We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

David's Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
David's Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$64
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: S. 8th St.
Description: The ART of Dining! At David's Restaurant we serve the finest seafood and meats available on Amelia Island. Our mouthwatering menu features a wide selections of delicious entrees such as Filet Oscar, Porterhouse, Rack of Lamb & Grilled Delmonico Rib Eye. On the Sea side Dover Sole, Truffle Scallops,Chilean Sea Bass & our Mushroom Truffle Alfredo. A specialty 6-10 pound whole Alaskan King Crab! Our elegant presentation & experienced wait staff makes dining at David's Restaurant a unique intimate romantic dining experience. Attire: Resort casual. Sunday-Thursday Happy Hour 5-7pm 1/2 Cocktails (except for Holidays and Special Events). Our lounge is pleased to specialize in the finest wines, liquors and cocktails. Open 7 nights a week.
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

It starts in the lounge, ask for Jill. She will bring you great cocktails to drink as you wait with a great smile and hospitality. And then have James as your server and you will reave wonderful service along with a server that really takes pride in the experience of his guest. Along with really good food that makes for a great romantic occasion with your other half. A big thanks for a wonderful experience.

Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 588 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Having been to Fernandina 4 years running, and finally with someone who I could take to a nice place like Davids, I was excited to finally get to try the food. We went for "Lobster Feast" which, judging by the size of the Main lobster served, was a very small feast. The tail produced 6 average-sized bites and I doubt the entire lobster weighed much over one pound if that. While there were some very appreciated extras, such as the raspberry sorbet to cleanse my palate after escargot and crab bisque for an appetizer (the bisque was delicious and definitely the high point of the meal). For dessert, the local rendition on Bananas Foster was similarly disappointing and nothing like one would find in NOLA. Sometimes, creative riffs on a classic are not advised. David's was described as competing with food destinations like NYC, LA, etc., but anyone who would say the food is in a class of, say, Le Cirque, Commander's Palace, the Grammercy Tavern, and others, has apparently never eaten there. David's is a decent place to eat, but I did not find it to be of the quality expected.

1  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner1-GM, Owner at David's Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your experience at David's. Our special whole 11/4 to 11/2 lb Maine lobster for 29.95 is just that a special price point served with roasted Corn on the Cob, Garlic Mash Potatoes & Fresh Seasonal Vegetable as described by our waitstaff. To fairly compare you must try our Prime Filet Mignon serving up 8 oz of Prime Beef. Or our Chilean Sea Bass pan seared to perfection. The other top shelf restaurants you mentioned do not sell Live Maine Lobsters even close to that price or offer anything less then 2 lbs at around 60.00 bucks or more! If size is what you were looking for our Whole King Crab all 8 pounds of him direct from the Bering Sea offers over 100 bites.! Our Banana's Foster is different and has satisfied many guests, as we wanted to give a different experience to a classic. Our dessert menu describes the presentation and how it is prepared. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to you trying us again and exceeding your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

From start to finish our service was impeccable , the lounge was inviting with a very attentive staff and comfortable as well, with live entertainment from a saxophonist that was unbelievable. The service in dinning area was second to none with a very knowledgeable staff, Our server laura was exceptional and the dinner speaks for itself, hats off to the chef. Thank you for giving us a great dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner1-GM, Owner at David's Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words. It is most appreciated and our entire staff says Thank you and do please join us again, so that we can exceed your expectations. Enjoy the Day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I stopped here on a Wednesday evening. We were greeted warmly and seated immediately. We thought it a little odd that it took so long for our server to come to our table, as the restaurant was barely half full, but after our initial apprehension the evening went very smoothly. I chose a filet for dinner. My steak was cooked perfectly and was very tender. The only complaint I had is that it seemed to lack flavor, but it was still delicious. My husband also enjoyed his lobster and sausage entree. The reason the meal stands out in our minds is actually because of the dessert we chose, which was a chocolate torte, and the port we had which was recommended by our server. What a wonderful way to end a meal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Marie42472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner1-GM, Owner at David's Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing a review. We take the reviews very seriously and always look to improve service, presentation and the attention to detail. Thank again for your input and we all look forward to taking care of you again at Davids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Food was very good, excellent wine list. Server while attentive brought out different vintage wine when a second bottle was ordered. When we pointed out that he brought out 2009 vintage vs. the 2008 that we had beef drinking, he was then able to find another bottle of 2008. He wanted to pour 2 nd on top of what remained in our glasses without tasting. Not good. We'll give them another try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Amelia Island, FL
 

Been to David's Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing