We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We checked in and the room assigned didn't have a sunset view and was a handicap room, not what we had in mind for our romantic getaway.
The desk clerk recognized our intent and moved us to a Harbor view suite with a great view, fireplace, and full kitchen.
The cleanliness, gracious attitude of staff, and the over the top service of the clerk, is what hospitality is all about.
Next time we stay in Fernandina, there is no question where and now I know the room to request too.
By the way, great mountain biking area

Room Tip: Go for the harbor view. It is well worth a few more $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,327 - 1,333 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

This is the third time we have stayed here before cruising out of Jacksonville (only about 20 min to the Port) and once again we had a wonderful stay! This hotel is right in the middle of the historic downtown area of Fernandina Beach, so you can walk everywhere you want to go to eat or shop. Amelia Island and the beach is only a 10 minute car ride away. We also visited Fort Clinch which is very interesting if you enjoy history. Very beautiful ride through moss covered trees back to the fort.

I highly recommend this hotel for your next stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyCovingtonGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed here one night on our way back to Virginia. We had been to Amelia Island years ago and so we knew the Fernandina Beach area. The hotel was right in the center of the downtown area with all the shops and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is different than most, historic looking and quaint. Our standard room was smaller than at most Hampton Inns but managed to still be comfortable and have everything we needed. We ate at Le Clos, a small restaurant that was literally right across the street (would definitely recommend them but make reservations). The breakfast area was up on the 2nd floor, very large and inviting with a view out many windows to the pool area. The train is near but we only heard it once during the night, so no biggie. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This is a great location, right downtown within walking distance of great restaurants, sightseeing tours, and museums. Clean room, nice amenities if you opt to upgrade,
and the breakfast was constantly maintained by two employees (and it isn't even season!).
Yes, there is a train close by but the sound is not obnoxious and the sound in your room
is so muted I am not sure most people would even realize it was there! The front desk
was very helpful with local recommendations of things to do. The drive to the beach is short
and I think this is the best location you can choose.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEEPSIXWATERSPORTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We experienced a very comfortable and restful stay. My wife enjoyed the whirlpool bath in the room. It was also well appreciated to have a refrigerator in the room for keeping our liquid spirits cooled and a free WiFi internet connection.On the negative side we would have appreciated a real quality breakfast over the complimentary one served with paper cups and plastic knives and spoons.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My hubby sent me here for a get away, he read the reviews and was impressed. I was upgraded to a suite that was nice. I had finger nail clippings in the kitchen area on the floor and the bedroom in front of the tv was toe nail clippings, had food crumbs in the sofa. YUCK! I was on the second floor and could not use the internet, went downstairs to contect and brought my computer back up but not luck. Was told that internet service was hard to get on the second floor.

Room Tip: Anything but the second floor no internet service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob R R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Bob Ramshaw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This is a great property with a lot more charm than an average Hampton Inn. It's well-kept, immaculately-clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. It's on the water in the heart of downtown Fernandina Beach with lots of qauint restaurants within walking distance.
Be aware that there is a night train that runs directly adjacent to the hotel, so bring earplugs and you'll be OK.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
724 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,481 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
2 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#4 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
701 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front

Address: 19 S 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £106 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing