We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Very happy with my stay at the Hampton Inn& Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front. It was located very close to everything I wanted to see. Close enough to walk to everything, in fact. The hotel was very clean, staff very friendly and it was priced well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozelstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    393
    84
    21
    13
See reviews for
334
733
46
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
599 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The location in the historic district is probably the best thing about this Hampton Inn & Suites. It's a short stroll from the waterfront, some nice shops and several restaurants and bars. There is a railroad track right beside the hotel, but that didn't bother us. As others have noted, though, if you want to go to the beach, you'll have to drive.

The rooms are pretty much standard issue Hampton Inn. We were given a slight upgrade to a larger king room, but not to a suite. As you can almost always except with Hampton, the room was clean and comfortable.

There are two downsides to this property. One is that parking is limited. We had to park in an overflow lot that was a bit sketchy after dark. The other is the Hampton Inn breakfast. One of these days, Hampton Inn is going to have to upgrade its breakfast if it is going to continue to charge rates above those in other limited service chains.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanSluderBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hotel was great! Excellent location - you can walk to everything. The beach is a short drive away (2 miles), but makes for a great jog! Hotel staff saw to our every need! They even surprised us with a bottle for champagne for our anniversary! Pool area is small, but very nice! Breakfasts were great and served in a very comfortable room. "Happy hour" Reception (week nights I think) was great! Very impressed by all that this HI had to offer! We will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Ancalla32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The location is amazing! Once we parked we walked everywhere, shops, restaurants etc. Only a few miles to a beautiful beach! The lobby is great you have to see the ceiling clock. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean. If you travel to Amelia Island this is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tomyrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice, and very cute! I loved how easy it was to just walk to town, to boats, to....whatever. You do have to drive to the other side of the island for the beach though. Oh and the staff....they cared about you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The rooms are very good and the staff are second to none. I would recommend this hotel and are to anyone, In fact I plan on taking my family back on vacation. The food in this region will take your taste buds to a whole new level.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Hubs and I went to Fernandina Beach for the wedding of a dear, dear friend. The Historic Harbor Front hotel was the hotel of choice so we booked a few nights here. We've almost always had hugely positive experiences with Hampton Inns, so we were looking forward to staying here. Upon arrival the clerks were kind and friendly. They gave us our key and told us we needed to put the parking pass in our dash. It was raining and we were ready to settle in, but Hubs was great and went back to the car. Parking was free, so we definitely didn't want our car towed by our own lack of responsibility. (Later we discovered that parking in downtown Fernandina is tough, so then this all made sense.)

We got to our room and it was a nice room. Huge jetted tub and a lovely fireplace. Unfortunately the room was not completely clean. Apparently the previous guests had had a bit of popcorn as it was under the footrest, around the nightstand and the bed, and in the chair. This made me uncomfortable as to just how clean the rest of the room might be, so we didn't use the tub this stay. I did remark to the front desk about this and she said she'd take care of it.

The second night upon returning from the wedding, we turned in ... Around 11:00. At about 1:50 AM, some other guests returned from a night on the town. They chose to stand outside our corner room to talk, laugh, and yuck it up a bit. I finally went to the door and very politely asked them to move to the gathering room. The did, but then ended up outside our corner room again. I called to the desk and they said they'd take care of it. Well, for the next 30 minutes or so doors were slamming in the halls and people were continuing to cut up. It finally quieted down ... and then the train came through. I think by now it was about 4:45 AM or so. While I realize the hotel is not responsible for the train; it contributed to a rough night overall. Suffice it to say we did not get a comfortable night's sleep.

We did however experience breakfast in the lovely gathering room. The food was probably the best it could be, but something was all over the floor and it made my shoes kind of sticky on the floor. (The second morning the stickiness was gone.)

The overall location of the hotel is great. It is the only hotel in the area and from etchings in the hallways, appeared to have been the original Historic Fernandina Beach Hotel... More recently converted to a Hampton Inn. We loved being walking distance to all of the great shops and restaurants as well as the Marina.

Would I stay here again? Yes. Would I recommend it to a friend? Yes. Can I give it above an Average rating for this stay? I wish I could, but I just can't this time. I know there were several things working against this visit, but the hotel had a few problems as well. Maybe next time it will be better.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodygirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
654 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,423 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
397 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Address: 19 S 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing