We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail makes for a special stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 November 2011

When evaluating whether or not to stay at a hotel or B & B, amenities of each option are a factor in the decision. There's no way a hotel can compare to the Hoyt House's amenities. From the 3-course breakfast (love those lighter-than-air sticky buns and french press coffee) to the warm hospitality of Myrta and Deborah, you simply can't experience anything better at even a 5-star hotel. These two ladies have it figured out. Deborah is a fantastic chef and Myrta mixes a mean cocktail (how many B & B's do you know that actually have a quaint little bar for evening happy hour?), and Gus is too cute! A pool, hot tub, bicycles, beach chairs and towels, Keurig coffee machines available all day on each floor, beautiful historic home and garden, bathrobes, snacks, walking distance to town, wi-fi, flat screen tv in your room, and superior and friendly service. We really enjoyed getting to know Myrta, Deborah and Gus and it was like leaving old friends by the time we had to leave. We never got to try the afternoon tea because we were too stuffed from breakfast but Deborah's cooking is so good that if you are on the island, you should reserve just for the tea.
Thanks you ladies and we wish you much success. We hope to be back some day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingDawg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

We lucked out in 2010 when we did a google search on places to get married in Amelia Island and the Hoyt House popped up. It was just what we were looking for. A beautiful house in a quaint, quiet location that we could come back to in years to come. We happened to be the first wedding that new owners Deborah and Myrta had booked. You would have thought that would of made this bride nervous, but not at all. From arranging the floral arrangements to ordering the perfect wedding cake our day was in a word...PERFECT! We booked 6 of the rooms for friends and family and everyone was pleased with the accomodations. Even my 6 year old who at first was not thrilled about staying at a house instead of a hotel, was thrilled once he walked in the door and saw all of the neat places to explore.
We went back to the Hoyt House for our 1 year anniversary. Myrta and Deborah made us feel like we were coming home. They treated us so warmly and even hung out with us at thier new addition...the bar downstairs. We dranked wine and ordered pizza in that night. We took out the bikes the next day and had a ball riding all around the quaint town of Amelia Island. While we were there, we were the first guests to check out the new breakfast menu. Compliments to Deborah....the meals are amazing! My husband and I have been trying to find a comparable eggs benedict in Tampa with no luck. We undoubtedly always say..."Deborah's is better."
We can't wait to come back year after year. You should check it out too if you want a relaxing, luxurious, home away from home feel.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms on the bottom floor are amazing. I prefer the rooms facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LightningFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of being guests at the Hoyt House. What a lovely experience. The breakfast prepared by Chef Deborah was amazing. Be sure and try those wonderful sticky buns, what a treat. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. Myrta and Deborah were exceptional hosts and very personable and always available to answer questions or make reservations for dinner. We are looking forward to our next visit at the Hoyt House. Make reservations there, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We just had a destination wedding at the Hoyt house. Neither us nor our guests had been to Amelia Island before, so we planned everything remotely through internet and phone. We were so glad we picked this place, not only because the historic mansion is full of antique favors, big and clean rooms, huge backyard area and hot tub, but also the hosts were so accommodating! Despite its age, the house is absolutely beautiful and can accommodate every modern convenience. The breakfasts were delicious, and I'm already missing their French press coffee~!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spirit_mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Deborah and Myrta were excellent hosts, friendly, engaging, and involved, fun to be around too. Clearly Deborah is skilled in the kitchen, breakfasts and dinner were great!

Room Tip: Mizell was a charming room, spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2tvlwu_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The owners were very accommodating with great service from arrival tour to departing breakfast. Will recommend to fellow snow birds. Wish we had more time to enjoy the beach with their provided beach equipment.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldrexhame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Having grown up in Jacksonville, I spent a lot of time in Fernandina Bch. and Amelia Island. I always wanted to spend some time at the Hoyt House and just sorry I waited so long to do so. This place is fantastic! Myrta and Deborah made our stay a wonderful experience. From our check-in to check-out, we enjoyed every minute. The" meet and greet" in the lounge was very enjoyable. We met some "new" friends, and enjoyed the fully stocked bar. The heated pool and hottub were a welcome sight after our night out on the town. The room was nicely complimented with accessories and a canopy bed that was very comfortable. The "Gourmet " breakfast was second to none. From French-pressed coffee, to the amazing frittata with fresh fruit. We have nothing but praise for this dynamic duo, and staff. We look forward to return trip this winter.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
1.6 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
686 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
677 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,525 reviews
7.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
0.1 mi away
Amelia Island Williams House
Amelia Island Williams House
#5 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 804 Atlantic Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £179 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An adult only luxurious Bed & Breakfast that exceeds your expectations with five star amenities, gourmet made to order breakfast, heated pool & spa, individually controlled thermostats in each room, complimentary bicycles to ride, off street parking, luxury robes and body wraps, and complimentary cocktail hour in our very own Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hoyt House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyt House Bed And Breakfast Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing