We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for restaurants, water-taxi, shopping, nightlife”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This old-world style hotel is located on Las Olas Blvd. Just outside the door of the hotel, you can stroll on the busy streets full of life. Or, in two blocks, take the wonderful water-taxi ride on the inter-coastal waterway and see the spectacular homes and yachts of the super-wealthy. Our room was a bit outdated, but comfortable with good controllable air conditioning (and even windows that opened!) and a nice-sized bathroom. We really enjoyed eating at the hotel -- sitting comfortably outside, watching the street scene. For breakfast and dinner we received outstanding service and good food quality at a surprisingly moderate price.

Room Tip: We had a lovely corner room on the third floor, not overlooking the street so it was surprisingly qu...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth_of_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Good Morning,
I am so glad that you enjoyed your staff and all that Fort Lauderdale had to offer. You really did a great job trying all the different amenities.

Come visit us soon again.

Thank you,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Oldest hotel in Fort Lauderdale on Las Olas Boulevard bustling with designer and boutique shops and a wide range of restaurants. Adjacent to the the river walkway with its theatre, museums, restaurants and bars. Water taxi stop nearby providing a first-class way to see the sights from the river and canals. Hotel rooms are large and well-appointed, especially in the tower block with its balcony rooms - and well worth the extra charge. The staff are wonderful, friendly, courteous and attentive. The secluded pool by the river is a bonus in this built-up part of town. The beach is a 45 minute walk from the hotel, nothing if you enjoy walking. There is a hop on-hop off trolley bus or a regular service bus if you prefer. Try the cocktails at happy hour in the Lyon Bar for some local conversation!

Room Tip: Get a room on the tower with a wrap-a-round balcony
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanJimG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Good Morning,
another perfect review and top score. We are humbled by your review and it was a pleasure sharing it with my staff. You are so right that our location is ideal to explore all that Fort Lauderdale has to offer.

Come back in the near future.

Thank you,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Don't be fooled by the pretty lobby of this hotel. Upon check-in we were assigned room 541 (later informed by another guest this is in the "old" building). We get off the elevator to find a decrepit hallway with fluorescent lights, a battered area rug minus its pile askew, maybe 15 feet long at an angle. The walls were beige, the doors to the rooms dark brown, chipped of paint, and every door had an extra break-in metal bar on it that ran down the edge where you put your card/key. The rug in the room was dirty, the cover on the bed was sleazy nylon from the 1940s, the headboard was plastic, the bathroom was all original, not updated since the place was built. We paid $200 for this memorable night. $20 in a motel room would have been a comparable stay, and a sure bargain!

Room Tip: If you absolutely MUST stay here, maybe ask for a room in the "new" building.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Netties1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Good Morning,
I am so sorry that we were not able to at least meet you expecations. I truely believe that you would have enjoyed our Tower Rooms over our Historic section of the hotel. The tower rooms are much more spacious and more modern.

My apologies that we wer not able to give you a better experience.

I hope you give us another chance.

Thank you,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed for three nights in room 901 (a corner balcony room in the tower section) from Jauary 20 to 22. We were looking for a hotel that was close to several dining options as well as being in an area that we would be able to safely do a lot of walking, and that had an easy connection to the water taxi. Being on the beach was not a priority for us.

When we arrived the taxi doors were opened, we were greeted, our bags taken, and were shown the way to the lobby to check-in. We were quickly checked in by a very pleasent young lady and were on our way to our room in no time. A great start to our stay that never changed!

The room was spacious, well maintained and functional. The king size bed was very comfortable, but could use more that just two pillows. The balcony was a bit of a disappointment in that there was a lot of traffic and air condioner noise as well as a cooking odour from the restaurants on Los Olas 9Well, I wanted to be close to dinning!). While the view to Los Olas was nice, we will request a New River view next time to get way from the noise and odour, and to a much better view. However, when the balcony doors were closed, the room was very quiet and we did not hear the street noises. This was also the first hotel room that we have ever been in where the bathroom exhaust fans actually work. No matter how long or hot the shower, the mirrors were always clear. They also use high end towels that were large, very soft and fluffy. There is a coffee maker and coffee was replenished daily.

The tower hallways appear to have been recently redecorated and a designer touch is clear. Some of the hall walls have hand painted scenes on them rather than the usual bland wallpaper. In fact, nothing could be considered bland about this hotel. It is much more of a boutique hotel than a chain hotel could ever dream of being. Elevators were consistantly very fast to arrive even though the hotel was full.

There is a very nice, heated pool behind the hotel that offers a great opportunity to just chill and watch the boat traffic go by on the New River. There have been some reviews mentioning that the pool area is small, but we never saw more than one or two people in the water at any one time. It seemed to be the right size to create a peaceful oasis away from all the Los Olas traffic and hustle and bustle. The weather was great and it was our favourite place to go and relax in the afternoon after a long walk.

The hotel is surrounded by great places to eat (including Indigo's in the hotel), is near the water taxi and other amenities, making for a perfect location.

The most impressive part of our stay was the terrific staff that they have working there - from the bell staff, front desk, restaurant, to the maids. Everyone that we meet had a smile, and time for a hello and to ask how our stay was and if we needed anything.

After six years of searching we have now found the perfect hotel for our annual pre/post cruise stays.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the tower section facing the New River
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrymcduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Good Morning,
It is always special when you receive a perfect review. I am glad you enjoyed the service my team provided and that the location was enjoyable to you.

Come back soon.

Thank you,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Ohhh. Great price on priceline.. No wonder, the room is terrible. Super dated, shower water pressure is low, and every 30 seconds it is either scalding hot or ice cold. Old stained carpet, moldy ac units, tv from 1990. Not a good experience. I'm sure the suites are much better as they are in the newer tower building, however you'll pay upwards of 400/night for them. If you're looking for a deal, be prepared for a crappy room..

Room Tip: Ensure you don't get a "traditional" room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Good Morning,
thank you for your review and I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. I believe your assessment was correct and you would have enjoyed the Tower Rooms over the Historic section of the hotel.

I hope to see you in the near future again.

Thank you,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is the best place to stay if you don't care about being on the beach. The hotel is a wonderful example of what we think of as old Florida, tile everywhere, open doors, lush foliage, and superb service. Plus you have all of Las Olas Blvd. with its many restaurants and shops available to you all day long. We requested a room in the old part of the hotel and were not disappointed. The room was large with a good size bathroom and a comfortable king size bed. Housekeeping was spotless. Our breakfasts at Indigo were very good but we did venture out to the crepe restaurant one day and it was also very good. We ate at other restaurants for dinner a few nights and were never disappointed and the prices were not too bad for a touristy area. We used their valet service and the car was always available within minutes. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Our only problem with our stay is that we were on the front of the building over their restaurant and on Friday and Saturday they had live music which came through our closed windows. Other street noise was barely discernible. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SherandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Good Morning,
I loved your review and how well you described our hotel on Las Olas Boulevard in Fort Lauderdale. Charming and perfect location are two of our important features. I am so pleased that my staff made your staff enjoyable.

Until the near future,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Got this through Priceline and we are used to 4 and 5 star resort hotels. We were a bit skeptical after seeing the picture of the hotel but it was just for a night. We bought 3 rooms, one for kids, one for sister and her husband and ourselves.

It was a 7$ cab ride from airport, first surprise.

Hotel is older but extremely clean, has character and the staff are wonderful. We saw the kids room which was very nice but not much of a view. We asked for an upgrade and for $30 they upgraded us to a corner balcony room overlooking the Olas River. OMG - it was magnificent! We could of just stayed on the balcony all night watching the boats and people.

You walk outside and are right in the middle of downtown Las Olas/Fort Lauderdale. 3 great bakeries within 3 blocks, tons of shopping, restaurants or take the water taxi right behind the hotel.

Our room was very comfortable - we would HIGHLY RECOMMEND and actually got a couple family members to make reservations later this year. Thank you Riverside - we WILL be back!

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ to get a corner balcony room up overlooking the river. Other rooms are fine - but t...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crunchberry327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Good Morning,
I am so happy that your experience at the Riverside Hotel on Las Olas Boulevard in Fort Lauderdale was so pleasurable. We pride ourselves in provideing the best experience for our guests.

Have a delightful day,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,761 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,925 reviews
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,720 reviews
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,119 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £96 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing