We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable location - but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
covington, GA
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Enjoyable location - but pricey”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Here for a business meeting - hard to concentrate on business with the sun and surf talking to your subconcious mind the whole time. Meeting rooms were very good;. Hotel rooms were excellent - comfy, well kept. Staff were on top of their game - made sure everything was taken care of. All parking is valet. Hotel has some good eating facilities, but nothing within walking distance for another restaurant, you have to get in your car and go (I hate having to do the valet thing everytime I want my vehicle). Beach was nice and not overloaded with tourists.

Room Tip: Beach view is nice - and you are not on top of a pool that can keep you awake half the night with ki...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling towels is typical for a hotel. Groundskeeping was neat and clean and well kept I was not aware of anything else.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvis4vr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,510
    507
    206
    87
    40
See reviews for
619
760
41
595
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent several July 4th holidays at this property in the last 90s and early 2000s, but hadn't been there in 9 years. We were anxious to see how it has been maintained. We were pleased to see that it has been nicely updated while keeping the wonderful antiques that give it a cozy feeling. The spa has been enlarged since our last visit and is beautiful. Here is how we felt about the place:

The pros:

- The staff is by far the highlight. They use the usual Ritz Carlton "my pleasure", but somehow, you actually believe it. EVERYONE, from the front desk, to the bell staff, to the valet, to the concierge seemed to really care that we had a nice time. The bellman remembered me by name when he saw me in the hall a few days after check in.
- The property is pretty and well maintained. The grounds are beautiful and the setting on the beach in spectacular.
- It is easy to find live music. There was a band each afternoon by the pool and there was always live music in the bar. Very festive and fun!
- The town of Fernandina Beach is very charming.

The cons:
- I think no one at this hotel has noticed that it has a fabulous beach right outside its doors. While they do offer chairs, umbrellas, and towels at the beach, they do not serve food. One day, someone did ask if I would like a drink, but that is very rare. The seats are positioned very far from the shore, so it is impossible to watch small children in the water while sitting under an umbrella. There are not many hooks for hanging wet suits in the rooms and there a very few showers for removing sand when leaving the beach.
- The food was expensive and not great. This is not the worst resort food I have eaten, but not the best. We did NOT try Salt, which is the more formal restaurant, as we had 3 kids with us, but did hear it is great.
- The pool is pretty, but small. I think this is where they should invest next.

Overall we love this resort and will be back...

When reserving, note the following:
Be warned, the rooms are not very big. My husband and I had one room and our 3 kids shared an adjoining room. The 3 of them were rather crowded. Plan on 2 rooms if there are more than 2 in your group.

We left the resort on a Sunday at 10 AM. We had to wait 45 minutes for our car. Be sure to ask how to avoid the check out rush. It was a ZOO...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chachoochoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I have visited this property an untold number of times since it opened in 1991. We have seen staff come and go, the room renovations, modernizations and the addition of an adult only spa and pool. Everything at this hotel is first class and it just keeps getting better. We were there for a weekend stay recently, and still get excited as we drive up to the entry. We are greeted as family. This has become our "home away from home" where we come to regroup and reenergize after a long work week, for celebrations, to deal with serious health issues and deaths of family members. The staff could not be more caring. On this trip, we were upgraded to a beautiful oceanfront suite. What a pleasant surprise! With 3 pools, one indoors, the spa, an expansive beach on the Atlantic Ocean, the club lounge, we did not spend much time in our
room. The Club level is warm and welcoming, offering breakfast, lunch, small plates at dinner and desserts. They also offer premium wines and cocktails. You also get access to the spa facilities, including the adult only pool and the Jacuzzi with a waterfall. It is a splurge, but a good value. Sitting by the fire pit off the lobby lounge and enjoying a glass of wine and the ocean breeze could not have been more relaxing. The staff, in the Ritz tradition, are thoughtful and caring. The property is well maintained and any problems get fixed promptly. There are 3 restaurants. The southern breakfast buffet is not to be missed.

For those with children, this is a child friendly resort with planned activities as well as a Ritz Kids program.

We cannot wait to go back. Just try and keep us away. Maybe we will set a record for the most number of nights spent.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are not necessary, as ocean view rooms offer good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the resort in part due to a mess up with a reservation at another hotel. I am very thankful that the other hotel botched my reservation, and I selected your facility to stay at. I was originally only going to stay one night, but we ended up extending for another night as the staff and facility was so amazing. Thanks for turning a potential disaster of a weekend into one that we will remember for years

Room Tip: Amazing place to stay at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm beach gardens
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A lovely property, beyond excellent service. 5 star. Very accommodating, want to please. Service par excellent. We were not there a long time, really a stop on our way north from Florida to Delaware. Three nights, two days of golf. Ate at three great restaurants , salt at the hotel, le clos off property and David's, also off property. All wonderful and different. All recommended by the concierge. The beach is a wide, and not crowded and pool area is pretty. There is a marvelous spa...again wonderful service , with beautiful amenities. Did not have time to visit the fitness center as our stay was sort, but would imagine it to be excellent. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Coastal view
See more room tips
Green Features: You are requiring me to write something I know nothing about. Am sure it us good, but I do not have such information on this particular item. All else was fBulous
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gale c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

4.5 stars actually. Staff was ALWAYS asking how you were, etc. etc. a little too much. We have stayed at many other Ritz's in US, this one not at the top, but still lovely. We reserved a larger ocean front room & still felt the room was a little tight, with all the furniture. Very nice beach. If you have kids they can entertain them. Shops nice, but expensive. This is a large hotel, so if you're looking for intimate - not the one. They do a lot of conventions & business meetings, so lobby area & restaurants can get noisy. But Amelia Island is a beautiful location, so maybe it's worth it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a very lovely stay at The Amelia Island Ritz. Everyone there is at the ready to help you in any way possible. Any one of the people at The Ritz is ready to make your stay as wonderful and as pleasant as they are able. We loved being at The Ritz! Our arrival at the hotel was Memorial Day weekend and we did not have reservations for dinner at the hotel restaurant where we went to eat. One of the hotel staff members walked us to a more casual restaurant in the hotel where we were able to get our dinner. At this time we did not know our way around the hotel and appreciated the attention in getting to dinner.

Room Tip: I don't know if they have any 'bad' rooms - but we loved looking onto the courtyard wher...
See more room tips
Green Features: Of course, we can save water by reusing our towels and they change sheets every other day. The dunes between the hotel and the beach are very protected by stairs and a walkway.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelcomeMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.6 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,423 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
668 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,476 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
Address: 4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in southern charm at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island. With miles of pristine beaches to explore, you’ll find yourself basking in the glow of the sun as you swim, relax or walk along the sandy shore. As one of the most popular beach destinations on the East Coast, this luxury hotel in Florida provides a welcome barrier between you and the world beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton - Amelia Island Hotel Amelia Island
Ritz Carlton Amelia Island
Ritz Amelia Island
Amelia Island Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing