We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I eat here every week!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halftime Sports Bar & Grill

Halftime Sports Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Sports, Pub
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I eat here every week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I am in Fernandina every week and I make sure that I eat here at least once. I bbrought my wife up there this past weekend to have a bite to eat and have a beverage and she raved about the place also. Great beer and wine selection. If you like variety in food specials, craft beer selections and you love to be taken care of, then this is the place for you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Key-Vaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Enlightened Hospitality & Consistant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Try the special. It doesn't matter what it is. It is always tasty and well thought out. This is not your cookie cutter sports bar. Jon and his staff go out of thier way to make you feel welcome. It's the only place on the island that the locals go consistently!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FeastLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

This place is so small that you can easily pass it, but you really shouldn't. The food is amazing. The best burger I've eaten in a long time. The trivia was a blast, just make sure you get there really early because the place is packed by the time trivia starts. I'll definately be back here again and again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HealingAngel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

So yummy! Great service.

I absolutely HATE sports bars! I don't drink. I don't watch sports. I hate being around loud sports nuts!.... The food was SO worth it though. I will definitely be back... I'll just have to strategically evade the crowds. Lol

If you love sports or just great food Half Time is a must try!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anniejward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food / Good Sports / Good Beers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Have you ever been travelling when your favorite sports team is playing that day/night (but not on the T.V. in your hotel) and you haven’t a clue where to catch the game? Well, if you are on Amelia Island (FL) you head to Half Time Sports Bar. This small and unpretentious place houses fifteen (15) flat screen, high definition TVs, along with sound boxes that allow you to listen to the game you want – what a treat. The place carries most sports packages so if you are looking for NASCAR, or a college or professional game it will most likely be on one of the screens at Half Time. And it’s not just US popular sports that adorn the screens. Soccer, lacrosse, rugby – all can be seen here.

But sports are not the only reason to go to Half Time. Owners Jon and Bretta Walker have put together a tasty menu that befits a sports bar. This is a beer and wine establishment. Wines are OK but there is a selection of 12 draft beers and another 30+ bottled beers. Seven of the draft beers are seasonally changed and include selections that are local or craft. Ask for a taste of any of them if you are unfamiliar with the beer.

There are no fancy serving plates here – plastic webbed dishes with waxed paper and paper towels for napkins are reminiscent of old-time drive up restaurants. The fries that come with the sandwiches are crisp and seasoned with a bit of kick – but not too spicy. If you don't like fries, how about tater tots! Get them as a side or loaded as an appetizer with pulled pork, cheese and more. For those of you wanting a “stadium” experience hot dogs with a choice of toppings are offered. But my favorite are the wings, boneless wings or chicken tenders with you choice of sauce. The boom-boom sauce, mango habanero, Cajun ranch, Buffalo, Eho (that would be real spicy) are all made in-house and are excellent. But there is balance in the menu that includes an Italian Chicken salad, fish tacos, chicken tacos and a marvelous burger. Plus check out Facebook for their daily specials. The special on Saturday - a egg, bacon, ham and cheese grilled sandwich served with a side for $8.50 - was unbelievable.

In addition to watching sports Half Time hosts trivia night on Wednesday from 7 to 9 P.M. – but come early as this small place fills up. There is Wi-Fi access here, Gold Tee Live (Golf) and an old-fashioned table shuffle board.

Don’t be intimidated by the looks of the small building with a lack of windows and a covered front patio. While it is hard on your eyes when you first enter from the outdoors the décor is done in light oak and the high-top tables and chairs are very comfortable. The bathrooms, each with their own television, are done in stone and are very clean – always! A nice change from other sports bars that I’ve visited.

If you are looking for sports TV while on Amelia Island visit Half Time. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halftime Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Halftime Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing