We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality at a value!”

LuLu's at The Thompson House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: New owners/chef as of Summer 2010. Chef, Brian Grimley. Fantastic food, intimate location, menu changes weekly.
Holmes Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quality at a value!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

What a charming little restaurant located behind the historic Thompson house in a restored carriage barn!
A romantic atmosphere inside, and a cozy outside atmosphere!
We had very good wines by the glass, a generous pour each for a reasonable price. Our dining was superb, as we ordered 4 lite bite plates to enjoy a bit of everything! Calamari and fried oysters were devine! On another night we had the mac and cheese/shrimp-chorizo dish which was enough to share, and the snapper with polenta was delicious and enough to share also.
Our visit was only 4 days, and we enjoyed LuLu's 2 evenings! We wish it were nearby our home!
Definitely a revisit on our next trip to Amelia Island area!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    163
    46
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Sauces”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lulu's is consistently good because of the pride and professionalism of Chef Brian. He chooses fresh local seafood and prepares it to perfection. His tallent truly shines through in his sauses. The service staff is friendly, knowledgable and timely. My only wish would be that they improve the space, but it is always fun and delicious.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Readingteacher12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding food in a quaint setting”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

LuLu's was recommended it us by some locals. It did not disappoint us. The restaurant is very relaxed and the service excellent and friendly. There is both inside and outside seating and kids are very welcome. The calamari appetizer was very good but the entree (red snapper with capers and olives among other things) served on polenta was delicious. The rest of my party was equally pleased. On my list of restaurants to return to.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustatorius T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great group resteraunts they worked well with our big group. Every entree was delicious and the service was great the owner even came to visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good...”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our first visit. Creme Brulee was best. Enjoyed it very much.
Snapper was delicious. Really liked the sauce with the grouper.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LuLu's at The Thompson House also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to LuLu's at The Thompson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing