We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Amelia Inn(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Motel(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge(Fernandina Beach)
US$306
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Amelia Island(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort(Fernandina Beach)
US$448
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florida House Inn(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$555
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$509
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveller rating
262
317
151
62
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
317
151
62
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsslidersterrace suitewet baracross streetocean viewan older hotelroom was largehot breakfastrefrigerator and microwavelocation is greatfree breakfastdairy queencookiesrestaurants within walking distanceyogurta great place to staythe staff was friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 825 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I would come back there again. The ocean and a great restaurant are right across the street. Also a local trolley picks you up at the hotel, too. They also have a small bar in the hotel. Our room was HUGE with an ocean view. The bed was comfy and all was clean. They even loan you beach chairs to use. The breakfast was adequate and had all the basics. Great place and people!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 228/328 or higher to get a good look at the ocean from that end of the hotel. The restaurant across the street does block some views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shay_Shay70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

It was nice to read your positive review. I am glad our hotel and staff were able to give you the great getaway you deserve. Please come and visit again. We would love to have you back.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Curb appeal was pretty good. Was clean but very worn carpets. Sorry but the beds were way to soft/saggy for my back. Free breakfast was bland and limp, so stick with the cereal, yogurt or fruit. Staff was very friendly and very helpful as was cleaning crew. We only had one complaint and they worked on it and fixed it like we were the only ones in the hotel. Big plus for that! It's rare that I've gotten a great bed while traveling so mentioning the above might be unimportant. As usual I just move to the middle of the bed. Didn't use the pool but it looked clean and uncluttered. There is a small (1 treadmill, 1 stationary bike and 1 elliptical) workout room. Did the job and stayed in a/c so no complaint. Almost up to date equipment. Very doable. That covers what jumped out at me. Overall was very happy and will go back. Rates were great. Oh yeah, its also far enough away we didn't get caught up in tourist traffic. Great location and across from great seafood at Cedar River. Had no kids with me so don't know what they would do. Free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. As for our carpets, they are being updated in the off season. The carpets see a whole lot of love through the summer months with kids, surf boards, coolers, sand, etc...We always do some upgrades when it slows down, and it is most certainly on our short list this year. We hope you come and visit again. Rates during the off season are great, and the island is quiet. We look forward to hosting your next visit.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed two nights in October 2013. Hotel is within a short walk of the beach (gorgeous sunrise) and reasonably priced < $80 + $10 of state/county taxes. The building is old and showing its age: frayed carpeting, rusting doors and staircases (hey, it's the beach), plugged up sink, spotty hot water, broken furniture, burned out light bulbs, sporadic internet connection. The staff does its best to correct problems but there is clearly no checking of rooms before the customer gets there and it's up to the guests to surface problems. The breakfast is standard fare, watery scrambled eggs, sausages, biscuits, cereals, baked goods. Overall the hotel is clean and has more staff available than the typical one-person runs all Hampton or Holiday Inn Express. I would recommend this hotel. It's a fairly typical Florida beach hotel.

Room Tip: Don't pay a premium for beach side rooms. The beach is across the street behind other buildings, so I am not sure you would get a better view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaxFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologize you had so many issues with your room. I will share your experience with our housekeeping supervisor, so that hopefully this doesn't happen again. We will be working on renovations in our off season, so please come and stay with us again. We would really love another chance to give you a different impression.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Large clean room friendly staff. Across the street from the beach. Will be back!!! Restaurant across street ok for drinks. We arrived late for checkin and had no problems. Centrally located to a nice beach shoping area.

Room Tip: Expedia saved time at checkin
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back and visit soon! Off season rates are great, and the beach is empty. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I escorted 114 members of our beachcomber club to this hotel and it was one of the best hotel experiences we've had in our travels. Ms. McIntyre and her staff prepared for our arrival well in advance and, as a result, were able to usher us to our rooms within minutes of our arrival; it couldn't have gone smoother. The rooms were beautiful, well-equipped, and comfortable. While not oceanfront, the only thing between our beds and the waves was a restaurant--Slider's Grill--whose outside decks we thoroughly enjoyed. Our hotel served a good "hot and healthy breakfast" each morning in a pleasant setting and also greeted our group upon arrival with fresh baked cookies. We also enjoyed the alcoholic refreshments they had available. The hotel staff even offered to store some ice cream for us that would otherwise have gone to waste. Our members had fun playing games and socializing in the hospitality rooms Ms. McIntyre made available. We will definitely return there for future trips.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonq5009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you so very much for your kind review. We absolutely loved your group! Everyone was so warm and wonderful, and seemed to enjoy themselves completely. Please come back and see us soon. We look forward to it!

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews