We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amelia Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amelia Hotel”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is not a fancy hotel and its a bit tired in the main areas of the hotel. However, our room and bed were comfortable. There is a frig and microwave in the room. We actually had a view of the ocean, which was very nice. We also were directly across the street from a decent bar called Sliders and the public beach. They had the typical breakfast bar which is good in a pinch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drakem55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review. I do hope you come back once our new flooring is complete. We are very excited about the improvements that are being made around the hotel. I look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    295
    141
    56
    27
See reviews for
204
339
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at the Amelia Hotel at the Beach and I'm not sure what I was expecting but maybe something a little more updated. The carpet in the hallways is very worn and faded; the rooms look like they've seen some piece-meal updates but it just wasn't the quality we were expecting.

The location is great, across the street from the beach. The support staff are excellent, and really responsive to requests. They're trying hard - I have to give them credit for their hard work.

One area in particular I just couldn't get over was the linens. The bed linens were poor at best. There was no fitted sheet or mattress pad. And the sheet put on the mattress must have been a queen size (instead of king) because it kept coming up in the middle of the night, exposing the mattress. No duvet cover over the comforter - just sheets again and those came off of it easily too. Just doesn't feel very sanitary.

Also, seemed somewhat stingy with bath towels, provided one per person - no extras and sometimes we didn't get hand towels. Not the biggest deal but sometimes inconvenient if you just need an extra towel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RL-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry we did not meet your standards. You are correct about our carpeting, and in fact it is being replaced this week. We will have new carpeting on all three floors, as well as some other upgrades. The towel situation is distressing, and for future reference you can always call the front desk for anything extra you need, and we will happily bring it to you. I have shared with housekeeping your issues with the towels, but we can find no room that is without a mattress pad. If you don't mind calling to let me know which room you stayed in, I can follow up on that as well.

I hope you do come back to stay with us again. We really appreciate your input, and are always working to improve our guest's stay. We would love to have another chance to give you a different impression.

Sincerely,
K. Bennett
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We came to attend a memorial for a friend who used to live on the island. The hotel allowed us to check in early since our flight arrived earlier and we needed to change to attend the memorial. We found the hotel's location to be excellent! Across the street from the beach which is calming even when it's a bit chilly still in northern Florida. It's also across from a seafood restaurant with good food and service. The hotel also serves a good morning breakfast and has a good size refrigerator and microwave in the room. You can walk to stores and many other places since many are located across the street and down the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the next visit will be warmer, and you can enjoy all the island has to offer. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My mother-in-law came to visit and could not climb the stairs up into our beach home. She stayed at the Amelia Hotel and really enjoyed herself. The room was very clean, comfortable and the staff was very helpful and sweet. We had trouble getting her to come with us for breakfast because she said she had a nice breakfast at the Hotel. Thank you very much for taking such great care of her. She already wants to come back and stay at her Hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda1035B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you so very much for the kind review. We try to treat all of our guests like they are at home, so it is nice to hear we succeeded in your mother's case.
We have many locals whose families stay with us while they visit. It warms our heart to know that we are appreciated.
We look forward to her next visit. Thank you again for the vote of confidence.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Penn, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

The lobby is nice and clean. That's about all the nice things I can say. Do not get suckered into "Ocean View". It is a scam. You can see the ocean and you can also see the dirty restaurant that is actually on the beach. This Hotel is not on the beach. The hallways are dingy and dirty. I posted pictures of dirtybeds in the stairwell.
The hot and healthy breakfast was neither hot nor healthy. The staff was very rude. The man who checked us out on Jan. 27 should not even be in customer service. To put it one way he was just not a nice man. There are other places to go in FL. Save your money don't stop here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Luckyinlove2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We apologize your stay was not up to your standards. We do not advertise as being on the beach. We are across the street from the beach. We advertise our property as just that, across the street. Our ocean views are partial ocean views because of our location, and in all descriptions they are defined as partial ocean views.
I am saddened to hear of your experience with our staff, because as you can read from other reviews, almost everyone finds them friendly and helpful.
Our breakfast contains eggs, sausage and biscuits, made fresh and served hot each day, as well as yogurt, fresh fruit, and other options. There is something for everyone.
Yes, there was a mattress stored in our back stairwell as we waited for the wet weather to cease so we could move it out. We are actively doing updates in our off season, and we did replace some mattresses. That is a good thing, and unfortunately for us, Mother Nature sometimes does not co-operate.
I wish you would have taken the opportunity to speak with management about your experience. I have had no contact from anyone experiencing the issues that you state here on Tripadvisor. Again we do apologize that your stay was anything less than satisfactory.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My parents stayed for several days to get away from our crowded house here on Amelia Island. The proximity to the beach and continental breakfast made me jealous. Now I send all my overflow guests here if possible. The off-season rate were very reasonable. The location is central to all the attractions on the island.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icosahedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Guest Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks for the great review! We have many families that stay with us as they visit loved ones on the island. So glad your family enjoyed themselves while here. We look forward to hosting more of your family and friends in the future.

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel has it all;For the price,accommodations,location, and friendly staff you can't go wrong.I base my hotel experience combining the value I received for the money spent. The hotel was very clean, the staff professional, the rooms were updated and spacious, and the beds comfortable. The hotel grounds were modern, clean, and well maintained. the complimentary breakfast was nice. offering both hot and cold choices. The ocean can be seen from most rooms but all rooms do not have a balcony. You can sit on the front porch and view the ocean or walk 2 minutes to reach the ocean waters. A nice area for a walk and just a couple miles from the historic harbor center. We will be sure to stay here if we return.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room or a balcony. It is worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H, Public Relations Manager at Amelia Hotel at the Beach, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review.. Please come and stay with us again. The island has festivals and happenings throughout the year, or just relax on the beach! So many things to do.
We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Management Amelia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernandina Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
397 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Hotel at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Property: Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Address: 1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amelia Hotel at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia Hotel at the Beach on Amelia Island features 88 guestrooms, including two Terrace Suites with whirlpool and balcony featuring partial views of the beach and ocean. We offer outdoor pool, complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi Internet. The famous Amelia Island/Fernandina beaches are just steps from our front doors, and we are just minutes to the historical Fernandina downtown area, and of course, our renowned Fernandina Beach golf courses. We also have facilities for small meetings, Beach Weddings and family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amelia Hotel at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Hotel
Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Hotel At The Beach Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing