We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best experience ever for our first experience with a B&B.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights for a weekend get away. David and Julie were the best hostesses. The meals at breakfast were fantastic. We could not have asked for anything better than the service at the Blue Heron. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tpage829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are so pleased you so enjoyed your first experience at a B&B! We would love to have you return again this summer or fall! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I had a two night stay in the Blue Heron Inn on our way to Savannah, I have to say it was our first experience of a bed and breakfast inn, and we were not disappointed! Our hosts David and Julie were exceptional in their welcome and so helpful with information on where to dine etc. They let us ride bikes that they had, and we went, on their recommendation, to see Fort Clinch which is in the area. The bedroom was very tastefully decorated(as is the whole house) and very comfortable. The breakfasts were to die for !! To say Julie is a good cook is really an understatement!! You can tell this couple are passionate about their Inn and it reflects in the whole experience. We would highly recommend staying here if you get the opportunity. Thanks again David and Julie great job!!

Karen and Kevin Ireland

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

You guys are no longer "newbies"! We are so glad you selected us to try out the inn and bed and breakfast experience! It was a pleasure getting to know you and appreciate your kind comments about Julie's cooking! Take care and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

If you like ambiance, comfort, peaceful relaxation, elegance, pampering, excellent food, fellowship, adventure and exercise, this is the place for you! It really has it all. David and Julie are very special and they bend over backwards to please. They treat you like family. All the previous reviews are spot on! Full, gormet breakfasts every morning and gormet restaurants galore within walking distance. The scoop of orange sherbet in the orange juice and the marinated shrimp cocktail for happy hour were just one of many special treats. The pool and surrounding gardens offer a place of peacful respite. We love the house and location - so much interesting history right near a wide, flat, gorgeous beach. Do not miss the Amelia Museum of History, a horse and buggy ride and trolley tour to view and hear about the many beautiful historic homes in the area, the boat tour to Cumberland Island where wild horses roam, a stroll down historic downtown area to shop, get a massage and pedicure at elegant Magna's salon, then top it off with the best fudge and ice cream at Fantastic Fudge. We stopped in nearby St. Mary's to visit a submarine musueum where we viewed an engaging and informative movie and looked through a real periscope. I highly recommend this B&B for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are so glad you had a great time with us! Thanks for sharing the submarine info with us as well - we plan to take Keith up there this summer. Hope to see you two back again before too long! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at Blue Heron on our way to and from Savannah and could not have picked a better place! From the cozy and comfortable room to the gourmet breakfasts this place was great. We especially loved the social/happy hour on the porch where we not only met other guests we also enjoyed the company of the inn owners/inn keepers. They make you feel that their house is your house! Nothing is missing at this place!

Amelia Island is a very charming place to visit. The downtown area is very quaint and with recommendations from Julie, we had two really great dinners. Espana was wonderful from the tapas to the paella. The red sangria and the Valencia paella was better than any we had in Spain. They even made mine minus the mussels since I cannot eat them. For a more romantic anniversary dinner we chose another recommendation from Julie, Le Clos. Everything from the house made Caesar salad to the fish special to the pork shank was just superb!

We will definitely be repeat customers to all of these places if we find ourselves in Amelia Island again!

Room Tip: Great for a romantic getaway
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We went to Le Clos for dinner the other evening and had a great meal as well. Next time add Bar Zin to your dinning experience.
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Julie, the owner, is the sweetest most helpful women. It was our first time in Amelia Island and she had so many recommendations! The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was incredible, such a good start to each day. I'm definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for the kind words and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love to recommend our favorite local places with such diversity to eat and shop. We hope you will write a review for them as well please.
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We travelled to Fernandina Beach to escape the nasty winter weather and loved every minute of our stay. I can't say enough positive things about the Blue Heron Inn and the innkeepers, Julia and David. The bed was very comfortable with wonderful sheets. It was too cold to swim while we were there, but there is a pool on the property and there are lounge chairs and tables around the pool. I'm sure when the weather is nice, it is a great place to sit and relax after a day touring Fernandina Beach. There are also beach cruisers available to use - we took advantage of those and toured the area via bike. The breakfasts were phenomenal and the happy hours were lots of fun too. Julia and David have achieved the perfect balance of being gracious hosts without being too intrusive. I also appreciated all of the little extra touches such as the fresh baked cookies, snacks, Keurig, and bottled water available.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We love having our guests escape to warmer climates this time of year. When it is warmer we always like to have happy hour out by the pool. We thank you for your kind words and really enjoyed meeting you both. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Blue Heron was beautiful with every detail attended to. The room was lovely. The inn overall was beautiful with fresh flowers and lovely furnishings. The innkeeper was wonderfully engaging. The breakfast was perfect. We could not ask for more.

Room Tip: Fernadina Beach is a charming small town with great shops and resturants
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom1394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Owner at Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Details are what make our guest feel pampered and special. Thanks for noticing them. We encourage guests to give us ideas on ways to make your stay even better.
See you Soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
673 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,429 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,498 reviews
7.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
7.9 mi away
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Re...
#7 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island

Address: 102 S 7th St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price Range: £106 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise awaits you at the Blue Heron Inn on Amelia Island. Experience the warmth and elegant comfort of a 19th century home transformed into a beautiful Florida Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing