We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not your typical Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I have been coming to this location for almost 5 years now (over 10 stays totaling 20+ days) , and have yet to have a bad stay. It is centrally located in downtown Fernandina Beach and was built to look/feel like it was part of the old part of the city. The staff is always friendly, they have a managers reception M-Th with snacks provided by local restaurants. The only downside is the occasional train at night that travels back and forth behind the hotel taking materials to the port, but I consider it a minor inconvenience easily tolerated when compared to the ambiance of this facility and the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kevin L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,220 - 1,226 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

After a lot of deliberation--whether to stay in the historic district or stay in a hotel with a balcony overlooking beach and water--we opted to stay at this hotel because of its proximity to a wide variety of shops, restaurants, historic buildings, beautiful houses and marina.
We asked for a room on an upper floor away from the train tracks. Our room was on the fourth floor (403). It had two windows friom which we could see City Hall on the left and train tracks, marina and smoke belching factory on the right. The train runs day and night and signals at intersections. We kept the air conditioner on which effectively muffled some of the noise. The room was immaculate. It had a small fridge, microwave and coffee pot. Amenities were in the bathroom. The bed had a pretty duvet that management says is washed after every guest!! That, to us, is impressive. The bed was exceedingly comfy, as were the pillows. There was plenty of parking both around the hotel and across the street where there is a small lot marked for public parking. The pool and breakfast room are on the second floor overlooking the train tracks and marina. The breakfast room opens at 6 a.m. to 10 a.m. with hot items as well as yogurt, fruit, and buns. There is also coffee in the lobby. There's a free newspaper Mon-Fri. Front desk was pleasant. Housekeeping always said hi as we walked by. The elevators (2) were quick. The lobby is unusual with a fireplace and an amazing curving staircase. We took advantage of the Hampton Inn special on the Amelia Island website and got the third night free. There are also Hilton Inn "Great Getaway Rates" that are a goo deal but make sure your dates coincide with your stay. Overall, we would stay at this hotel agian.

Room Tip: North side, south side, high floor...I don't think any area of the hotel would be any quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vista_Sultans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This was our first stay at this Hampton Inn. We made our reservations about 3 months in advance and got a great rate on a corner king bed suite. Our daily rate was about 1/3 of the rate for a basic guest room at the Ritz Carlton. We asked for a suite overlooking the marina and harbor and they honored it. We learned that this hotel has been here since the days of Presidence Kennedy when he and Ms. Kennedy were married across the harbor at Cumberland Island. Our stay here was smooth, friendly, and in a beautiful location. The front desk and housekeeping staff were all warm, friendly, and good natured. Every place you would want to go in town is within 10 blocks and some great restaurants within 4 blocks. The hotel overlooks the harbor and you can walk right across the street (and railroad tracks) to see lots of beautiful sunsets. The harbor is huge because it is at the junction of three rivers. There are lots of narrative cruises out of the harbor to Cumberland Island (offshore) and other sights in the area. The complimentary breakfast is served in the second floor dining room and had everything you could want in a complimentary hotel breakfast. The hotel may seem dated to some people, but everything in the hotel and the room worked great. You get a lot for your money here. I highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank rwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel was in a good location, but is showing it's age. Be careful if you park in the courtyard area, you could get blocked in very easily. Also the smoking area is close to two entrances and if you don't smoke this is a real turn off. Ask where your room will be located, there is a train just in front of the hotel that passed by 3 or 4 times the last night of our stay. I MEAN IT IS VERY CLOSE!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank USMC3521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob R R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was a pleasure speaking with you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We wanted to close to Centre Street so we could do the Pub Crawl. You couldn't get any closer than this Hampton Inn. It was super nice and super quiet. We will stay again. I did not like the breakfast buffet. Very limited. We didn't even bother with it. Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rblackie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is one of the nicer Hampton Inn's I've been to. The lobby is beautiful and the location perfect for visiting Fernandina Beach. The marina is nearby and the beach about 2 miles. I love visiting here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here and I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. Complementary breakfast simple with hot and cold selections. Everything within walking distance. Next to the marina. Sunset awesome. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
677 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,448 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
409 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front

Address: 19 S 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £103 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing