We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Our family of five stayed two nights over Christmas when visiting for a family reunion. The hotel had a nice atmosphere. We got a suite, tidy with a lot of space. Or as tidy as it can get with all these wall-to-wall carpets that every hotel room in the US seems to be having. Well working internet access, though not wireless. Breakfast was nice, with lots of fresh fruit salad. We all lacked things other than jam or peanut butter on the bread. Is it really only in europe that one eats cheese, ham or turkey on the bread?
Over all, a very nice experience though.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank IanvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,462 - 1,468 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2009

Overall we enjoyed our stay. The location is excellent. The staff however could not be described as friendly. The manager appears to be attempting to micro-manage the employees rather than empowering them the meet the customer needs. Our maid routinely forgot something; whether it was to clean and restock the coffee, to vacuum the rug, to leave clean towels. On one night during our stay there was a wedding reception in the cafe. No attempt was made by the management to inform guests that this reception would be occurring depriving guests of their use of this area which is immediately next to the pool. It should also be noted that this hotel is converting to an all non-smoking hotel in 2009. This may or may not be important to your decision to stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank naranja10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in Sept 2008. We were very satisfied with the hotel itself and the staff was excellent. The best part was the location. The hotel is in the historic district with a view of the harbor. We walked to sightsee in the historic district and to eat all of our meals. We could walk across the street for the ferry and boat tours. We would also sit in rocking chairs on the pier and have a glass of wine and watch all of the boats.
We will definitely do this again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SavannahJpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We stayed here two nights to celebrate our first anniversary. I selected the hotel based on the great reviews it received, and I can say it lived up to its reviews! The location is ideal for walking to shops and dining -- try Joe's 2nd Street Bistro which is right next door. It was nice to go back to the hotel with our packages and then return to shopping empty handed, or to go out later in the evening and not worry about driving.

We stayed in a king suite which had a living room area with a pull-out sofa, recliner and TV, and a kitchen area with a desk, fridge, sink, and microwave. There is a door separating the living/kitchen area and the bedroom. Our room was on the second floor which is where the pool is and where the breakfast area is. It was handy to be on the same floor as these amenities. The pool is open from 10 am to 8 pm so noise wasn't a problem. I enjoyed using the "grand staircase" to come down to the lobby -- made me feel like I was staying at a much more expensive hotel.

I would definitely stay here again! Excellent location, service, and accommodations. The only complaint we had was the cable TV in the bedroom would come and go and make static noises.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Disneybride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

Great price, beautiful location within walking distance to everything in historic downtown (and right next door to the Visitor's Center), convenient (and secure) parking, absolutely wonderful staff that go the extra mile to assure you are comfortable...also a pool, free breakfast, and lots of extras (like yummy cookies at the front desk).

It's rare that I give a location an "excellent" rating, but this place truly shines! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SafeTravelsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

Just what we hoped for. A wonderful older hotel with an extremely nice staff. Cindi welcomed us and was kind enough to let us check in early. Our room was well equipped and clean, however the furniture was old and did not match. The bed and linens were comfortable. The towels needed upgraded. Breakfast was nice with fresh fruit cocktail,etc. The hotel was packed on the Labor Day weekend, but everything flowed perfectly. Great location for touring the town and close to all the restaurants and stores.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Easternview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

This is a chain hotel that feels like a boutique hotel. The lobby has a circular stair case and interesting ceiling art. The check in was nice and perhaps because they knew it was my birthday, they gave a lovely suite with a nice view. The rooms were big. Our sitting room and kitchen included a tv, fridge, dishwasher and we could have cooked all our meals here. (we didn't) The bedroom had 2 Queens, very comfortable beds, a second TV and a well designed bathroom with sink in the outer area. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each day in a sunny dining room. The pool is not large but it was great for the children. The lounge chairs around the pool allowed me to sit comfortably while my daughter swam. The service was just right at all times. i spent my birthday at the beach and we had a great dinner at the Crab House which is about 5 min walk away. The town is unlike any other. It is beautiful and historic but is not just one t-shirt shop after another. It feels like a real community and the historic buildings are special. My only complaint was that the hotel did not sell any out of town newspapers which we would have liked. Otherwise, this is a great hotel especially at this low price.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janieontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
677 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,448 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
409 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front

Address: 19 S 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £103 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Amelia Island
Hampton Inn Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing