We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Flight”
Review of Hang Glide USA

Hang Glide USA
Ranked #11 of 40 Tours in Fernandina Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hang Glide USA provides powered hang gliding services. Powered hang gliding, otherwise known as trike flying, is an experience in freedom and excitement that is unmatched. Flying up to a thousand feet or more, you will experience aerial views unlike any other form of aviation. With your hands on the control bar and the earth below, trikes let you feel the air and touch the clouds as you glide.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Flight”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A lot of fun. The pilot, Kent, is great! Go early morning before the winds come up. We felt very safe.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HangGlideUSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hang Glide USA, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you so much for wonderful review Bob. We really appreciate it and we are glad you had such a fantastic experience. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Amber
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    2
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A MUST!!!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was a FANTASTIC experience. I have been up twice and can't wait for my next flight. Beautiful way to see the Island and learn about Amelia Island's rich history. John (the pilot) did an outstanding job, he was friendly and extremely knowledgeable. A must-do if you are visiting Amelia Island!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HangGlideUSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hang Glide USA, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you so much for the fantastic review Bobby. We are ecstatic you had such a fabulous time with us and hope to se you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Amber
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AVOID THIS “FLY BY NIGHT” BUSINESS!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I were scheduled on PRE-PAID flights on Saturday March 29th at 8:00AM. I called and confirmed that we were still on for the date on Thursday March 27th as the reservation was initially booked in February. The instructions from the business stated arrive 15 minutes before your scheduled flight, which we were. We actually were there 20-25 minutes early. We left Jacksonville at 6:45AM with our 10 month old son.

When we arrived the business was closed, we waited until 8:10 to see if anyone was going to show up…NO ONE! Called the business twice and no answer…call went to voicemail, left messages. We went and had breakfast and returned again around 9:30AM to see if the business was open at that time…which it was not. At this point, we headed back to Jacksonville (45 minute drive) angry and more importantly disappointed because this was a surprise birthday gift to my wife.

No returned calls throughout remainder of the weekend, no call on Monday morning. At this point I attempted to call business again and the message on their phone stated that the voicemail system was not set up. I sent an e-mail to Amber, the person that sent me the reservation confirmation and directions. By Weds. afternoon, the time I am writing this post I still have not received a return call or e-mail.

Please heed my warning about the business, as they claim they have a “perfect” flying record. All other reviews looked nice, which is what interested me at first. But if this is how they run the “business” part of their organization I would be very scared to see how they maintain their flight equipment.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HangGlideUSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hang Glide USA, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Mr. D:

We are truly sorry for any inconvenience that you may have had regarding the flight that you scheduled with us on March 29th. If you recall, it was raining and stormy that day and all flights were cancelled because of safety issues. In fact all flights were cancelled for the entire weekend because of bad weather. All passengers were contacted on Friday the 28th, most were rescheduled and a voice message was left at the phone number you provided telling you that your flight was cancelled. We sympathize that you did not check your voice messages prior to traveling to our launch site. We routinely contact all the passengers before a flight, and you were the only passenger to show up that weekend.

You did not pre-purchase a ticket from us as you implied and we have contracted Travelzoo so you may receive a full refund from them.

We have flown hundreds of satisfied customers and this is the first and only negative review we have received to this date.

We pride ourselves on servicing our passengers and providing an unusual, safe and memorable experience.

Hang Glide USA does apologize for any miscommunication and confusion that may have been created. We hope you will consider booking a flight with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Amber
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was a fun and exciting experience! We were able to see all kinds of dolphins on the water and even some wild horses on Cumberland Island. I would highly recommend doing this if you are in the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazzel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HangGlideUSA, Owner at Hang Glide USA, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic review!
We are overjoyed that you got to see the dolphins and horses.
Maybe next time you will get to see the crocodiles :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPEEDWELL
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exciting Island adventure.”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Flying over the island was fabulous.We went out over the ocean saw a shrimp boat and when we got closer we saw dolphins following the boat. We also saw other dolphins by themselves. You get to fly from one end of the island to the other. John was an excellent pilot and well informed about the island. I would absolutely do it again.
If you go to Amelia Island Fernandina Beach give it a try.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryD37870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HangGlideUSA, Owner at Hang Glide USA, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Mary, thank you so much for the fabulous review. We're glad you had a fantastic time and we're overjoyed you got to see all the dolphins!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hang Glide USA also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Hang Glide USA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing