We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel, the staff were all so kind. The room was nice, clean and we saved some money cooking in the kitchen. The breakfast was truly a great, big breakfast and there was a bonus dinner one night. I liked the pool and hot tub area and the fire outside at night. Only downside was we could sometime hear a dig barking in a room nearby. It wasn't too horrible, but a little annoying. A nice bonus would be if they gave out loaner beach towels and umbrellas. They did offer us chairs!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grove17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel!

I'm glad to hear that you had a great stay! It sounds like you were able to make one of our evening socials :) True to Residence Inn form, we hold 2-3, sometimes even 4 evening socials per week! Our hotel usually features a Manager's Toast with an array of cheese and hors d'oeuvres, a Cookout with hamburgers and hotdogs and all the sides, a Nacho Night, and often Saturday afternoon cookouts as well - all with complimentary beer, wine, and soda. However I'm glad that you were able to use the suite's kitchen as well!

We hope to see you again soon, and safe travels!
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    239
    45
    19
    10
See reviews for
435
634
60
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We couldn't get into the swank hotel we wanted and "settled" for this. Boy, are we glad we did. It was clean, comfortable and a great place to stay. Pool area was lovely. Because of the nearby beach it was never full. Beach was a 5 minute walk away. By being in the middle of the island we were 7 minutes from the restaurant life of Fernandina Beach and 2 minutes from shopping. Frankly, we lucked out. We'll go back ..again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suepyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
I'm glad to hear we were able to surpass expectations! You nailed it about our location - the island is 13 miles north-south and about 2 miles wide, and we are right in the middle of it! Were you able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle?

Next time you visit, you might try out Egans Creek Greenway! It's part of the Great Florida Birding Trail, and one of its entrances is right on our property. It's bike friendly and teeming with wildlife.

We'll see you next time, and safe travels!
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I have been down in the Jacksonville are for a few days and staying at various places. This place is EXCELLENT, the very best. Very clean, modern. A nature path is right at the parking lot!! Nice poo larea. Good breakfast, Lovely quiet beach a short walk or drive away. The staff goes of of the way to please. Loved it.

Room Tip: Just ask, that's all I did and the actually looked up a map of rooms to find me the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing reviews!

I love hearing that our amenities met your needs! Sounds like you explored Egans Creek Greenway - that is a COOL little path. Have you been able to check out Fort Clinch yet? Fort Clinch has some great nature/bike paths as well.

Thanks again for taking the time to review us, and we'll see you next time!
Safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel! Every staff member went above and beyond. Marriott is quickly becoming my favorite hotel chain. They obviously train their staff very well!

Natalie at the front desk was great. Charlene(?) was helpful as well. Mallory was very helpful in showing me beach accesses. I like the open and inviting front desk area. Very personable.

A party was winding down around the fire put area but we were assured that it was no problem to go out in the area and use the large swimming pool and hot tub.

Our room was 2 bed 2 bath. Perfect for us! The suite was spotless and roomy. We had plenty of towels. King sized beds. Tasteful decor. Large refrigerator and nice kitchen area. The shower had good water pressure. (The water smelled a bit odd.) We faced the back of the hotel & it was quiet.

Breakfast was very good. There were many choices and a lot of good hot items. This hotel is very clean and staff are ever present to help. The breakfast attendant kept everything stocked and clean.

I wish we had more than one night here. We will return!!! A+++

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiomrspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for your glowing reviews of our hotel! We are so proud to have represented the Marriott brand well.

I have let Natalie, Charlene, and Mallory each know about your compliments and they are flattered! It brightened their day and I'm glad you found the front desk to be welcoming. I have to say, I appreciate the low setting of the front desk for the same reason - open and inviting, easy to speak with the front desk agents.

I'm also happy to see that our accommodations met your needs! I have passed your compliments on to the appropriate department managers and I know they appreciate your feedback.

Thank you so much again - next time you visit, I recommend taking a look at our packages! You mentioned beach accesses so you may be interested in our Let's Beach It! pacakge :)

Safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Even though my parents live 5 minutes from here, we've stayed here twice and really enjoyed it. Great location, walk to beach and some restaurants, or a short drive to historic downtown, Fort Clinch, or the south end/Plantation. Publix and Walgreens 2 minutes away. Rooms are large and spotless. Nice lighting and decor. Pool and fire pit also very nice. Breakfast is great. Impressive for the price. We always recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SisabelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our accommodations met your needs. It looks like location is important to you - that's one of the first things I look for in a vacation too, and our location (right in the middle of the island) is a big plus, especially for guests staying with us for a few days at a time.

Thank you so much for your recommendations to your friends and family, and come back to see us soon! Were you able to explore Egans Creek Greenway and Old Town?

We'll see you next time and safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I walk into my room and I had a king suite with a kitchen, large flat screen tv, and a cozy decorative room. The hotel had a nature path, bike rentals, a free shuttle, and a nice location close to the beach. I really enjoyed my stay here and I would come back to this hotel in a heartbeat. Also, breakfast was included! The only thing that I would suggest is for this room to have an in-room safe.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7wonderstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

I’m so glad you were pleasantly surprised with our accommodations and that they met your needs. It looks like you were able to explore Egans Creek Greenway! It’s part of the Great Florida Birding Trail and our staff and guests have seen all sorts of wildlife, including deer, otters, badgers, turtles, distant alligators, and more! Although the suites do not have safes, we do offer safety deposit boxes free of charge at the front desk, if that would help, for next time.

I hope you’re able to visit again soon! Have you heard about Amelia Island’s Great Southern Tailgate Cook-Off in August? :)

Safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Overall the hotel was very nice. We enjoyed our stay.

Pro's:
1. Nice spacious rooms with kitchen. The kitchen was a great thing to have, especially for keeping cold food to bring to the beach.
2. Friendly staff.
3. Nice breakfast in the morning, in a nice dining area.
4. Decent fitness facilities.
5. Clean and well maintained.
6. Resort shuttle takes you anywhere on the island!

Con's:
1. Our room was near the pool/hot tub. It was around 3am when everyone at the pool wound down and went to bed. Loud music, and drunk people. I don't think this would be a problem in different areas of the hotel. My tip is to get a room that is not near the pool/hot tub if you can, or bring ear plugs.

2. The pool area is basically a gated pool in the parking lot.

3. Overall when staying near the ocean, I think it's better to stay beach front, however this is much less expensive, and it's fairly easy to get to the beach.

Room Tip: Pick a room that is not near the hot tub/pool. Bring your own bottled water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel!

I am glad that the pros outweighed the cons (I am a fan of bullets, too). My GM has seen the comment about the pool noise and has emailed our night staff to remind them of pool hours so that we can avoid those situations in the future. Our pool is only open until 10pm, so thanks to your review, I’m sure we will take more actions to keep with those hours so that our sleepy guests can rest comfortably.

We hope to have you again soon and safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
651 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,472 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Amelia Island

Property: Residence Inn Amelia Island
Address: 2301 Sadler Rd, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4559
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Amelia Island 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on long stays at the Residence Inn Amelia Island. Our Amelia Island hotel offers a welcoming, comfortable environment, with spacious, newly renovated accommodations and everything you need for a great stay in Florida. Settle in to your newly refreshed studio, one-bedroom, or two-bedroom suite, and enjoy perks like free wireless Internet and a 37-inch flat-screen TV. A full kitchen allows you to prepare a meal or a snack any time you want it. Take advantage of the hotel's complimentary island shuttle that is on call to pick you up and drop you off anywhere on Amelia Island from 9AM-9PM daily. Start your morning with a free hot breakfast, or spend some time at our outdoor pool and soak up the Florida sun. Additional hotel amenities include a fire pit, putting green, and fitness center. And let's not forget our location - just two blocks from the beach, and a short distance from the attractions of downtown Amelia Island. Whether you're in Florida for business or pleasure, the Residence Inn Amelia Island will make your visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Residence Inn Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing