We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“superb customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a beautiful property. The live music on Saturday nights is a highlight. We had a few small issues with our room and a large event on the beach. The manager more than made up for these problems. As all travelers know, issues can arise but the management can make the difference in a problematic stay vs a superb stay. The spa is not to be missed.

Room Tip: suites are worth the $
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,416
    481
    196
    86
    39
See reviews for
575
723
40
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just spent a week here with the family (2 teens), and have to say that we were all thrilled with the experience! From the comfortable suite with 2.5 bathrooms (great to have with teens) and an amazing view, to the yummy food at Salt and poolside (where we ate most meals), to the personalized pool service complete with a macaw name "Amelia" and "Freckles" the turtle - and lots of turtle friends!- at the pool and beach!
Great "family area": it's really a small theater next to a game room with 4 x-box type games with plenty of seating for each, a foosball table, and some board games and tables. Best part: it's right. Next. Door. To a casual bar/restaurant called "Eight" so your kids can be over there while you watch the game, enjoy some drinks, and each some better-than-average bar food! Lots of parents of kids of all ages were enjoying this perk while we we're here, but it never seemed crowded.
The Spa was reallocate nice, and they have an adults-only outdoor lap-style pool to use after ( or any time for adults), so that was a nice touch. If you are planning on lap swimming, it's only 3-4 ft deep and only about 20 yards long. My teen is a competitive swimmer and one of the wonderful staff there gave us the hint to go to the AI YMCA about a 10 min drive away to use their facility. It was nice to get out each am so she could get some practice in there, and a week's pass was only $25.

lastly- the beach! Absolutely the highlight of our trip! Waves enough to body surf or lightly surf, but smooth enough to stand in the waves up to your knees with cool water lapping up without getting knocked over. The RC has a great stretch of beach with chairs and towel service, along with a beach-side bar (in between the dunes, 1/2 way between the hotel and beach). As you walk on one of the many boardwalks to get between hotel and beach (sand dunes are protected by law), look for Holes dug in the sand! If you are lucky you will see Freckles and her many many friends crawling on and around the dunes! We saw them at all times of day, along with other assorted wildlife.

In the evenings, get cleaned up from the beach, grab a cocktail, and head out to the back veranda where the fire pit flames up, grab a comfy seat, and enjoy the peacefulness. You won't regret a minute of it.

They also have golfing here- supposed to be amazing- but we don't spend time golfing on fMily vacays!

Room Tip: As for ocean view, high up, and in the center (not on a "wing")
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasRangerroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwinna, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Ritz-Carlton is a nice hotel, a little over-rated for the price. We booked the hotel via Orbitz and requested ocean front suites. Both our suites had decks that were completely blocked by a solid concrete wall which was about 5 feet high. We had to stand on our toes and lean over the wall to see the ocean. The suites were very expensive, and upon complaining to the hotel manager, they gave us a BIG $50 per day credit to compensate for the poor view. The hotel is older and has been renovated but the suites are small and no unlike a Hampton Inn. The grounds and pool are very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank u835075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon F, Executive Assistant Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. I was disappointed to learn of your frustration with your suite. It is feedback like this that allows the team to identify opportunities to enhance, correct these concerns. I will follow-up with the Leadership team in reference to your resolution. Should you have any questions I would be happy to assist.

Warmly,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Marcus greeted us warmly and professionally as we checked in for our honeymoon. Hotel presented us with champagne and strawberries. Salt restaurant was exceptional. Our sever was warm, explained the menu and offered an assortment of salts to season our meal with. In room dining and all service staff was very attentive. The pool area had plenty of seating, however the pool only accommodates 90 people. The "spa pool" is outdoors and adult only,but the hotel charges a $25 fee if you want access for quiet time from other guest with young boisterous children. Fee is waved if you purchase spa services. At $450+/ night I didn't feel appropriate adding another charge to room. Also, be certain about the cancellation policy. They charge full amount if you cancel the room 7 days before the stay. Seems lengthy....

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sgagnez4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We traveled to this hotel the week of Memorial Day and were very happy with virtually everything. The service level is top notch, even by Ritz-Carlton standards. The hotel was extremely busy the first few days because of the holiday weekend, but even then the hotel had plenty of staff on hand. This was the case the entire trip. They anticipated every need and want, and an available staff member to meet or exceed it.

The hotel and rooms were in excellent shape and tastefully done. More upscale than your typical beach resort with a lot of wood paneling and nice furnishings. One odd things for a hotel that faces east (the beach): the curtains are not blackout curtains! Why?? I highly recommend a ocean view room-- they directly face the ocean (rather than a side view), so the ocean save sounds will come right at you. It's very relaxing!

My main complaint would be that the pool is quite small. In fact, a hotel with this many rooms could probably use more than one pool area. There were a lot of lounge chairs around it, but it all seems very crowded. We did not use this area at all for this very reason-- we either went to the beach or the spa pool.

If you go to the spa you have access to the spa pool that day, which is much more private and relaxing than the regular pool. Plus its hot tub has a waterfall in it.

The beach in this area is quite large. It is not beautiful white sands, but the sand dunes are pretty to look at. The shells in areas can be hard on the feet. Overall it was very nice. In late May the water was great. The attendants will set up chairs and umbrellas for you, and there is plenty of room to spread out on most days (maybe not on holiday weekends).

The restaurants in the hotel are good. Salt is a great treat. Cafe 4750 is good for breakfast. I would also recommend going into Fernandina Beach a time or two for dinner and to walk around their historic downtown. It's a neat little downtown area with some good restaurants. We tried Espana and Ciao Bistro and recommend both.

My summary tip would be to avoid a holiday weekend (try to go during the week as the hotel seems to be slow, or people are in meetings in the conference center during the day), and get an ocean view room. It's a great hotel with an even better staff!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms directly face the ocean and get more ocean wave sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingwood, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Celebrated our anniversay at the RZ Amelia Island. The area was quiet and laid back and and perfect for a retreat/relaxing experience. I sat at the balcony overlooking the ocean and really appreciate the character of the sea. During a storm the sea was rough facinating to watch. The main benefits of the hotel: Restaurant Salt is amazing, expensive but worth it. Staff: attentive and caring about guests. Rooms are nice and well maintained, could use a little updating but lovely. .

Room Tip: Overlooking pool: balcony also has a side view of the ocean. 8th floor is the club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houstonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Celebrated anniversary at the Amelia Ritz and had a wonderful stay. Prices for everything are always shocking but the pool setting is awesome, service is spectacular, and place is beautiful. Worth it especially if you can find a good deal or use points (Marriott). Lots to do on island too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beerandbbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
5.1 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
Address: 4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in southern charm at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island. With miles of pristine beaches to explore, you’ll find yourself basking in the glow of the sun as you swim, relax or walk along the sandy shore. As one of the most popular beach destinations on the East Coast, this luxury hotel in Florida provides a welcome barrier between you and the world beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton - Amelia Island Hotel Amelia Island
Ritz Carlton Amelia Island
Ritz Amelia Island
Amelia Island Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing