We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hampton Inn Anywhere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
305 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Best Hampton Inn Anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stay at many HI's and this is hands down #1! Within walking distance to downtown,beach,restaurants,docks--everything. Clean and comfortable. Many choices for breakfast. Unheated outside pool on 2nd floor. Staff is outstanding-welcoming and helpful.
However, the best thing about this establishment is the charm. I was told the owner decorated it herself and she did a marvelous job of making it homey. The lobby has built in bookshelves with fireplace and comfy seats(Christmas stockings hung on the mantle!). A beautiful winding staircase leads to the 2nd floor breakfast room which has arched painted ceilings that look like the skies over the ocean. Bronze flocks of seagulls (sculptures) hang in flight over the tables. There are detailed decorations throughout the hotel.The exterior is also painted Caribbean colors. I so appreciate the efforts, time and expense taken to make this Hampton a special destination.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DayBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    372
    73
    20
    13
See reviews for
305
680
42
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orlando, fl
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Normally I would never review a chain hotel like a Hampton Inn because there all the same but this one had a little charm and a great location! I would love to give it a great review, like I said it's got some additional character that most business style hotels don't normally have, such as a pretty and locational appropriately decorated lobby and fire places in the jacuzzi tub rooms BUT I also have to advise there is a train 200 yards from the rooms that toots it's horn when need be; the noise did not wake me, I live in an area where trains are common but it bothered our friends that were traveling with us. So, nice hotel for a chain, good location but may be considered noisy...heads up. Hope this review helps you!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank taraOrlando_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here while we were at the Petanque tournament in November. It was fantastic. The location, free breakfast, cocktail hour, cookies and customer service was outstanding. I hope to be back in years to come. Front desk staff were always helpful and accomodating. Our room was very comfortable and the view was outstanding. We stayed in a suite and it was more than roomy and comfortable. Within walking distance to all the restaurants and shops in the area, T-Rays too. We highly recommend thsi hotel and location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keneples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Our stay was "okay." The location is great for getting into Fernandina Beach, with all of the shops and some simply fantastic restaurants. We were able to walk everywhere - even to the other side of the island. The train traffic, mentioned in other reviews, was problematic. The beds also seemed a bit hard. Also, the paper mill odor from the corrugated plant up the shore was a bit of an issue in our room. Nonetheless, it was a good "base camp" for our Amelia Island stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We had a very pleasant stay here and the location was excellent -- 1/2 block from the Palace Saloon, the oldest bar in Florida. We were within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants in Fernandina Beach. The room was comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was adequate. The welcome cookies were delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Fl
Level Contributor
228 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Don't go if you can't sleep through 4 trains blaring their horns during the night. The hotel is nice enough, great location in a quaint little town. The rooms are dated but clean, standard Hampton Inn, the breakfast buffet served in a lovely room. I overheard 2 other couples talking about the trains during the night also. Although obvious the hotel can't control the trains, I would opt to stay elsewhere the next time a bit further away from the train tracks!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank G8tors5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob R R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
I’m sorry thay you were unable to have a good nights rest with the trains going through town during the night. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the train noise. Your comments will help us as we work with the City of Fernandina to find feasible options to correct this issue. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.

Kind regards,

Bob Ramshaw, General Manager
bob.ramshaw@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great room for parents with 3 kiddos. The door between the living room area and bedroom shuts completely, which was great so that kids and I could go to bed early to get up for run, while my husband stayed up to watch a football game. Liked that breakfast opened at 6, I know another runner's hotel in same area didn't start until 7, so she missed it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#10 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Address: 19 S 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amelia Island
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing