We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hair in the tub the last straw ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Fernandina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hair in the tub the last straw ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We came to relax and have family time and we walk into a dark room that smells like mildew. The room was disgusting, the bathtub had hair in it and the toilet wasn't clean. When we tried to switch rooms the second room had bugs on the bed. We have traveled through 3 states and the gas station in South Carolina was nicer.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JDMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeliaHI, General Manager at Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for commenting on your stay with our hotel. The only way we can improve our service is through our guests' comments and feedback. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We take great pride in our cleanliness and guest service and I am sorry that was not your experience. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to prove our commitment to you.

I look forward to meeting your personally on your next visit.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Khelia Todd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    270
    111
    35
    25
See reviews for
269
310
34
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast left a lot to be desired. The selection was limited and the food was cold. The coffee was good and available all day. Location of hotel is good and desk staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeliaHI, General Manager at Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I was very disappointed to read your remarks regarding your stay with our hotel. "Pretty Good". We are very committed to our guests' satisfaction and pride ourselves on our team's commitment to our guest's service.

Our breakfast choices are dictated through Hampton to assure our hotel guests of a consistent breakfast experience across the brand. We offer both hot and cold selections and Hampton has recently added new choices for our guests. I apologize that you found our breakfast lacking.

I was very proud to hear that you did experience our "Hamptonality". We are very committed to your satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve your lodging needs on your next visit to our Island.

Khelia Todd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FloweryBranch, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hotel about a 5 minute walk to ocean, and several places to eat close by on foot. Lobby clean but cookies did not come out at the same time every day and never enough for everyone to have some. Breakfast was usual hotel fare, but the workers seemed overwhelmed to keep replenished and we had to wait a while on food items. Rooms clean, but we did find a roach. No hot tub or fitness or site.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeliaHI, General Manager at Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for commenting on your stay with our hotel. The only way we can improve our service is through our guests' comments and feedback. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We take great pride in our guest service and I am sorry that was not your experience. While our hotel is very fast paced, our employees generally do a very good job keeping up with the demand, again I apologize that our staff seemed overwhelmed during your stay. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to prove our "Hamptonality".

We contract an outside pest elimination company and be assured we hold them accountable for any pest issues found in our hotel. Whenever a guest brings an issue to our attention we immediately contact them.

We do served fresh baked cookies daily, but we stipulate they are served between 4:00pm and 5:00pm and the times do vary day to day. They are very tasty and do go very fast. I am very sorry you missed them, but had you brought that to our guest service representatives attention they would have gladly made you cookies.

I do look forward to meeting your personally on your next visit.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Khelia Todd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The title says it all. If you're looking for a Hilton chain hotel in a lesser-travelled beach area and/or seek a pet-friendly option, this hotel more than accommodates. The only conceivable negative is that it's a couple blocks to the beach - not much for a nice morning walk, though, and we didn't mind it at all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Hampton Inn on Sadler road is a short walk to public beach access (about 4-5 min walk, not bad). The hotel is clean and comfortable, a tad dated but nothing that put me off. The breakfast was standard Hampton Inn fare and fine. The great costumer service by the friendly staff was great. The front desk lets you check out beach towels and you just return them. They are full of visitor info and very friendly. You can drive or walk to the beach. The pool is small and nothing fancy, but cools you off on warm days. Pillows left a little to be desired, may be time for replacement? You can walk to restaurants and a surf shop. I would return without hesitation. Great price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

You can always count on a clean quiet room, and a good hot breakfast at Hamptons. Service is friendly and will solve any problem you may have. Hamptons are consistent from one to another which to us is very important.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank L3695KQjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very friendly staff, close to the beach, quiet, nice breakfast, cookies at 4pm daily, & nice to relax swimming in pool. Many rooms are being renovated with new carpeting. Overall, a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor facing the ocean are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lloydmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.0 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#10 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#11 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach

Property: Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Address: 2549 Sadler Rd, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4563
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fernandina Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Fernandina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Amelia Island At Fernandina Beach Hotel Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Fernandina Beach
Fernandina Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing