We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Central Location, across the street from the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Central Location, across the street from the beach”
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Very nice room. The bed was extremely comfortable. We had a good view of the ocean from our second story room.

The staff was very nice, and helpful. The included breakfasts has a good selection of choices.

We stayed during the off season and were able to hear music from the bar across the street. Noise might be a problem during a busier time of year. Overall a very nice place and a good value. We will visit again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagomagpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    289
    137
    53
    27
See reviews for
195
333
29
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leesville,SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The staff were great. They called us two days before hand to confirm (pleasant sweet lady) .We arrived a little early and our room wasn't ready but it was ready within 15 minutes. We received a card from the staff and were greeted with smiles. The beds were the best and the housekeepers kept everything clean. It's not on the beach but you do have a view. The only suggestion I have is the pool is in the parking lot and it was cold in May. So maybe have an indoor pool or heated. But I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — the pool
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

I would say the main problem was some of the staff which are not friendly at all. Drew who is a woman works the afternoon shift and she was absolutely wonderful. There was another man ho worked the day shift and he never smiled, did not greet you or anythign when you came down for breakfast, just a snob! For having a 2 million dollar renovation I was surprised at the cheap plastic toilet seat in the Oceaside Terrace Suite which was the most expensive room. The bathroom handle was on backwards so it actually locked from the outside. The door to the balcony was rusted in the OPEN position, it only closed with a dead bolt. Why the maintenance man did not just replace the door handle is beyond me. The room you would think would be light colored, blues and stuff since it is so near the beach, but they had a very UGLY sofa in there that was dark. I most likely would not stay there again, although its location was very close to the beach. Not worth the money we spent for our 25th anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank neesie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2008

I really enjoyed this hotel for the price we paid. The rooms were very nice and the beds so very comfortable. Not alot of extras though. They did have a breakfast in the morning for the guests. I really liked it, one of the better continental breakfasts I've had. Same menu every morning though, so it got kind of blah. The beach was great, right across the street. My one problem with the hotel was the swimming pool, it was literally in the parking lot, and not really a hotel sized pool. I think they should improve that part of the hotel. Otherwise, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FamilyVacaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake city,fl
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

my wife and i stayed here in july for a weekend and it was great. the staff were very nice, a little young but very nice. the breakfast was better than usual.,and a very short walk to the beach,which is a good beach if you don't like a crowded beach. but the bed is something to enjoy,it was so comfortable,and the pillow wow they were so big and fluffy. it is a great place to stay. and the bbq place within walking distance is very good,it don't look like much but the best bbq around. with hammerheads bar next to it, it's a great combo

  • Liked — the beds and pillows
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank edward55LakeCity_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We stayed at the Amelia Hotel on a Sunday night. We had booked a standard room and when we arrived the room was not ready. I asked to be upgraded to an ocean front room but the only one available was on the bottom floor. We opted to wait until the room was clean. The staff were very nice and assured us it would only be a few minutes. True to their word about 15 minutes later they called my cell and told us the room was ready. The check in went very quickly and we went up to our room. To our wonderful suprise, we had been upgraded at no extra charge to a large ocenfront room. The room was very clean and the sheets and bedding were great. Needless to say we were very pleased and expressed our thanks to the front desk lady who gave us the room. The breakfast the next morning was like most standard continental breakfast you get. I did notice they had games you could check out. The location is great, easy to find and right across from the street from the beach. It is very easy walking distance and the beach is beautiful in this area. The pool was just a standard pool in the back of the motel next to the parking lot. The price on our room was very reasonable, below most other hotels in the area. I would highly reccomend this motel to anyone visiting this area.

  • Liked — Great service and room
  • Disliked — Pool area
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank alan067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

My boyfriend and I run a very busy business and have little time to get-a-way!! We booked this hotel because it said "closest to beach on the Island." It's NOT on the beach it's across the street. Which was pretty disappointing. BUT we did book their Jacuzzi terrace suite which was really nice. It had two flat screen TV's a 60 inch and a 50 inch in front of the bed and a really nice two person jacuzzi, with a separate stand up shower. For the price it was worth it. I just think your slightly mislead on the ocean front hotel not being ocean front. The hotel was clean and we did enjoy the room, just not lugging the beach stuff across the street. We would stay here again now that we know what to expect.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank wavewatcher00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
391 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,436 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Hotel at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Hotel at the Beach

Property: Amelia Hotel at the Beach
Address: 1997 South Fletcher Avenue, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amelia Hotel at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia Hotel at the Beach on Amelia Island features 88 guestrooms, including two Terrace Suites with whirlpool and balcony featuring partial views of the beach and ocean. We offer outdoor pool, complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi Internet. The famous Amelia Island/Fernandina beaches are just steps from our front doors, and we are just minutes to the historical Fernandina downtown area, and of course, our renowned Fernandina Beach golf courses. We also have facilities for small meetings, Beach Weddings and family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amelia Hotel at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Island Hotel
Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Hotel At The Beach Amelia Island/Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing