We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance & Fireworks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Cottage Oceanfront Inn & Spa - Flagler Beach
Ranked #3 of 12 Flagler Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Fresh off a two-day stay at Island Cottage (our first) for a little Fourth of July getaway, I couldn't wait to jump on Trip Advisor to write a review. In a nutshell it's this: Five Star ratings don't lie.

From the first moment we stepped foot on the property, Toni and Mark Treworgy were the consummate hosts! They were waiting for us and welcomed us by name with the kind of genuine warmth and familiarity usually reserved for family and close friends. At check in we received an incredible and thoughtful welcome package including directories and guides for local entertainment and events along with Toni and Mark's recommendations for the best dining options in Flagler Beach. Attached to the ribbon was a lovely pineapple glycerine soap and organza pouch full of sparkling bath crystals. Um, hello!

This of course was just a hint of what was in store for us...

Because of a cancellation, Toni upgraded us (at no charge, of course) to a bigger fancier suite - Barbados - which features a romantic tulle-swagged white iron 4-poster canopy bed; Jacuzzi tub festooned with fresh rose petals, soft candlelight, chocolate dipped strawberries, a handwritten welcome note, and a huge long-stemmed rose; a lovely corner gas log fireplace; a kitchenette that borders more toward full kitchen; an enclosed laundry area, and French doors leading to a rooftop balcony with a seating area and views of the Atlantic ocean.

There was no detail left unattended and nothing left to chance. These people know what they are doing. But you get the feeling they really are happy you're there and are so very pleased to offer you the kind of attention and service that is rarely seen today. Plus, with all their personal and lofty accomplishments, Toni and Mark are just the nicest people you could ever hope to meet. There is no pretense here. Just a remarkable genuine desire to make you feel at home and welcome.

Valerie (Toni's assistant) is also as likeminded, doting and accommodating as the owners. She is there to offer fresh towels as soon as you cross the street from the beach, help you with the gates, offer you any assistance you could possibly need - oh - and she is the in-house massage therapist in case you'd like to book a spa treatment. Next time, Valerie.

To our surprise and delight, we were treated to a sumptuous Fourth of July barbecue with an eye-popping spread of homemade delectable savory and sweet treats - wine and beer included. No charge. In the evening as we sat on their private dune walk to the beach to watch the fireworks show, Toni and Mark joined us and offered us a champagne toast following the display. What a generous final touch on an already impressive stay at Island Cottage.

If you've noticed I can't stop my run-on sentences singing the praises of Island Cottage Oceanfront Inn & Spa it's not an accident. I truly am THAT happy to share this "best kept secret" of Flagler Beach. Even though it's just an hour from our home in Ponte Vedra Beach, we truly felt like we were far away in some magical magnificent island location where the sound of steel drums softly waft through the salt scented air and instantly relax your cares away.

Thank you Toni, Mark, and Valerie. We can't wait to come back soon. Your very grateful new friends,

Larry & Alixandra Hice

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alixandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I researched on trip advisor and wanted to go someplace we've never been. As Florida residence we wanted to avoid all the tourist type places. We work tons of hours and just wanted down time, I hate hotels however. So we read reviews and decided on " Ocean Cottage". We ended up getting to Flagler waay early, we killed all the time I could stand ( I was trying to respect the 3:30 check in) we had reserved the Aruba Suite, we pulled in at 3:15 to find a parking space specifically for the Aruba Suite, so wonderful especially after parking experience's at St Augustine Inns. I step out of the car and a pleasant woman working by the pool said " Hi Sherry!" I was certain from that moment that this place was top notch. Valerie was that nice woman, she was the person who checked us in, gave us a tour of the very pristine property . She lead us up to our room and it was beautiful! She proceeded to give us a tour of our room, leading to the bath, and there it was.....jacuzzi tub covered in rose petals, plate of chocolate covered strawberries, and a beautiful rose with a handwritten note for a "Happy Anniversary " . Fast forward... She asked if we had dinner plans, made suggestions, made reservations for us! Made certain we received " anniversary royal treatment" at the restaurant! Toni was so sweet and made us fantastic breakfast every morning! Be sure to get the breakfast package! At the beach proper, where all the restaurants are, are very busy and crowded, her breakfast was filling and fabulous ! Well worth it especially since we hate crowds.we spent day 2 on the beautiful , quiet beach. We walked back to the inn to enjoy the pool. I barely tipped my toe In and Toni was there with a pitcher of iced tea to cool us off! The gift shop was really neat too! Bought fabulous body lotion, and regret not buying more of the " Hawaiin Ginger" soap. Valerie gave me a little sample bar along with flowers when I arranged a massage! That's how we found out she is a massage therapist! They do not push spa services, but if you ask they will let you know of the offerings. This place was very quiet, low key, perfect !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIKEANDSHER_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Island Cottage Oceanfront Inn and Spa is a fantastic find. Very well appointed rooms, ocean view and too many to list details all taken care of by the owners Toni and Mark. This is the cleanest, most well maintained resort I have ever seen. The room was perfect down to the rose petals sprinkled around the Jacuzzi and the chocolate covered strawberries.
Our room had a king sized four poster bed, gas fireplace, candles, kitchen, washer dryer and flat screen TV.
According to Karyn, the macadamia nut cookies are "to die for". I agree!
Thanks for a wonderful time!
Karyn and David

Room Tip: Our room was excellent! Aruba Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidandKaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our 1 year wedding anniversary. I found Island Cottage here on Tripadvisor and decided to stay here instead of a B&B in St. Augustine. Toni and Mark are such nice people. Their B&B is quaint, immaculate, peaceful and romantic. We didn't use the pool, bikes, etc. because we spent the day in St. Augustine - which was about a 30 minute drive. There were rose petals around our jacuzzi and they made us chocolate covered strawberries for our anniversary...which was very sweet of them and the strawberries were delicious. We look forward to going back again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Barbados room.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pookie188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I needed some R and R time. I found Island Cottage online and was so pleased with our choice. Toni and Mark upgraded our room and it was such a wonderful surprise. Toni made sure to have warm cookies each day for us. My husband had to use Mark's air compressor. We felt like family. The amenities were amazing. The beach was beautiful. It's a quiet and tropical oasis. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Well after 5 years the place looks as immaculate and inviting as ever. Great romantic escape for couples to get some quality time in. Pool and deck are great places to start off with. Bikes are available to cruise up and down the beach or tour the quaint town. Beaches are perfect for a long strolls before your evening meal. We recommend The Tuscan Grill and ask Toni to make reservations so you can get the seating you wish. The food is fabulous. Toni & Mark go out of there way to make you feel welcomed and treat you like family. It's just a magical place to unwind.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauldc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This was a last minute booking for us as we decided to head to the Daytona area for Nascar and everything else was booked. We came in much later than planned and Mark still gave us a tour despite the late hour. The room was lovely and inviting. The word we ascribed to it was "pristine". Flowers and candles in every room and relaxing music playing upon entry just added to the ambiance. Walking on the beautiful morning sun kissed private beach after a great nights sleep was a fantastic way to start the day. Looking forward to a return visit!!!

Room Tip: They are all fabulous!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flagler Beach
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Coast
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Coast
#1 of 11 in Palm Coast
882 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hammock Beach Resort
Hammock Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Palm Coast
1,599 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The White Orchid Inn and Spa
The White Orchid Inn and Spa
#2 of 12 in Flagler Beach
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flagler Beach Motel
Flagler Beach Motel
#5 of 12 in Flagler Beach
161 reviews
1.6 mi away
A1A Motel
A1A Motel
#4 of 12 in Flagler Beach
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Cottage Oceanfront Inn & Spa - Flagler Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Cottage Oceanfront Inn & Spa - Flagler Beach

Address: 2316 S Ocean Shore Blvd, Flagler Beach, FL 32136-4020
Region: United States > Florida > Flagler Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Flagler Beach
Price Range: £143 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Flagler Beach at Island Cottage Oceanfront Inn & Spa, where luxuries and romance are beyond compare. The scent of fresh sea air will tantalize your senses, while fireplaces, Jacuzzis for 2, king canopy beds, heated swimming pool, beach, tropical gardens and fountains will beckon your return year-after-year! A true vortex of energy, love and romance, the atmosphere at Island Cottage sets the stage for the romantic and rejuvenating getaway of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Island Cottage Oceanfront Inn & Spa - Flagler Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Cottage Oceanfront Hotel Flagler Beach
Island Cottage Oceanfront Hotel Cafe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing