We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Thin Walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great Location placing you within easy walking distance of everything in town, except the beach. As others have noted, you can hear doors closing and conversations in other rooms. Our room (237) on the second floor had a Jacuzzi tub in the room, which was really nice. The breakfast was standard Hampton Inn, not a homemade B&B, but not a simple roll and coffee either. Rates were higher than average due to athletic competition in town, but still within the realm of reasonable.

Room Tip: Room 237 looks directly out onto the pool and has a light on all night. Keep shades closed.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J&L_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,496)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,097 - 1,103 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Perfect walking distance to all shops, restaurants and waterfront. Hotel lobby has lovely painted ceiling, curved staircase and fireplace. Hotel offers free breakfast in a charming room on the 2nd floor overlooking pool and harbor. We had a 2-room suite with full size kitchen. At $160/ night room was excellent value for money, especially if an extended stay. Only downside was we'd requested a fireplace room but fire kept going out. Maintenance responded right away and even checked back but repeated attempts to keep the pilot light lit were unsuccessful. The fireplace room was the reason we chose the hotel, so this and the unexpected cold weather, was disappointing. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and offered to move us to a new room. We elected to leave and they kindly accommodated our request without difficulty or penalties.

A few important notes if you're a light sleeper: 1)they're right along the train tracks but only saw 2 trains during our 1.5 day stay and none at night; 2)Our room faced the main road and music from the palace saloon could be heard past midnite.

Would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank learnlovelivetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel is centrally located near the marina. The staff and management go out of their way to make you feel welcome. It is a great location to stay and enjoy the downtown district. The complimentary breakfast is a big plus. During the Georgia/Florida football weekend the hotel hosts a reception the day before the big game. I go to Fernandina twice a year, and in the fall I always choose this location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank sbrown0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We had read the great reviews of this hotel and wanted to stay. Our GPS took us to the wrong Hampton so make sure you go the the "downtown " location for the local shops and resturant / and the harbor. Bring your walking shoes because you will be able to walk to EVERYTHING. We loved the location and ate dinner at the Marina Resturant. Perfect romantic getaway for this middle aged couple. Lovely local shop owners. The horse drawn carriage tours were not running because of the rainy weather... Maybe next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank OrangeBeach2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on business and found the hotel to be an ideal location if you want to be in the heart of historic Fernandina. While I had some concerns based on other reviews, I felt the historic aspect was one of the charms of this hotel. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The only noticable noise I ever heard was the doors from nearby rooms slamming shut (they seemed to be rather heavy doors), and the nightly train whistle, but both of those were easily endured considering the location. You can walk to all the nearby shops, restaurants, and marina from the hotel. There are small refridgerators and a microwave in the room, and the hotel serves the typical Hampton Inn breakfast daily from 6am to 10am. They have an outdoor pool on the 2nd floor which gets nice sunlight and from which you can see the marina. The parking is free, but very tight and limited in number, so it is nice that you don't necessarily have to drive for meals or to see the immediate area and potentially lose your parking spot. There are only 4 floors to this hotel, so if you are concerned about overhead noise (walking) I suggest you request a room on the 4th floor.

Room Tip: As noted before, if you don't want overhead noise, ask for a room on the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeritageSoftail14843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Everything was immaculate, from the front door, all the way through. Front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was spotless, including the solid white duvet cover. Easy self parking, which I prefer over valet. And to top it off, our room had a beautiful view of the harbor front and we could walk to everything. Even the free breakfast was better than most I've had. We could not have been more pleased.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We love Fernandina ! This Hampton Inn was an excellent choice, the other Hampton is walking distance to the "beach". I recommend staying at this Hampton Inn as it is close to the shopping, restaurants and is in the area where parking isn't easy, there is plenty of parking near the beach. I loved the staff, everyone was friendly, helpful and professional. When I asked for a pack n play the housekeeper insisted on setting it up and they even made up the bed with sheets and tucked the blanket in and folded it down ! I would say that the pack n play is a bit dated, so the sides are completely open mesh, with no tabs to make it "darker" for the baby to nap better. Ask for extra blankets/sheets so you can do that yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
661 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,429 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
2.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
507 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front

Address: 19 S 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £97 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing