We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amelia Island Charter Fishing

Amelia Island Charter Fishing
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
1 review
“Excellent Choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were lucky to have this captain on our trip out on the backwaters! Very knowledgable, great personality, and knew exactly where the fish would be biting. We would absolutely come back and bring the kids along :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gajewski29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lavonia, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Pros: Amelia Island Charter offers a variety of tours to embark on. We chose to take the Cumberland Island tour. We learned and saw so much history and wild life. The tour guide was funny and friendly. Def. booking another tour for the ecosystem tour (shrimp).
Con: 3 hour trip. Just wish they would post length of trip just for future reference.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bossldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My kids (7 and 9) wanted to go fishing while were on Amelia Island, and I called Captain Jeff based on the glowing reviews here. We were not disappointed! Jeff got back to me right away with details about the trips he offers. He answered all my questions and we set the date!

Our afternoon trip was awesome. We didn't catch any fish, the wild horses were nowhere to be seen, and it was too early in the season to see any manatees, but my kids and I decided it was still the highlight of our trip. Captain Jeff was super knowledgeable about the area, very friendly, and incredibly patient with the kids. He let my son (7) hook the bait himself, taught us all how to cast, and even let each of my kids drive the boat!

I have to admit, I'm kind of hooked on fishing now (no pun intended!). If we return to the area, we will definitely book a date with Captain Jeff!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mrswh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow captain Crumpton just does not disappoint!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This has been the best fishing trip so far with Capt. Crumpton! We absolutely slayed the fish today! He is extremely knowledgeable and know the area. Best of all he is passionate and want his clients to have fun fishing!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoeymaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Fishing with Capt. Jeff Crumpton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Every time we visit Amelia Island, we go fishing with Jeff. he's a really decent and patient guide and put us on the fish. He also taught my wife how to cast and now she's hooked on fishing too. In April 2012 we did a Cobia run, saw a few but it was a little early yet for cobia. Then he put us on to the big breeder reds in the ocean. huge school of redfish - ask him to show you the video!

In Sept 2012, we went fishing with Jeff again and had a wonderful day catching about 17 species of fish including a nice red in the slot which we were able to harvest. Had the redfish cooked up at a local restaurant that evening - best tasting fish we've had.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amelia Island Charter Fishing also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Amelia Island Charter Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing