We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vintage Hotel …Bring Ear Plugs”
Review of Florida House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Florida House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
382 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Vintage Hotel …Bring Ear Plugs”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The staff was certainly welcoming.
The room was small with 2 twin beds, but roomy enough to get around.
The bathroom door slid closed (because there isn't enough room for a swinging door.)
The shower looks relatively new and the water became hot when allowed to run for a few minutes.
The towels were large and absorbent. They were changed daily.
Shampoo, conditioner and lotion were supplied.

A small corner wardrobe stands in the corner for hanging clothes. On top is a very small television. We don't watch television, so I cannot attest to the stations available.

Breakfast was very good, located in a special room in another part of the hotel. There were 2 options to choose from: pancakes or sausage quiche. Coffee and juice were also available, as well as a fruit cup.

There is free parking in a lot behind the hotel, and a lovely fountain with tables and chairs in a garden setting where one can relax.

We were in room 7, which is located near the back entrance to the hotel. We were fortunate that the hotel had only a few patrons, because we noticed that the door does not completely shut, so any noise in the hall was as loud as being in the room with us. Had there been people walking in and out of the door, the noise would have been extremely irritating.

There was quite a bit of dust on the window blinds, and there was mildew behind the sink faucet. It really needed a good scrubbing behind the faucet. Other than that, the room was clean. The beds were very comfortable.

Over all, the room experience was acceptable. However, I do have to admit that the Bar next door is quite disruptive to someone who wants to get to bed at a reasonable hour. I had read the reviews, but really did not think that it could be all that bad.

Well….I was wrong. The first night, a band was playing, and we could not even hear each other talk in our room, the noise was so loud. During the ruckus, someone decided to stand right outside our window and have a conversation with someone on the phone. He might as well have been in the room with us as we could hear every word.

I am by no means a prude, and generally tolerate quite a bit, taking it all in with the aura of my surroundings, but the noise level from the band was really way too much. They did finish around 10:00, but the outdoor clientele were active and noisy until 2:00 a.m. The same for the next night as well.

So, unless you have a hearing aid that you can remove, are a sound sleeper, or are one of those youngsters participating in the party, I give you fair warning of the noise that you can expect while you are staying here.

In addition, I want to mention that upon arrival, we were given a sheet of paper inviting us to enjoy happy hour in the hotel bar. The special, according to the bartered, was $2.00 off per drink, but we were charged different amounts on both nights for the same drinks. We had decided to try the Mermaid Slap, which was really quite good. It just wasn't that much of a bargain, if you ask me. And, there weren't any prices listed for one to know what the costs were.

Room Tip: Top floor on the side OPPOSITE from the Green Turtle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    61
    28
    18
    11
See reviews for
30
159
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Level Contributor
249 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Nice hotel on a great location in the middle of the city next to the best restaurants. Our room (number 4 I think, the first one left from the stairs) was clean and nice but very very small and noisy due to the air-condition unit under the window. As welcome we got 2 chocolate dipped strawberries, nice:) The breakfast was unusual but good; we could choose from 2 dishes, pancakes or quiche. Coffee and juice were served as well. In the living/reading room good (starbucks) coffee was available 24h and many new magazines and books. I really liked this hotel although friends of ours who got much bigger room than we didn't liked it in particular, they had problem with the shower. Free parking behind the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baxley, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I had a wonderful stay. We stayed in room 6 and found it very peaceful and in walking distance to several amazing restaurants. We were greeted by a wonderful staff upon arrival and breakfast was incredible. Definitely worth a visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I was very disappointed in this hotel. They had not pay attention to details and did not stay true to the historic character. The room was so small could not hardly move and getting up to use the bathroom was risky indeed. Should have asked for a different room but failed to do that. Their beautiful dinning facilities were only for special parties and not for patrons that spent the night. We did not stay for the breakfast as it was being served late and we needed to head back to the airport. The little town looked interesting but it rained the whole time we were there.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room ask for another one...others may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I got married here this weekend, and all I can say is, wow. I never write reviews about places, but I feel the inn needed to be thanked. I have never met a friendlier staff in my life. The food was amazing. The people were amazing. It was a beautiful location. The bed and breakfast is so charming and quaint, it's intimate and beautiful. We booked the inn for the weekend so our family and friends could stay with us and enjoy the island. Best decision of my life. This place is incredible and I want to come back every year!!!!!! Love you Ben, Emily, Marshall, the jens,and Silvia. I made memories to last a lifetime, god bless!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pachabelscannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We went for a quick birthday weekend. This B&B was like staying at your grandmothers house. Everyone was very nice and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious and you had options. The location couldn't be better, walk out the front door and one house over is a bar with live music (and the most popular night time hang out) We were in room #1. Great room, at the end on the hall next to the balcony with rocking chairs. Such a beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were looking for a "stop-over" on our way north, had never been to Amelia Island and stumbled onto the Florida House Inn....what a treasure!!!! The rooms are quirky and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, and the location ideal. The courtyard is private, and has an amazing fountain with a mermaid statue. Our room was number 13 (not unlucky at all!) and had a huge king bed, the bath was large and fully equipped. Breakfast was delicious, and served around big tables with space for conversations and good cheer. The Inn's location in the historic district made it very convenient for exploring and trying out all the wonderful restaurants. Will return!

Room Tip: View the rooms on line. Some rooms face a tavern, which can be lively....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.9 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
#1 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida House Inn

Property: Florida House Inn
Address: 22 S 3rd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4207
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Florida House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florida House Inn was built in 1857 by David Yulee and is considered the oldest active Inn in Florida. The Inn has housed many famous people like Ulysses S. Grant, The Carnegies and the Rockerfellers, just to name a few. Come for a visit and step back in time with us.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Florida House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida House Hotel Fernandina Beach
Florida House Inn Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing