We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location biggest asset”
Review of Florida House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Florida House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Location biggest asset”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here July 5, 2014, and for a B&B it is just OK. The Inn is full of antiques with a neat porch and next to an outside bar with nice music. Noise was not an issue. Do not stay here if you want to feel like you want to get to know the innkeepers or feel like you are staying in their home. Very impersonal. The breakfast consisted of a delicious bread pudding, scrambled eggs, and coarse ground grits that needed to cook for another 45 minutes! They were almost raw and when we told the waitress, she just smiled and said she'd tell the cook! Very disappointing! Great potential here, but next time I'll just stay at the Hampton Inn on the next street over!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debcap0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    61
    28
    18
    11
See reviews for
30
160
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sautee Nacoochee, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here, for the first time, over the fourth of July Saturday. by chance, we stumbled upon a great place with good folks/family running it.
the music from the bar next door was not an issue after about 10:30, and the partiers cleared out after 11:00.
great historical hotel, good breakfast, nice family running the show.
Will definitely forgo the Comfort Suites, Hampton and others to be in this piece of history.

Room Tip: if youre going to retire early, get a room away from the bar next door and upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I did a one night stay here and got the smallest room by choice. If you're just in town for a quick trip the small room is okay but for a longer stay upgrade to a standard room. Great location and close to all the fun in the historic area. Skip the breakfast - worst ever!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

If you prefer quaint inns to modern brand-name hotels, it’s probably because of the special treatment you expect to receive and the one-of-a-kind surroundings of an historic building. The parts of the Florida House Inn we saw were interesting though somewhat austere. The backyard, with its mermaid water fountain, is pleasant. But this Inn lacks even a modest amount of the welcoming hospitality you expect from an Inn.

To check in, we stood at a Dutch door that lead into an office. A guy seated at a desk barely looked up to acknowledge us. After we gave our name, we were told where our room was, given a room key, and handed a one-page instruction sheet. There was no offer to show us the room, help with our luggage, or give us a little bit of the history of the place. We had to ask how to drive to the parking lot behind the building. I felt more processed than welcomed; it reminded me of checking into my freshman dorm.

A loud window air conditioner was running when we entered our small room, one of the Deluxe Queen Suites. The room seemed clean as did its modernized bathroom. However, when we pulled back the covers to go to bed, we found the sheets heavily spotted with brown stains.

In the morning, we stood in the front hall, trying to figure out where breakfast was served. There were no signs or people to direct us. We went into the bar and saw no one. Finally, we kept walking until we reached the kitchen. From there, we saw a room in the back where other guests were seated around two large tables. The next day other new guests stood in the front hall, looking as lost as we had been. Unlike our hosts, we happily showed these guests the way to breakfast.

There were two breakfast options: steak and eggs or waffles. For some reason, most of us choose waffles. The innkeeper/server explained that their institutional waffle iron was broken, so our breakfasts would take some time. I wish I had heeded his warning. We waited a VERY long before our meals arrived. Fortunately, the other guests were interesting, and we had a great conversation. But why would you offer waffles if your waffle iron is broken?
At breakfast everyone talked about their noisy air conditioners. We all agreed that the air conditioning noise helped to block out the bizarre screaming from the bar next door, which lasted into the early hours of the morning.

Our stay was disappointing. We cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnObservantTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Our king size room was incredibly small - 12-18 inches between end of bed and fireplace. Furniture much too large for the room, giving it a claustrophobic feel. Nice amenities and furnishings though. Noisy bar next door, be sure to stay on opposite side and in the back of the hotel. Parking can be an issue - small lot and spaces not guaranteed for guests -restaurant and event attendees have equal access.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GMSH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife & I stayed at this enchanting inn recently and how pleased we did.
Whilst not having all the mod cons of a modern hotel this place had character and atmosphere.
We were in room number four, not large by any means but cosy, clean and overlooking the rear courtyard with the most amazing tree sheltering it from the hot sun.
I can imagine the rooms next to the adjacent bar could be noisy as described in earlier contributions however we were not affected by this.
Breakfast commenced at eight thirty, late for some travellers, and finished at nine thirty.
A hot breakfast was on offer, omelettes, pancakes & fruit etc.
Friendly staff made the whole experience very enjoyable, we will return.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the side next to the adjacent noisy bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cambo2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Light bulbs were burnt out and staff couldn't find replacement bulbs. No chairs in room only one wood bench, had to sit on two chairs in the hall or on porch. Windows didn't open, light switch for open tub was hidden behind drapes, the decorative fireplace was totally nonfunctional. Bar next door was having a very good time until 2:00am, room not very clean, TV viewing was awkward with no chairs in the room and positioned parallel to the bed. Mattress was firm, a board comes to mind. Intended to stay two nights needless to say we stayed one. Other than the room the staff was friendly and the city itself is charming.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.9 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
#1 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida House Inn

Property: Florida House Inn
Address: 22 S 3rd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4207
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Florida House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florida House Inn was built in 1857 by David Yulee and is considered the oldest active Inn in Florida. The Inn has housed many famous people like Ulysses S. Grant, The Carnegies and the Rockerfellers, just to name a few. Come for a visit and step back in time with us.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Florida House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida House Hotel Fernandina Beach
Florida House Inn Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing