We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best vegan food on island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mustard Seed Cafe and Juice Bar

Mustard Seed Cafe and Juice Bar
Price range: US$8 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Inside Nassau Natural Foods Store
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best vegan food on island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

That was awesome! We shared a Tofu club with tempeh bacon! We should have ordered another sandwich, but we were stuffed. The veggie burger was awesome, and the lentil salad was delicious. The flavors were fabulous and just right. The seared tofu on the salad was fantastic. Thank you!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Organic, inventive, and good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Mustard Seed is a small cafe attached to a larger health food store. You can eat in a lovely cafe atmosphere corner of the store or pick things up to take to the beach. Glorious soups (but some are overly peppery for my taste), super salads, and all sorts of sandwiches and wraps. Everything fresh, organic, and beautifully presented (yes, even the take out in plastic!). The attached store is smaller than many, but has everything you might want from a health food store: an excellent produce department, bulk items and packaged goods, dairy, frozen foods, a fantastic selection of vitamins and supplements, cosmetics, and sunscreens. So you could create a do it yourself picnic here. The friendly, helpful folks are a real plus. We are in there several times a week.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyjackathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome organic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Great healthy food!!!! The chef was very accommodating to our special requests...preparing sugar free for us. The black bean soup was awesome and the chicken salad.. We will definitely be back:)

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frucku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We discovered the Mustard Seed while searching for special places for homemade soup. Thought we'd identified everything that existed on the island, but then stumbled on this gem - actually it is a health food store with a small café (a few tables). For soup aficionados, this is the place for you - although the salads and other items we sampled are equally fine. I tried soups here that usually don't interest me, just to see what can be done with them. Also, there are soups I never heard of before - such as artichoke and brie - that were a revelation. We also had breakfast here quite often. The menu is brief, but you can order your omelet to specification, and the quality is "10" on a scale of 1 to 10. The manager/chef is genuinely interested in providing what will satisfy the customers. We began ordering an unusual order of 3 pieces of toast (instead of 2 or 4) with our shared breakfast - and no one raised an eyebrow. We were sorry to leave the island, but look forward to returning to the Mustard Seed next winter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stopped in here to get some veggie groceries and ended up having lunch at the cafe. The chef took his time explaining all items to me as I have a nut allergy. The soup was great and I had a daily special veggie plate that was outstanding with multiple types of mushrooms. Highly recommended, but it's not inexpensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Chuckeroo536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mustard Seed Cafe and Juice Bar also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Mustard Seed Cafe and Juice Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing