We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms BUT not on the beach!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Hilton Head, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice rooms BUT not on the beach!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2008

My boyfriend and I run a very busy business and have little time to get-a-way!! We booked this hotel because it said "closest to beach on the Island." It's NOT on the beach it's across the street. Which was pretty disappointing. BUT we did book their Jacuzzi terrace suite which was really nice. It had two flat screen TV's a 60 inch and a 50 inch in front of the bed and a really nice two person jacuzzi, with a separate stand up shower. For the price it was worth it. I just think your slightly mislead on the ocean front hotel not being ocean front. The hotel was clean and we did enjoy the room, just not lugging the beach stuff across the street. We would stay here again now that we know what to expect.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank wavewatcher00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    284
    135
    53
    27
See reviews for
189
330
29
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We recently booked a number of rooms for guests attending our sons wedding. Everyone (including the bride and groom who stayed there on Saturday Night) commented on how nice the rooms were and how helpful the staff was. Well done Amelia Hotel, we will be back!

  • Liked — Staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VivOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2008

We were disappointed when we arrived to find that the hotel was across the street from the beach, and from our balcony the view was spoiled by buildings, street lights and electrical wires. And the traffic noise drowned out the ocean. So if you're looking for a romantic oceanside room/balcony, this isn't the hotel for you. If you check out their website, it is misleading/confusing, stating both "on the beach" and "86 steps from the beach." What would YOU infer from the name "Amelia Hotel at the Beach"?

Also, they proudly claim on the website to have "handicap rooms." Well, not only is the term "handicap[ped]" offensive to people with disabilities (which a good web designer should know), but their accessible rooms did not meet ADA guidelines, with the electronic keys too high on the wall for a person in a wheelchair. But we must give them credit for trying, I suppose.

Issues: on our floor (2nd), for 2 days we were there the pop machine was always empty, the washer/dryer was broken, and the ice machine was out of ice. We also came home at 7pm from a day out to find our room in the same condition as we left it; so a housekeeping supervisor had to come do a quick cleaning of the room while we waited on the balcony. And when we checked out, we were not asked the typical and expected "How was your stay?" (maybe they were having a bad weekend)

Not that the Amelia Hotel "at the Beach" is awful -- far from it. Our room was spacious and clean, and the large LCD TV was nice. The double-sheet the bed, and the jaccuzi tub was a nice touch. Overall, not a bad deal for the money. I would recommend more for families than couples.

  • Liked — large room
  • Disliked — view
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyCouple8803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2008

Hotel was lovely, service was generally excellent. The pool area was rather plain, but who needs a pool when the beach is across the street? TV and bed and room overall were great (jacuzzi tub too!), room service was a little quirky (no TP replacement until we asked for it), but fine. I would absolutely go back or recommend to anyone traveling to the area. Breakfast was definitely above average as well.

  • Liked — TV, Bed, Bathtub, Beach
  • Disliked — Quirky Room Service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stitch1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2008

My family wanted a quick, affordable beach getaway for the Memorial Day Weekend, which we secured at the Amelia Hotel at the Beach.

As we read on Trip Advisor, the staff tries to accommodate all requests; the hotel was recently renovated, very clean, comfortable; and the free breakfast a nice touch.

This noted, the hotel lacks character, i.e, room decor is bland and the pool is located in the parking lot with few chairs provided. Internet service is terrible.

Although the beach is conveniently located across the street, it was disappointing to see the caravan of SUV's, pick-up trucks and jeeps lining the beach.

All in all, a pleasant, affordable, beach stay, although we were hoping for a more upscale property.

  • Liked — Proximity to beach
  • Disliked — Internet, pool, lack of soundproofing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Florida4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2008

I would not hesitate to book a yearly vacation at this hotel. The most comfortable beds in the world. Helpful staff. Generous Continental breakfast (sausage and eggs) SOOOOOO close to the beach.

  • Liked — so close to beach
  • Disliked — going bk home
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLover95Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2008

Stayed 2 nights and enjoyed this hotel. The location is very good and just a few steps from the beach. The 42" TV was nice and the balcony had a good view, but the A/C outside blew hot air. The bed was very comfortable and the hot continental breakfast was good. I recommend this hotel. The staff is friendly and acomodating. The pool is not very nice, but clean.

  • Liked — Location is very good
  • Disliked — The Pool is not very nice.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Hotel at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Property: Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Address: 1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amelia Hotel at the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia Hotel at the Beach on Amelia Island features 88 guestrooms, including two Terrace Suites with whirlpool and balcony featuring partial views of the beach and ocean. We offer outdoor pool, complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi Internet. The famous Amelia Island/Fernandina beaches are just steps from our front doors, and we are just minutes to the historical Fernandina downtown area, and of course, our renowned Fernandina Beach golf courses. We also have facilities for small meetings, Beach Weddings and family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amelia Hotel at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Hotel
Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Hotel At The Beach Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing