We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience- Overpriced/Bad service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience- Overpriced/Bad service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We were so excited about our stay at the ritz at Amelia island but other than the location being beautiful the whole experience was a let down. The rooms at $600/ night were totally overpriced!
We reached at 6pm on the Friday for our check in only to be told that our room wasn't ready and the room service was adding VIP touches to the room. When we got the room after a 20 min wait there were no VIP touches!! The room was not even properly cleaned, missed conditioner etc in the bathroom. The receptionist offered us room credit to buy a toy for my son at the toy shop while we waited but nothing was put in writing so the shop guys didn't know what we were talking about!
The servers at the 4750 breakfast areas were rude- we almost felt unwelcome there. The bagels were dry and the coffee cold.
I had booked a massage at the spa for my husband for Father's Day. It was part of the package we had bought. The spa it-self was great but they have him a massage and a facial saying it was part of the package and later added $200 on top of our regular package.
We were also underwhelmed by the maintenance of the property. The rooms seemed old and the lawns had big bare areas and did not seem well kept.
We also had a lunch at 4750 covered in the rejuvenate me package. I checked my credit statement to see that I was charged extra for that inspite of confirming with the reception at the time of checkout that it was part of the package!! I had to call them again only to be told that the account office was closed for the day. Now I'll have to call them again and waste time discussing something that should have been taken care of already.
Overall not the wonderful experience I had expected of Ritz at a beautiful island like Amelia island. The only saving grace for our trip was the beautiful sunrise we saw from our room.
Will not be recommending this property to anyone in the future!
We were very disappointed:(

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anjali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon F, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Good afternoon Anjali M,

Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from your recent visit. I was disappointed to learn of some of the issues you encountered throughout your stay. We strive to ensure that the guest experience exceeds your expectations, and I apologize that we failed you.
I have shared your concerns with the senior leadership team, who will, along with the specific departmenal leaders identify the cause of the breakdowns to ensure they are not repeated. It is this type of honest feedback that allows us to ensure we are being consistent.
Were you able to get your credit issued?
Please feel free to reach out to me directly at 904-491-6717 should you have any further questions or feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,411
    480
    196
    86
    39
See reviews for
575
720
40
559
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Ritz on Amelia Island for both business and pleasure. The beach chairs and umbrellas used to be free, but now there is a fee for daily use of the umbrellas. The chairs are still free. We were told that we would need to sign up for internet on a daily basis, but the charges would be zeroed out when we checked out. I don't know if this happened or not, because we never received our receipt via email as promised by the desk agent at the Ritz. We ate twice at Café 4750. The service was good, but the food was rather bland and disappointing. The pool is very nice. The room was extremely nice, much better than our last visit there, it had obviously had a facelift. The grounds were well-kept and absolutely lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a coastal view room, it's worth it.
See more room tips
Green Features: We always try to minimize the laundry we generate.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icestorm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our 5 night stay was luxuriously relaxing, the most difficult decision was deciding if we wanted to lounge on the beach or near the pool. The views from the hotel are amazing and the sound of the waves, tranquil. We also enjoyed the live band playing at the pool on Friday and Saturday. The service we encountered was top notch. Beginning with Anna and Lottie at the front desk, we were warmly greeted and our stay was off to a fantastic start. We enjoyed the food and beverage offerings in the club lounge and highly suggest enhancing your stay with the upgrade to the club lounge. We enjoyed getting to know Brian, JT, Mary Jo, and Tammy. They made our stay memorable, as they went above and beyond in meeting our needs and were genuinely warm and kind individuals. The guest rooms are beautiful and we loved the large balcony where we could enjoy a glass of wine as the waves crashed below. Housekeeping is attentive to detail and we enjoyed speaking with Tammy S. throughout our stay. This resort is also family friendly and our children had a wonderful time with all of the activities throughout the week - story time, shark tooth hunt, kids night out and the pirate tuck in were all a huge hit! We made wonderful memories as a family and it is largely due to the wonderful people we met during our stay - thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a beautiful property. The live music on Saturday nights is a highlight. We had a few small issues with our room and a large event on the beach. The manager more than made up for these problems. As all travelers know, issues can arise but the management can make the difference in a problematic stay vs a superb stay. The spa is not to be missed.

Room Tip: suites are worth the $
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just spent a week here with the family (2 teens), and have to say that we were all thrilled with the experience! From the comfortable suite with 2.5 bathrooms (great to have with teens) and an amazing view, to the yummy food at Salt and poolside (where we ate most meals), to the personalized pool service complete with a macaw name "Amelia" and "Freckles" the turtle - and lots of turtle friends!- at the pool and beach!
Great "family area": it's really a small theater next to a game room with 4 x-box type games with plenty of seating for each, a foosball table, and some board games and tables. Best part: it's right. Next. Door. To a casual bar/restaurant called "Eight" so your kids can be over there while you watch the game, enjoy some drinks, and each some better-than-average bar food! Lots of parents of kids of all ages were enjoying this perk while we we're here, but it never seemed crowded.
The Spa was reallocate nice, and they have an adults-only outdoor lap-style pool to use after ( or any time for adults), so that was a nice touch. If you are planning on lap swimming, it's only 3-4 ft deep and only about 20 yards long. My teen is a competitive swimmer and one of the wonderful staff there gave us the hint to go to the AI YMCA about a 10 min drive away to use their facility. It was nice to get out each am so she could get some practice in there, and a week's pass was only $25.

lastly- the beach! Absolutely the highlight of our trip! Waves enough to body surf or lightly surf, but smooth enough to stand in the waves up to your knees with cool water lapping up without getting knocked over. The RC has a great stretch of beach with chairs and towel service, along with a beach-side bar (in between the dunes, 1/2 way between the hotel and beach). As you walk on one of the many boardwalks to get between hotel and beach (sand dunes are protected by law), look for Holes dug in the sand! If you are lucky you will see Freckles and her many many friends crawling on and around the dunes! We saw them at all times of day, along with other assorted wildlife.

In the evenings, get cleaned up from the beach, grab a cocktail, and head out to the back veranda where the fire pit flames up, grab a comfy seat, and enjoy the peacefulness. You won't regret a minute of it.

They also have golfing here- supposed to be amazing- but we don't spend time golfing on fMily vacays!

Room Tip: As for ocean view, high up, and in the center (not on a "wing")
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasRangerroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwinna, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Ritz-Carlton is a nice hotel, a little over-rated for the price. We booked the hotel via Orbitz and requested ocean front suites. Both our suites had decks that were completely blocked by a solid concrete wall which was about 5 feet high. We had to stand on our toes and lean over the wall to see the ocean. The suites were very expensive, and upon complaining to the hotel manager, they gave us a BIG $50 per day credit to compensate for the poor view. The hotel is older and has been renovated but the suites are small and no unlike a Hampton Inn. The grounds and pool are very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank u835075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon F, Executive Assistant Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. I was disappointed to learn of your frustration with your suite. It is feedback like this that allows the team to identify opportunities to enhance, correct these concerns. I will follow-up with the Leadership team in reference to your resolution. Should you have any questions I would be happy to assist.

Warmly,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Marcus greeted us warmly and professionally as we checked in for our honeymoon. Hotel presented us with champagne and strawberries. Salt restaurant was exceptional. Our sever was warm, explained the menu and offered an assortment of salts to season our meal with. In room dining and all service staff was very attentive. The pool area had plenty of seating, however the pool only accommodates 90 people. The "spa pool" is outdoors and adult only,but the hotel charges a $25 fee if you want access for quiet time from other guest with young boisterous children. Fee is waved if you purchase spa services. At $450+/ night I didn't feel appropriate adding another charge to room. Also, be certain about the cancellation policy. They charge full amount if you cancel the room 7 days before the stay. Seems lengthy....

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sgagnez4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
5.1 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
Address: 4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in southern charm at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island. With miles of pristine beaches to explore, you’ll find yourself basking in the glow of the sun as you swim, relax or walk along the sandy shore. As one of the most popular beach destinations on the East Coast, this luxury hotel in Florida provides a welcome barrier between you and the world beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton - Amelia Island Hotel Amelia Island
Ritz Carlton Amelia Island
Ritz Amelia Island
Amelia Island Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing