We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointe”
Review of Florida House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Florida House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I was very disappointed in this hotel. They had not pay attention to details and did not stay true to the historic character. The room was so small could not hardly move and getting up to use the bathroom was risky indeed. Should have asked for a different room but failed to do that. Their beautiful dinning facilities were only for special parties and not for patrons that spent the night. We did not stay for the breakfast as it was being served late and we needed to head back to the airport. The little town looked interesting but it rained the whole time we were there.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room ask for another one...others may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

I got married here this weekend, and all I can say is, wow. I never write reviews about places, but I feel the inn needed to be thanked. I have never met a friendlier staff in my life. The food was amazing. The people were amazing. It was a beautiful location. The bed and breakfast is so charming and quaint, it's intimate and beautiful. We booked the inn for the weekend so our family and friends could stay with us and enjoy the island. Best decision of my life. This place is incredible and I want to come back every year!!!!!! Love you Ben, Emily, Marshall, the jens,and Silvia. I made memories to last a lifetime, god bless!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pachabelscannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We went for a quick birthday weekend. This B&B was like staying at your grandmothers house. Everyone was very nice and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious and you had options. The location couldn't be better, walk out the front door and one house over is a bar with live music (and the most popular night time hang out) We were in room #1. Great room, at the end on the hall next to the balcony with rocking chairs. Such a beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were looking for a "stop-over" on our way north, had never been to Amelia Island and stumbled onto the Florida House Inn....what a treasure!!!! The rooms are quirky and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, and the location ideal. The courtyard is private, and has an amazing fountain with a mermaid statue. Our room was number 13 (not unlucky at all!) and had a huge king bed, the bath was large and fully equipped. Breakfast was delicious, and served around big tables with space for conversations and good cheer. The Inn's location in the historic district made it very convenient for exploring and trying out all the wonderful restaurants. Will return!

Room Tip: View the rooms on line. Some rooms face a tavern, which can be lively....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We loved this B and B. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The she crab soup and warm goat cheese salad at lunch was wonderful. We were in room 15 that had a log cabin theme and the king sized bed was very comfy. The 2person jacuzzi tub did not have much jet power, though. This place was within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. Breakfasts were from 8:30-9:30 and we met some nice, friendly people. You get a free glass of beer or wine a day and the cosy bar was great with a Bostonian woman as bartender. She was great.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect but it was a high priced room. We don't know about the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Workout247p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The Florida House Inn takes you back to yesteryear as it is a quaint inn with a beautiful courtyard with neat mermaid fountain, restaurant and the Mermaid Bar is fantastic.

I only saw three rooms but they were nicely done with antique beds and fire places with some newer themed rooms in the tree wing. Our room was small with nice queen size bed and fantastic bathroom that looked like it was recently remodeled with jacuzzi tub and tile shower. My wife stated she did miss the cotton balls and q tips most places were providing now but otherwise thought it met needs.

The breakfast was nice with fresh squeezed orange juice and pumpkin bread followed by two choices which was a breakfast casserole or pancakes with fruit and bacon. Good.

They have a parking lot at the back of the building and you get to your car from the courtyard side of the end.

Entertainment is right next door at the Green Turtle Inn as they played live music and served cold beer. They were open until 11 pm and was a great time right by the inn. If that is an issue, get a room on opposite side of inn. I personally enjoyed it.

Finally, the location is awesome being in the middle of the quaint downtown area with all of the neat shops and wonderful restaurants. Enjoy the Florida House Inn!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bandit2118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The breakfast was great, the staff friendly and helpful, and the grounds charming. The location was excellent in terms of wandering around town, but it was not near a swimming beach. HOWEVER, the room was absurdly small and the beds were too soft. There was no dresser, iron, or hair dryer, and only the minimum number of towels. We unpacked our clothes and returned our suitcases to the car to enable us to walk around the room. The inn is about a century old and this room had been subdivided so that there is now a bathroom. However, the bed was longer than the wall separating the bedroom from the bathroom, so that the only way they could put a door it was to have in slide inside the dividing wall. The 2nd night, we came back from the beach, hoping to take a shower. No hot water. It was after hours and no one was around so we called the after-hours phone number. The message box was not taking messages. I remembered the bartender saying that the bar next door was somehow connected with the inn, so I went next door to see if someone could contact the owners. They did. The cook for the excellent breakfast came over in 15 minutes. And 15 minutes after that we had hot water. I will not go back here again, but I would recommend the staff.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 551melm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,512 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
668 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
678 reviews
7.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida House Inn

Address: 22 S 3rd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4207
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £99 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Florida House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florida House Inn was built in 1857 by David Yulee and is considered the oldest active Inn in Florida. The Inn has housed many famous people like Ulysses S. Grant, The Carnegies and the Rockerfellers, just to name a few. Come for a visit and step back in time with us.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Florida House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida House Hotel Fernandina Beach
Florida House Inn Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing