We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice facility but disappointed in treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
95 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very nice facility but disappointed in treatment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Booked a 3 nite stay at this facility and have mixed response to our experience. It's large for the location, centrally situated near a very nice stretch of beach, and has friendly staff. Our room was somewhat smallish, comfortable, and showed some signs of wear. Breakfast selections were very good and there was excellent servicing during the meal. We were delighted with the (unexpected) "party" with entertainment on the evening of November 1st.

There were 2 issues, however. The first was room price. I booked a reservation a substantial time in advance on the hotel website, and discovered, to my dismay, that an identical reservation made the week of our visit cost about $70 less than the one made earlier. I re-booked at the reduced rate, and cancelled the original reservation.

The second issue was room assignment. I had requested a room on a high floor in order to minimize noise. While checking in, the gentleman who assisted us commented that because of our membership in the Marriott Rewards program, that we were eligible for a room upgrade. He told us he had in fact upgraded our room, and that the room assigned to us was the better location. We were dismayed to find that this "upgrade" was on the second floor, next to the elevator, and had a wonderful view of the hotel HVAC system and noting else.

I do understand that there are better, and less desirable, rooms in any facility but I do NOT appreciate being taken for a fool. If, as a customer with some degree of loyalty, you market the exact room I booked at a better rate than the one you quoted me, I would expect that you would honor this rate for me, too, without any effort on my part. If you are assigning me the worst room in the hotel, I do not expect to be told it is "upgraded". I have received far more accommodating and pleasing treatment at far less sophisticated locations.

Room Tip: Carefully monitor room rates on any reservation made in advance. Check the room, and location I hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank like2travelAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking a moment to review our hotel.

I am glad that you were satisfied with the accommodations, and it sounds like you were here for FL/GA weekend, which explains the kickoff cookout we had on Friday night. I'm glad that you had a great time!

To address your concern about room price, this is a standard practice across industries. Prices change according to availability and can fluctuate. Many travelers find it advantageous to revisit their reservations and rates in cases like yours where a better rate can become available. I understand your concern and am happy you were able to book a better rate than your original reservation!

I am definitely concerned about your room assignment. I am certain that the front desk agent was not trying to fool you - it sounds more like a refresher in room locations is needed. I will share your situation with our Front Desk Manager so that we can address this learning opportunity. We certainly respect our Rewards members and I apologize on behalf of the team for your room assignment and the marketing of that room. I know that room and can understand that it certainly isn't a 'better location', especially if you had requested a high floor and minimal noise. I'm not sure if you had a chance to speak with a manager during your stay, but if not, please give us a call at (904) 277-2440 ext. 0. I am certain that one of our managers would appreciate the chance to reach an agreeable solution.

If you visit Amelia Island in the future, we would love the chance to show you a 5-star stay.

Thank you again for your feedback, and safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    232
    44
    18
    10
See reviews for
411
612
55
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We traveled with seven other families on our fall break recently and stayed at the Resident Inn for four nights. First, the location was wonderful - our teenagers were able to walk back and forth to the beach with ease - as the beach is several blocks directly from the hotel. There was a spacious patio area with a fire pit for gathering in the evenings, a fair sized pool and hot tub. The morning breakfast was better than most we have had and the servers extremely attentive. The room was spacious and the kitchen had almost everything you could need for fill in cooking. The cook top was not very strong (steamed shrimp) so that was a little frustrating - but all in all a perfect place to stay. Also -- they welcomed our dog for a very fair fee. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: They offer two bedroom suites which would be better for traveling with teens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlngator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! 8 families together - that sounds like an amazing time!

We would love to have you again and hope to see you soon!

Safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a mixed experience at this property. Ours was a really spacious, corner (i.e., pricier) top floor room, which made for a very quiet overnight stay. But the designers equipped the room with such large doors that you couldn't stand at the sink without the door bumping you, and the bathroom door (which opened into the bathroom, not out) was literally the width of the bathroom -- very awkward. The bedroom door eclipsed the closet door. It's a no-smoking hotel, which is good for the room itself, but we were assaulted by smoke every time we entered or exited the property, either from the pool area or at the front door. There was one trash can in the entire suite, even though there was a full kitchen, desk space, living room, bathroom, sink area and bedroom! And the single, tiny trash can was only in the shower/ toilet room. The room seemed fairly clean. The staff was very friendly. It was an easy 2-block walk to the beach. They offered refreshing lemon water at the lobby. The lawn maintenance folks thought it was really funny to blow sand and leaves directly on our car, even though we were trying to pull out of their way so they could blow (they were laughing about it; us, not so much). Breakfast was bigger and slightly better than the average included hotel breakfast, but not outstanding (nor did we expect it to be). So, for $160 for a weeknight, including tax, not sure it was worth it. Would possibly consider staying again, but probably not.

Room Tip: Recommend top floor and corner, but don't expect great room design; awkward doors and space usag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anndalucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel.

While I'm glad to read about the positives of your stay, I'm alarmed by the actions of the lawn maintenance team. I've copied your story to my General Manager and he is taking steps to address that concern. We are sorry that you experienced that - it's inexcusable and not the type of memory we want you to leave with!

I also gave a heads up to our Director of Housekeeping about your room only having one trash can. We'll be checking our one-bedroom deluxes - I imagine your suite might have been missing one somehow.

Thank you for the feedback, and if you weren't able to speak with a manager about your concerns before you left, please give us a call at 904-277-2440 ext. 0. I'm sure one of our managers would appreciate the chance to find an agreeable solution.

Safe travels, and I hope we have the chance to earn 5 stars from you in the future!
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I can’t say enough wonderful things about this hotel. The rooms are huge, modern and immaculately clean– all include a kitchen as well. The hotel itself is also very modern and kept spotlessly clean. The staff are beyond accommodating and very friendly. Breakfast is also great– included a buffet of eggs, biscuits and gravy, waffles, cereal, fruit, oatmeal, toast, bagels, yogurt, etc. Tons of choices and best of all, it was free! You can tell this hotel is very well maintained and ran by amazing people...we will definitely be back very soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbano55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Driving south from GA we selected this hotel based on it's proximity to the pristine Amelia Island beaches and our almost universal positive experience with many other RIs throughout the country. We were not disappointed.

The property is centrally located on the island and is beautiful with a modern Florida beach themed décor throughout. We arrived early however reception graciously allowed us access to our second floor studio room which we found stylish, bright and very clean. In fact, all staff we encountered were very professional, helpful and a pleasure to interface with.

The breakfast bar offerings included hot and cold selections including many healthy choice items which we appreciated. One suggestion to management, please consider adding a Greek style Low/No sugar yogurt. Many people these days are looking for items that are not so packed with sugar. The hotel offers not only the typical inside dining area but a very pleasant outside one as well.

If you are driving north or south on US 95 through this area and plan to stop for a day or two consider driving a little further off the interstate and head to Amelia Island with it's history, beaches, quaint downtown, and especially this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwesterner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The staff was pleasant and the room was the decent standard but it smelled like dirty feet. We opted to pay more for the romantic promotion but had to notify them that the basket was not in the room. Then when it came it was on the small side compared to our expectation from the write up.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel.

I apologize that you ran into an issue with your suite not smelling clean and fresh, and that your Romance Package was not in your suite upon your arrival. We work to prepare for our package guests ahead of time, and it looks like we dropped the ball here - for that we do apologize. Were you able to speak with a manager about your concerns? If not, I'm sure one of them would be happy to speak with you to come up with an agreeable solution. Please give us a call at your convenience so that we can find a solution.

Thank you for staying with us, and I hope we get the chance to earn 5 stars from you next time.

Safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We only stayed one night on our way to Disney, but this place would be very comfortable for a extended stay. It is nicely updated, great kitchen, good quality full breakfast is included. Best Residence Inn I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIAmeliaIsland, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Amelia Island, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope you had a great time at Disney!
I've passed your compliments on to the staff, and hope to see you and your family again soon!


Safe travels,
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#10 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Amelia Island

Property: Residence Inn Amelia Island
Address: 2301 Sadler Rd, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4559
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Amelia Island 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on long stays at the Residence Inn Amelia Island. Our Amelia Island hotel offers a welcoming, comfortable environment, with spacious, newly renovated accommodations and everything you need for a great stay in Florida. Settle in to your newly refreshed studio, one-bedroom, or two-bedroom suite, and enjoy perks like free wireless Internet and a 37-inch flat-screen TV. A full kitchen allows you to prepare a meal or a snack any time you want it. Take advantage of the hotel's complimentary island shuttle that is on call to pick you up and drop you off anywhere on Amelia Island from 9AM-9PM daily. Start your morning with a free hot breakfast, or spend some time at our outdoor pool and soak up the Florida sun. Additional hotel amenities include a fire pit, putting green, and fitness center. And let's not forget our location - just two blocks from the beach, and a short distance from the attractions of downtown Amelia Island. Whether you're in Florida for business or pleasure, the Residence Inn Amelia Island will make your visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Residence Inn Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing