We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Espana Restaurant & Tapas

Espana Restaurant & Tapas
Reserve with OpenTable
Espana Restaurant & Tapas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Centre Street
Description: The traditional flavors of Spain and Portugal are highlighted in all our dishes here in the heart of historic Fernandina Beach. Sip on homemade Sangria or enjoy a glass of wine from a list of hand picked selections (International and Californian). Choose from a menu of hot and cold tapas, "just caught" fish or meat entrees including the national dish of Spain, Paella. You can choose to dine in our cozy main dining room, bright enclosed patio dining room or lush garden dining area which is open generally Thursday - Sunday and weather permitting :) Chef Roberto is a second generation restaurateur, with over 28 years experience. He endeavors to make your evening a memorable one by bringing both his own family recipes, and inspiration from trips to Spain and Portugal for you to savor and enjoy. Family owned and operated since 2004. The Original on Amelia Island!
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

All I can say is very good. Both the food and wine. Not a big place I would suggest making a reservation.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LKS616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,050
    281
    85
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Loved this Spanish restaurant. My party of 5 started with a few tapas- Gambas Mozambique,
Tortilla Espanola (reminded me of a potato frittata) and a Chorizo tapas. These three were very flavorful and enjoyed by all. We all split a pitcher of Sangria as well. The waiter was able to recommend several great entrees- Red Snapper and mix seafood with the spicy mozambique sauce. To top off a great meal, we enjoyed a traditional Spanish desert, Tres Leches. Will definately recommend to my Jacksonville peeps.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank floridagal200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goiânia, Brasil
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great paella”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had Sangria, paella and some appetizers. Very tasty and nice place. We sat outside and it was a great atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lizzye_pontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western PA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A fav restaurant but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is our favorite restaurant in Fernandina and we always go on our anniversary. The food was excellent, as always. Love the escargot and coconut shrimp and paella. Our waitress was very nice and attentive. Unfortunately, on our last visit, there was a loud and obnoxious party of 12 ((they knew they were obnoxious as they prided themselves on it by remarking about it as they left). This is a small restaurant and a group this large just spoiled it for the other patrons. Our waitress commented twice that she was getting hoarse trying to talk to her customers. Apparently, there was no one on board that evening that was willing to ask this table to use their indoor voices! We did complain to our waitress and to the hostess, both of whom indicated there was no manager that evening. The owner did call us two days later to apologize, and say it was only to be a party of 8 but somehow it grew to 12.
Be sure to make a reservation and ask if there is going to be any large parties that night!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WesternPAAndiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Caliente Cory ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Espana and it will not be our last. As newbie tourists, we had a lot of questions about the menu, and thank goodness we had such a knowledgable waiter. Everything Cory recommended was dead on, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience! Amazing wine list and tapas. Can't wait to visit again! Mucho gracias, Cory

Helpful?
Thank T264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Espana Restaurant & Tapas also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Espana Restaurant & Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing