We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Nearby Hotels
Residence Inn Amelia Island(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Amelia Inn(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$167
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amelia Hotel at the Beach(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge(Fernandina Beach)
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort(Fernandina Beach)
US$531
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$429
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Motel(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Surf Beach Motel(Fernandina Beach)(Great Value!)
US$165
Travelocity
View Deal
The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island(Fernandina Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveller rating
409
303
133
46
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
303
133
46
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskamelia islandtreasure chestroom was cleanafternoon cookieswithin walking distancecomplimentary breakfastslidersnice breakfastoatmealfirst floorgreat place to stayfresh fruithistoric downtownshort drivethe breakfast areadoris
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
734 - 739 of 929 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We arrived at the Hampton Inn at 3:30 pm. Told by the male desk clerk that the room was not ready. He "hoped it would be ready by 4 pm." Check in was 4 pm. He said "there's only one person cleaning and we're behind." We went outside to sit and wait. When we went back into the lobby after 4 pm. Clerk said he had to call and check if the room was ready. Finally we got onto a dirty elevator that had not been cleaned in ages. When we got into the room it was too warm. I noticed the reason why - a large armchair & ottoman was placed in front of the A/C vents blocking the air flow. We carried the arm chair & ottoman moving it to the other side of the room so the air would flow properly. That of course caused the room to look over crowded and awkward. Going into the bathroom, the toilet bowl was dirty. We were too tired to do anything but fall asleep. The next morning walking down the hallway it was obvious the carpeting had not been vacuumed in some time. There were strings and paper scraps and even a french fry in the corner that had been ignored for some time.
When we went down for breakfast we could not get into the breakfast area because of the hordes of people trying to eat. There was also not enough seating for guests. We decided to walk on the beach and come back later for breakfast. No luck. The kitchen had run out of eggs as there were more guests than food. The cook came out to say she was working on more eggs and to please wait.
All in all, this was a lousy experience and surely not what I've come to experience from other Hampton Inns. I was sorely disappointed - took photos of the carpeting, elevator and toilet. Very dissatisfied with this experience.

Room Tip: This is a "family" and "pet friendly" hotel. That means good things for people with families and pets. Not so good for people wanting a quiet sleep without kids running up and down the halls.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeliaHI, General Manager at Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Cleanliness issues and inconsistent service are not acceptable, here at our hotel. Your detailed comments have helped us identify ways in which we can improve. Please know that we're working to address your concerns and apologize for the inconvenience. Please feel free to reach out to us if you have additional comments or concerns. We hope we can restore your confidence in us and invite you back for a more comfortable experience.

Safe travels,

Khelia Todd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Was very happy to find a pet friendly place on the island because what dog doesn't love the beach?! Very clean pet friendly rooms- would never know that other animals had ever visited there. Great staff- very accomodating! Will stay again.

Room Tip: first floor rooms are ideal when you travel with your pet!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb3182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ocala, Fl
23
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Great hotel to bring the family!! We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to visit again!! Within walking distance to the beach!! You are also within minutes of the historic area of Amelia Island!! The kids had a great weekend as well.. This hotel is convientely located and you are within minutes of all the things you don't want to miss while visiting Amelia Island!! You have a great choice of restaurants within minutes of the hotel as well..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The room was clean, large, had a mini fridge, microwave, easy to connect to wireless, lots of cable TV stations, in the heart of the historic district, great water view.... oh, and did I mention the ffabulous breakfast? I think I just did! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mare I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

It didn't live up to the name of Hampton Inn. Food variation for breakfast did not change much. Bakery items were old and the same most of the time. People at the desk not helpful or not available. No help with the Honors Program. Was told I was on my own with that. We carry Marriott Rewards and Wynham also.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeliaHI, Manager at Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

It's very important to hear your comments, as they will help us improve in our daily operations. I am very disappointed to hear that you encountered rude service and our breakfast items were not of the quality expected. We pride ourselves in delicious offerings as well as friendly and accommodating staff. We're sharing your feedback with our team and apologize for the inconvenience. Please consider giving us another chance to serve you.

Kind regards,
Khelia Todd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews