We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

we stayed over over Labor day weekend and did not like it at all.
Arrived at 2pm to empty hotel to hear there was fee for early checking; I have some status with Choice and have never heard this before.
we left to return @4pm when the same woman said she did not have any rooms available earlier???
We got a first floor room with view of pool; others checking in later that night got 3rd fl ocean views. why???
She never offered us a discount card that I heard being offered 2 night later to other guests
The place looks fine outside but is a dump inside. they are about to go a major rehab and it needs it. our sink and tub did not drain; the door in from pool was broken and held open with a piece of tile.
there is only one waffle machine that did not work well. b-fast selection was limited as their powered eggs were recalled?
There was no Verizon service in our room and the lobby PC was broken all weekend.
there was a garbage charge on the bill for the room safe which i made them remove.
I stay about 60 hotel nights annual in the moderate price range and speak from experience

Room Tip: even # on 3rd floor for ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wf3r4t54b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegionalManagerSE, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Our hotel is under a transformation with new furniture, carpets, sofa-beds, beds, and new art work. we are very excited for this new changes and hopefully when you are in the Fernandina Beach area you will give our hotel another chance to see our newly renovated "truly yours" look.



Sincerely,

Deanna Hensley
Front Desk Manager
Comfort Suites Oceanview, Amelia Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    144
    64
    32
    20
See reviews for
121
159
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We spent 3 nights here in August. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Hot Breakfast was
ample and enjoyed prior to our beach walks. Property shows updated features. Very clean and quiet. No balconies but you can see the beach just one block away.

Room Tip: Request beach view on check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia City, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This place was gross. The rooms were dirty and smelled. Used wet wash cloth left in the shower. Hair in the sink. Sticky pop or something on the bed stand. Dust on the TV screen. Only positive is that they did send someone to clean it after we complained but this place gave me the creeps. God knows what was in there that I couldn't see.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegionalManagerSE, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay. Our hotel will soon be going in transformation with new furniture, beds, sofa-beds, carpets and new art work. We are very excited with these changes and hope you give us another chance when you are in the Fernandina Beach area and see the new changes and hopefully will be pleased with our newly renovated " truly yours " look.

Sincerely,

Deanna Hensley
Comfort Suites Oceanview of Amelia Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
137 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The best feature of this property is that it is only a block away from a beautiful beach.

Aside from that, there is no compelling reason to stay here. Average rooms, adequate service and a newish looking building with ratty interior.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidrA3168AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegionalManagerSE, General Manager at Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding our location perfect for your time in Fernandina. We are very close to begining our new renovation and have a target date of completion by the begining of October. The renovation will include new furniture, carpet, beds, sofas, and refurbishment of the entire lobby and breakfast area. We hope that you can visit us after the renovation is complete.

Sincerely,

Kapil Bava - General Manager
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waycross, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

It's been years since we've been to the beach. We spent 1 night here. It is 1 block from the beach and we could see the beach from our window. Requested a handicap assessable room and was very pleased. Bath had plenty of handrails and even had a bath chair. Bed was very comfortable. Great wifi connection. Enjoyed the hot breakfast though we didn't care for the powdered eggs. Included bacon and sausage, could make your own waffles and toast, etc. Great coffee! Friendly attendant was there to help. Had reservation and check-in and -out was quick. Did request the safe fee be removed. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The good: Location is less than a block from the beach and the price is pretty good. If you have skateboarders tell them to bring their boards. There is a skateboard park adjacent to the hotel. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I got a good night's sleep.

The bad: The property is a bit worn with holes in the carpet patched with duct tape. It appears that they may be getting ready to do some remodeling since there was a board in the lobby with pictures of new carpeting and fixtures.

Check-in was a bit of a trial since there was only one person working the front and, while checking me and my boss in, she received two phone calls. That may explain why she gave my boss a room that was already occupied.

The hotel makes a big deal of it being a non-smoking property, but when I came back from a walk on the beach last night, the desk clerk was standing by the front door smoking. I hate having to walk through an employee's smoke. I guess she figured she was far enough from the door.

Given all that, I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The rooms are clean and most staff is pleasant. However, the night manager had a attitude .We paid $150.00 per night top to look at a parking lot (NO OCEAN VIEW) . They do not give law enforcement a discount so I would suggest that all law enforcement,corrections and medical personnel avoid this hotel and be sure to ask other hotels if they give a discount (Most Hotels do).

Room Tip: Shop around for the best deals before you go here. Daytona and Clearwater have more to do and the pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
0.1 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
7.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island

Property: Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Address: 2801 Atlantic Ave, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-2207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is 100% non-smoking with all-suite rooms. All rooms offer a seating area with sofa-sleeper, microwave/fridge, free hot breakfast, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and free wi-fi. Our hotel is located steps away from main beach and only 1 mile from historic downtown Fernandina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
Comfort Suites Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island Fernandina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing