest laundry?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,436 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
854 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Amelia Island

Property: Residence Inn Amelia Island
Address: 2301 Sadler Rd, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4559
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Amelia Island 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on long stays at the Residence Inn Amelia Island. Our Amelia Island hotel offers a welcoming, comfortable environment, with spacious, newly renovated accommodations and everything you need for a great stay in Florida. Settle in to your newly refreshed studio, one-bedroom, or two-bedroom suite, and enjoy perks like free wireless Internet and a 37-inch flat-screen TV. A full kitchen allows you to prepare a meal or a snack any time you want it. Take advantage of the hotel's complimentary island shuttle that is on call to pick you up and drop you off anywhere on Amelia Island from 9AM-9PM daily. Start your morning with a free hot breakfast, or spend some time at our outdoor pool and soak up the Florida sun. Additional hotel amenities include a fire pit, putting green, and fitness center. And let's not forget our location - just two blocks from the beach, and a short distance from the attractions of downtown Amelia Island. Whether you're in Florida for business or pleasure, the Residence Inn Amelia Island will make your visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Residence Inn Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing