We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good neighbourhood place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halftime Sports Bar & Grill

Halftime Sports Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Sports, Pub
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good neighbourhood place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We wanted to catch an afternoon game. The place looked pretty basic from the outside and I was skeptical. We were pleasantly surprised. The usual pub fare but the loaded nachos were delicious with fresh green peppers, tomatoes and lots of chicken with sour cream and cheese. I do not drink beer but my husband's beer (ipa) was on tap and very fresh. Usually at sports bars the wine is limited and tastes very stale. Not so here. They had the usual plus sauvignon blanc and even malbecs. Even better the wine was fresh! The mozzarella stickz were delicious. Staff was friendly. Place was packed but people were even standing at tables. It is that good.

Helpful?
Thank globalnomad12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly & Comfortable Neighborhood Sports Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

A hard to find, unless you know where you are going or stumble upon it. A very nice staff and John generally showed genuine sincerity in serving customers. A great place to eat wings and have a cold beer while watching sports. Bar area and small dining area. A lot of different type of people, and a good amount of friendly locals.

I was traveling for business and eating alone, and that was no problem. I enjoyed some good spots bantering with some of the bar customers and it was all done in good fun, and it went both ways.

I will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMan890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
438 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Cold Beer, TV's and Football”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

What more could you want? This place was small right off the Main Street, A1A, heading toward Centre Street in Fernandina Beach. It was perfect place to eat an awesome Angus burger and drink cold beer while watching some good college football. There were numerous TV's and the service was perfect as they specifically asked if interested in any particular game.
Good burger, good beer....enjoy Halftime!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bandit2118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I eat here every week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I am in Fernandina every week and I make sure that I eat here at least once. I bbrought my wife up there this past weekend to have a bite to eat and have a beverage and she raved about the place also. Great beer and wine selection. If you like variety in food specials, craft beer selections and you love to be taken care of, then this is the place for you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Key-Vaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Enlightened Hospitality & Consistant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Try the special. It doesn't matter what it is. It is always tasty and well thought out. This is not your cookie cutter sports bar. Jon and his staff go out of thier way to make you feel welcome. It's the only place on the island that the locals go consistently!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FeastLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halftime Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Halftime Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing