We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekender”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekender”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The room was well equipped and comfortable, the lobby and breakfast areas were clean and well cared for except for the carpeting. Breakfast selections were complete and very good. Overall the hotel is pretty nice except the carpeting in the rooms as well as the hallways and lobby areas are pretty badly stained.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sidney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    148
    64
    32
    22
See reviews for
126
162
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
springfield, virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Enjoyed our stay and, in fact, extended a day to enjoy the beach and tour lovely Fort Clinch. The ocean view from our 3rd floor room was outstanding, especially watching the sunrise. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Towels were fluffy and generous as were the soaps and shampoos. The in-room coffee maker was not working and although it was reported the next day, it remained non functioning for our 3 day stay. However, there was plenty of delicious coffee in the lobby for breakfast where there was also a variety of selections for breakfast. The pleasant, friendly breakfast lady maintained a plentiful supply. She obviously takes pride in her job. The beach is but a short distance and not crowded. The town of Fernandina is a short drive, where the sunsets are exquisite. The hall ways are hot but the rooms are cool. My husband suggests a vent in the ice/vendor room but I suspect, the hall ways are simply not air conditioned. Its the only suggestion for this very nice facility where the staff are pleasant, the location convenient, the room spacious and clean and the breakfast bountiful.

Room Tip: Enjoy the sunrise and ocean from the ocean view rooms on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the Labor Day weekend. Rooms were clean and the location for what we wanted was perfect. We were just there to unwind. The hotel is located about 100 yards from the Main Beach and we could see the ocean from our first floor room. The hotel is also right next door to the entrance to Ft Clinch State Park, which is absolutely beautiful. This is the most affordable accomodation on the island with convenient beach access.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The hotel was well located only a block from the beach. We had a nice large room with an ocean view. The room was well maintained and kept clean. The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful. Included was a morning breakfast that included waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage, different breads, and too much more to list. The lady who took care of the breakfast area was happy, friendly, and very helpful. She kept the area clean and well stocked with food items. She was a great representative of the hotel. This hotel is a good place to stay and the price is right.

Room Tip: pay a little extra and get a large ocean view room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fast E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

For a small weekend getaway to Amelia Island / Fernandina Beach, I stayed here at he Comfort Suites. After my stay I can honestly say I can;t wait to go back, well worth the 5hr drive from South Florida. The hotel was perfect, clean, and spacious. However the BEST part was it was a few feet walking distance from the beach. Beautiful waking up to watch the sunrise and just as amazing to watch the sunset. The beach is superb as the white fine sand doesn't stick to you, which is my favorite kind. The place is VERY affordable, and the location is AWESOME! Also the hotel is not even a 5min drive into the cute historic downtown area of Fernandina. It doesn't get better than this, for an affordable and beyond relaxing quiet weekend. One of my best finds yet. I HIGHLY recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We drove to Amelia Island to see what was there and stay for a few days.
We got into the downtown tourist area and found an old Hotel just off main street and we went in asked for a look at the rooms and checked out the prices. We felt it was a bit pricey for a very small room. We decided to look elsewhere
At the other end of the main street ( not too far as we are talking the other side of a small island). We found the Comfort Inn. Nice room, reasonably priced, includes a complimentary breakfast to get you off to the right start in the morning. A good view of the Ocean sort of across the street. Easy walk to the beach.
Near Sandy Bottoms restaurant on the beach.
We would certainly stay there again and recomment this place to others.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is nice if you can get there early enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

It's been a while since I've stayed at a Comfort Suites as I usually opt for Hampton Inns but chose this hotel because of the price and was glad I did after our 2 night stay. Location is great. Walking distance to Main beach, which is great for family w/ kids as there is a neat playground, skateboard park, mini gold, picnic pavilions w/ facilities and a boardwalk to the beach. Just a short and easy drive to the famed historic district and next to Fort Clinch which I wish we'd had time to visit. There is a convenience store next door that is great to get gas at before you head out! Was pleased to see a man at the desk when we arrived and he was nice enough, no rude girl! Check in was quick and easy, Would have liked to have more of the travel brochures offered that I saw hiding behind the desk. I had to ask on 2 separate occasions to get the ones I wanted. Not sure why they were kept so secure? As all mentioned before, the hallway on the floors were HOT! The stairwell was cooler than the halls! Honestly I believe if they would just put a door to where the ice and coke machines are that this would ease this problem. I feel they just did not put enough vents in the hall but when you opened the door to your room the chill flowed and felt great! Was very pleased at the size of the room. 2 Queen beds, sofa and table w/ 2 chairs, with easy access to plugs for charging cell phones. The mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker really helped on convenience. Was also surprised to find a safe in the room although it was under the drawer below the night stand so I didn't even try to get down on hands and knees to see how to use it! Would have been better in the closet at a higher level. The beds were very comfortable with comfy bedding and 4 pillows that said one was softer than the other but it was difficult for me to tell the difference between the two. I do have back trouble and was able to sleep very well. The rooms were quiet except for once or twice I heard kids running in the halls but this was not an issue. The rooms felt very clean but the couch did seem like it could have used a nice shampoo as do the carpets in the hallway especially! The bathroom was adequate and felt the towels to be extra thick and nice. Toiletries were very basic. Had no issues with housekeeping. Pool was small but we didn't use it anyway. After a certain time at night you can not re-enter the hotel from the back or side entrance even w/ a key and must use front entrance. I'm sure this is a security feature and nice to know about it but would have been nicer to know this before went outside to view meteor shower on the beach! Traffic in this area was low and felt very safe. Breakfast was better than expected with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, instant grits/ oatmeal, cereal, donuts, toast and do it yourself waffle with blueberry and regular waffle batter. Was pleased to find flavored coffee creamer as an option as well. The only drawback is that it was a very small space. I would definitely stay here again but next time would go for the ocean view room! The parking lot view had pool view and grown trees so it wasn't awful but I think beach view would have been worth the extra money. Agree to go w/ top floor so wouldn't hear running of feet. Also noticed there were 4 bikes that could have been available to use but not sure of details.
Overall I was very pleased with our stay!

Room Tip: Pay more for the beach view and top floor for added view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiBisMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
642 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,412 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
867 reviews
7.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island

Property: Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Address: 2801 Atlantic Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is 100% non-smoking with all-suite rooms. All rooms offer a seating area with sofa-sleeper, microwave/fridge, free hot breakfast, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and free wi-fi. Our hotel is located steps away from main beach and only 1 mile from historic downtown Fernandina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Comfort Suites Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing