We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

At this price, I'd like more attention to the cleanliness of the bathrooms. Shouldn't the floor be cleaned daily? I was there 5 days and it was not wiped down daily.

When we arrived, the bellman dropped our stuff on the bed. He never set up the suitcase stands.

I was rather disappointed.

The setting on the beach is beautiful and most of the staff was very attentive.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarrotSoup67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,415
    481
    196
    86
    40
See reviews for
575
723
40
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killen, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room overlooking pool and great view of beach. Balcony was great to sit on morning and evening. All employees were friendly and helpful. Pool was crowded with kids but the beach area was a great escape. In the evening the pool was quiet and almost kid free. This was our third visit always a great stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank triscuit077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

If you're staying at the Ritz, you clearly have the expectation of great service. This staff goes beyond that. They were exceptionally kind and with small (slow pool side service) and big mistakes (put my husband and I in a double bed suite instead of a king) they demonstrated how a misstep creates the opportunity to make a loyal customer. The discretion the staff is able to use when considering ways to say, "I'm sorry" was really impressive. I received beautiful flowers one morning as just one example. Restaurant service, great. Especially Antonio. Only a couple of times (three actually) did I note a hesitation when asking for something simple. A waiter seemed a little put out that my husband wanted to change his salad once he saw it, but after a moment the waiter removed his look of disappointment and brought a new salad. Same waiter also was hesitant to give the bride's dad chocolate cake because it had already been established that vanilla and chocolate would be alternated by guest and the dad had "landed on" vanilla. Property needs a renovation for the prices they charge, but it was still very clean and we had an incredible view of the beach. The staff may this place what it is. The property is four star at best. Thank you Ritz Carlton for a great vacation. You made four days seem like seven.

Room Tip: Something facing the beach
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not notice anything especially outstanding in this area.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msdowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have stayed at the Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island four different occasions and it is fantastic, my kids love it and it is one of there favorite places to vacation. We have stayed at many Ritzs, Orlando, Naples, South Beach, Grand Cayman, St Thomas but this is one of our favorites. The hotel is extremely kid friendly and if the kids are happy, we are happy. We usually stay in the ocean front suite which is heaven, splurge, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Oceanfront suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

From my first step out of the car, they treat you like the King arrived. There were so many wonderful staff to assist us and get us to the room so quickly with a glass of champagne! Our room was fabulous and every request we had asked for they gave us. A wonderful clean room, hotel spotless and staff everywhere to assist you. Ate at salt which was fabuous and the seafood buffet. The director of food was so great to us and even addressed us by our name. Hard to believe with all his work he can remember a name. :Pool and beach was great as well. Cannot wait to return to this Ritz again! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fairster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The real winner here is the location on Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach ! BEAUTIFUL !!
The hotel needs a renovation to keep current.
The high room rates & incidentals costs, make a return visitor to the Amelia Island area look to check out a week's rental of a vacation home or condo close by About the same costs of a weekend at the Ritz.
The area has lots of local restaurants at reasonable prices and loads of beach spots.
I always love staying at The Ritz-Carlton, (Nob Hill and Half Moon Bay in San Francisco areas, Naples & Miami Beach in Florida, Colorado at hotel or vacation rentals.....everywhere but the old beast in Chicago).
The Hotelier needs to rethink rooms, restaurants and costs to revitalize this location.
Because you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon F, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Good evening Robert S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us!

We take all feedback into account as we look for ways to enhance the experience at the resort!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay on the Island and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is gorgeous and the staff were all wonderful. Room and restaurants all excellent to. On our last night (Thursday) we had a fabulous time in the lobby lounge with champagne listening to the band and watching people dance - these memories will always stay with us.

For the cons - we are paying $600 a night for a room and so don't expect to pay $25 to use an umbrella on the beach (especially when we only arrived at 3pm at beach and still couldn't use one without paying the daily rate). I also don't expect to pay $10 a day for wi-fi. This can't be included in the daily rate? I know if can afford $600 for a room then it shouldn't matter but it's the principle, and the principle is that this is a rip off. It must make them a lot of money though as they ran out of chairs on the beach and by the pool on our last day!

We would probably return one day.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
5.1 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#6 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island
Address: 4750 Amelia Island Parkway, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in southern charm at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island. With miles of pristine beaches to explore, you’ll find yourself basking in the glow of the sun as you swim, relax or walk along the sandy shore. As one of the most popular beach destinations on the East Coast, this luxury hotel in Florida provides a welcome barrier between you and the world beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton - Amelia Island Hotel Amelia Island
Ritz Carlton Amelia Island
Ritz Amelia Island
Amelia Island Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing