We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - perfect get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Kingwood, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place - perfect get away”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Celebrated our anniversay at the RZ Amelia Island. The area was quiet and laid back and and perfect for a retreat/relaxing experience. I sat at the balcony overlooking the ocean and really appreciate the character of the sea. During a storm the sea was rough facinating to watch. The main benefits of the hotel: Restaurant Salt is amazing, expensive but worth it. Staff: attentive and caring about guests. Rooms are nice and well maintained, could use a little updating but lovely. .

Room Tip: Overlooking pool: balcony also has a side view of the ocean. 8th floor is the club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houstonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,458
    493
    201
    86
    40
See reviews for
589
740
41
581
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Celebrated anniversary at the Amelia Ritz and had a wonderful stay. Prices for everything are always shocking but the pool setting is awesome, service is spectacular, and place is beautiful. Worth it especially if you can find a good deal or use points (Marriott). Lots to do on island too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beerandbbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely beautiful, maintained impeccably and the ocean and dunes are breathtaking. ll Ritz properties should have their staff trained by this hotel staff. my husband and I are both big pleasure and business travelers and often and stay at properties, we can't say enough about this one. Everything was terrific; the food, the drinks, the atmosphere, the staff, the spa and even a fantastic weather we had. the only bummer was the showers are the old bathtub style, they need to be updated.Highly recommend a stay at this place!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shempie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
covington, GA
Level Contributor
304 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Here for a business meeting - hard to concentrate on business with the sun and surf talking to your subconcious mind the whole time. Meeting rooms were very good;. Hotel rooms were excellent - comfy, well kept. Staff were on top of their game - made sure everything was taken care of. All parking is valet. Hotel has some good eating facilities, but nothing within walking distance for another restaurant, you have to get in your car and go (I hate having to do the valet thing everytime I want my vehicle). Beach was nice and not overloaded with tourists.

Room Tip: Beach view is nice - and you are not on top of a pool that can keep you awake half the night with ki...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling towels is typical for a hotel. Groundskeeping was neat and clean and well kept I was not aware of anything else.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvis4vr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent several July 4th holidays at this property in the last 90s and early 2000s, but hadn't been there in 9 years. We were anxious to see how it has been maintained. We were pleased to see that it has been nicely updated while keeping the wonderful antiques that give it a cozy feeling. The spa has been enlarged since our last visit and is beautiful. Here is how we felt about the place:

The pros:

- The staff is by far the highlight. They use the usual Ritz Carlton "my pleasure", but somehow, you actually believe it. EVERYONE, from the front desk, to the bell staff, to the valet, to the concierge seemed to really care that we had a nice time. The bellman remembered me by name when he saw me in the hall a few days after check in.
- The property is pretty and well maintained. The grounds are beautiful and the setting on the beach in spectacular.
- It is easy to find live music. There was a band each afternoon by the pool and there was always live music in the bar. Very festive and fun!
- The town of Fernandina Beach is very charming.

The cons:
- I think no one at this hotel has noticed that it has a fabulous beach right outside its doors. While they do offer chairs, umbrellas, and towels at the beach, they do not serve food. One day, someone did ask if I would like a drink, but that is very rare. The seats are positioned very far from the shore, so it is impossible to watch small children in the water while sitting under an umbrella. There are not many hooks for hanging wet suits in the rooms and there a very few showers for removing sand when leaving the beach.
- The food was expensive and not great. This is not the worst resort food I have eaten, but not the best. We did NOT try Salt, which is the more formal restaurant, as we had 3 kids with us, but did hear it is great.
- The pool is pretty, but small. I think this is where they should invest next.

Overall we love this resort and will be back...

When reserving, note the following:
Be warned, the rooms are not very big. My husband and I had one room and our 3 kids shared an adjoining room. The 3 of them were rather crowded. Plan on 2 rooms if there are more than 2 in your group.

We left the resort on a Sunday at 10 AM. We had to wait 45 minutes for our car. Be sure to ask how to avoid the check out rush. It was a ZOO...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chachoochoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I have visited this property an untold number of times since it opened in 1991. We have seen staff come and go, the room renovations, modernizations and the addition of an adult only spa and pool. Everything at this hotel is first class and it just keeps getting better. We were there for a weekend stay recently, and still get excited as we drive up to the entry. We are greeted as family. This has become our "home away from home" where we come to regroup and reenergize after a long work week, for celebrations, to deal with serious health issues and deaths of family members. The staff could not be more caring. On this trip, we were upgraded to a beautiful oceanfront suite. What a pleasant surprise! With 3 pools, one indoors, the spa, an expansive beach on the Atlantic Ocean, the club lounge, we did not spend much time in our
room. The Club level is warm and welcoming, offering breakfast, lunch, small plates at dinner and desserts. They also offer premium wines and cocktails. You also get access to the spa facilities, including the adult only pool and the Jacuzzi with a waterfall. It is a splurge, but a good value. Sitting by the fire pit off the lobby lounge and enjoying a glass of wine and the ocean breeze could not have been more relaxing. The staff, in the Ritz tradition, are thoughtful and caring. The property is well maintained and any problems get fixed promptly. There are 3 restaurants. The southern breakfast buffet is not to be missed.

For those with children, this is a child friendly resort with planned activities as well as a Ritz Kids program.

We cannot wait to go back. Just try and keep us away. Maybe we will set a record for the most number of nights spent.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are not necessary, as ocean view rooms offer good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the resort in part due to a mess up with a reservation at another hotel. I am very thankful that the other hotel botched my reservation, and I selected your facility to stay at. I was originally only going to stay one night, but we ended up extending for another night as the staff and facility was so amazing. Thanks for turning a potential disaster of a weekend into one that we will remember for years

Room Tip: Amazing place to stay at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,400 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
5.1 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
656 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,436 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
Address: 4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in southern charm at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island. With miles of pristine beaches to explore, you’ll find yourself basking in the glow of the sun as you swim, relax or walk along the sandy shore. As one of the most popular beach destinations on the East Coast, this luxury hotel in Florida provides a welcome barrier between you and the world beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton - Amelia Island Hotel Amelia Island
Ritz Carlton Amelia Island
Ritz Amelia Island
Amelia Island Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing