We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good eats place”

The Salty Pelican Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A great place for Lunch and Dinner overlooking the Amelia River and a sunset view every night!
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A good eats place”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is finally a decent place to have an informal meal in Fernandina Beach, Fl. They have Prime Rib night on Thursday and it is worth the price. A real slab of beef cut to order from a whole roasted piece of meat. We loved it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    984
    724
    221
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Ahi tuna nachos”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Nice water view from upper deck. Shared ahi tuna nachos that were delicious. Had grouper special which was great....huge piece of fresh fish with crab and cheese and also a dozen oysters cooked 3 ways. Fantastic service. Surprised how good the food was since it seems to be a bit of a tourist place. will definitely return for the nachos.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great servers. Horrible experience.”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My server was amazing tried so hard. But my oyster were cold. I complained and the replacement ones were the wrong thing. That's just an app. Found out I was eating frozen fish for the "catch of the day" and you could tell. On an island boasting so much local and fresh seafood, do yourself a favor and go somewhere where the food is worth it. Very expensive for average food. Terrible chairs and cheap look all around. Had high hopes but was sorely disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelandeatgoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Monday Night Football!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I took a group of colleagues and spouses to this restaurant. It overlooks the marina on the second floor. We were there on Monday night and they had the football game showing with much cheering. It was more of a bar feel but we enjoyed a great dinner. The food was tasty. We had grouper crusted with crab and parmesan cheese on top. The soup was amazing. The Carolina pulled pork sandwich was also good. This place was recommended to us by the Ritz-Carlton resort.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Beachy Bar & Grill”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We went here for a couple drinks and a light lunch. We had decent margarita and hot wings. The food was decent and the service was great with really friendly staff that love to laugh and have fun while they work. Great view from the top deck.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Smith6064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Salty Pelican Bar & Grill also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to The Salty Pelican Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing