We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable place to stay.”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My mother-in-law came to visit and could not climb the stairs up into our beach home. She stayed at the Amelia Hotel and really enjoyed herself. The room was very clean, comfortable and the staff was very helpful and sweet. We had trouble getting her to come with us for breakfast because she said she had a nice breakfast at the Hotel. Thank you very much for taking such great care of her. She already wants to come back and stay at her Hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda1035B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you so very much for the kind review. We try to treat all of our guests like they are at home, so it is nice to hear we succeeded in your mother's case.
We have many locals whose families stay with us while they visit. It warms our heart to know that we are appreciated.
We look forward to her next visit. Thank you again for the vote of confidence.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    291
    139
    53
    28
See reviews for
200
334
29
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Penn, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

The lobby is nice and clean. That's about all the nice things I can say. Do not get suckered into "Ocean View". It is a scam. You can see the ocean and you can also see the dirty restaurant that is actually on the beach. This Hotel is not on the beach. The hallways are dingy and dirty. I posted pictures of dirtybeds in the stairwell.
The hot and healthy breakfast was neither hot nor healthy. The staff was very rude. The man who checked us out on Jan. 27 should not even be in customer service. To put it one way he was just not a nice man. There are other places to go in FL. Save your money don't stop here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Luckyinlove2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We apologize your stay was not up to your standards. We do not advertise as being on the beach. We are across the street from the beach. We advertise our property as just that, across the street. Our ocean views are partial ocean views because of our location, and in all descriptions they are defined as partial ocean views.
I am saddened to hear of your experience with our staff, because as you can read from other reviews, almost everyone finds them friendly and helpful.
Our breakfast contains eggs, sausage and biscuits, made fresh and served hot each day, as well as yogurt, fresh fruit, and other options. There is something for everyone.
Yes, there was a mattress stored in our back stairwell as we waited for the wet weather to cease so we could move it out. We are actively doing updates in our off season, and we did replace some mattresses. That is a good thing, and unfortunately for us, Mother Nature sometimes does not co-operate.
I wish you would have taken the opportunity to speak with management about your experience. I have had no contact from anyone experiencing the issues that you state here on Tripadvisor. Again we do apologize that your stay was anything less than satisfactory.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My parents stayed for several days to get away from our crowded house here on Amelia Island. The proximity to the beach and continental breakfast made me jealous. Now I send all my overflow guests here if possible. The off-season rate were very reasonable. The location is central to all the attractions on the island.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icosahedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks for the great review! We have many families that stay with us as they visit loved ones on the island. So glad your family enjoyed themselves while here. We look forward to hosting more of your family and friends in the future.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel has it all;For the price,accommodations,location, and friendly staff you can't go wrong.I base my hotel experience combining the value I received for the money spent. The hotel was very clean, the staff professional, the rooms were updated and spacious, and the beds comfortable. The hotel grounds were modern, clean, and well maintained. the complimentary breakfast was nice. offering both hot and cold choices. The ocean can be seen from most rooms but all rooms do not have a balcony. You can sit on the front porch and view the ocean or walk 2 minutes to reach the ocean waters. A nice area for a walk and just a couple miles from the historic harbor center. We will be sure to stay here if we return.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room or a balcony. It is worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Public Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review.. Please come and stay with us again. The island has festivals and happenings throughout the year, or just relax on the beach! So many things to do.
We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This resort is clean staff is amazing and across from the beach! It is safe and affordable. I would highly recommend this resort! The staff was very accommodating as i requested a first floor room. The breakfast was more than enough. The beds werecomfortable and hallways were clean. This resort has all the amenities of ocean front resorts but at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l7kol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again. We try to offer you all the amenities of a resort, without charging resort prices. I am pleased we were able to give you an enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Amelia Hotel for 3 nights. The hotel itself is old but very well kept. Very clean and neat. The location is across the street from the beach, but don't expect a view. The restaurant, Sliders blocks the view. You can see the ocean, but no view to enjoy. To get to the ocean, just cross the street. If you are coming to Amelia Island for the Historical District, it will be about a 10-15 minute drive. Not a problem, but not that close. There are a few restaurants within walking distance other than Sliders. Our room was on the second floor facing the road. I feared it would be noisy due to the roundabout and traffic. Very quiet in the room. We never heard any noise. The room was with a very comfortable king bed and large flat screen TV. The room is large with a large bathroom. The free breakfast was very good. Your choices are muffins, waffles, French toast, (to be put in the toaster), bagels, grits, scrambled eggs, sausage, and a small variety of cereal. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and juice is also available. There is plenty if room to sit, about 8 tables. Very friendly staff too. We enjoyed our stay and I would suggest it as a possibility for a place to stay while on Amelia Island.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Suetwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your time on the island, and at the hotel. Please come and stay again soon.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We have vacationed at the Amelia Hotel twice, first in August 2013 and second time in October 2013. Both times we found the hotel an excellent value. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable and very clean. The room amenities are excellent as well, but above all the front desk staff -including the front desk manager - are very inviting, polite, and helpful, When going to the dining area for the HOT breakfast, we were greeted with a sincere, "Good Morning!" Even the maids are polite and cheerful. We can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff, the homeyness of the hotel, and the value this hotel affords. Sure, we could have spent more at one of the pricier hotels but we would have just been paying for the name. Besides, there are some qualities in a hotel that money can't buy and the Amelia Hotel has those qualities - qualities that are really priceless!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arizonasaguaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is always great to hear when our staff has fulfilled their duty of making our guests feel special. We really strive to give everyone that stays with us, the feeling of coming home to the island. We really appreciate that you acknowledge our efforts to provide you with a memorable experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#6 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
394 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Hotel at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Property: Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Address: 1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amelia Hotel at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia Hotel at the Beach on Amelia Island features 88 guestrooms, including two Terrace Suites with whirlpool and balcony featuring partial views of the beach and ocean. We offer outdoor pool, complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi Internet. The famous Amelia Island/Fernandina beaches are just steps from our front doors, and we are just minutes to the historical Fernandina downtown area, and of course, our renowned Fernandina Beach golf courses. We also have facilities for small meetings, Beach Weddings and family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amelia Hotel at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Hotel
Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Hotel At The Beach Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing