We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Fort Lauderdale at it's finest....”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old Fort Lauderdale at it's finest....”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I grew up in Fort Lauderdale but live in Chicago now. I remember the days when Las Olas was nothing fancy, just a soda fountain, a Jordan Marsh and probably Maus and Hoffman. I go back about once a year to see relatives but enjoy making it a small vacation by staying in a hotel. This hotel is on the New River about two miles from beach and a lot quieter than AIA. The rooms are very nice, staff is very accommodating, and the pool is quiet. You can walk right out front and be in busiest, nicest areas. The level of service is great but ask for a quiet room. Very nice place to stay and reminds me of how Fort Lauderdale used to be. Have a drink in the lounge, wine list is very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in tower....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nik35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Good Afternoon,
I am so happy that you had an outstanding stay with us and that our team provided you with outstanding service.

We hope to see you soon and want to wish you the Best for 2013.

Thank you,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager at The Riverside Hotel
Executive Vice President at The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    504
    166
    77
    48
See reviews for
217
563
88
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Have stayed in Ft Lauderdale many times, but not at the Riverside Hotel. From the minute I got to the front desk to the time I left, the staff were consistently friendly and helpful. Based on other reviews, I upgraded my Hotwire purchased "traditional" room to one in the tower. What a good choice. The room I had (1224) had a great view of the city and the inter-coastal waterway, was large, with a very comfortable bed. I also had a balcony which was a bonus.

I did not eat at the hotel as there are many choices, including a Cheesecake Factory right next door! I will stay here again in the future, based on the clean beautiful room and the terrific, friendly staff. One note to the hotel, one of the lamps in 1224 is not operating.

This hotel is close enough to the port of Ft. Lauderdale to stay pre-cruise, which was my purpose for this visit on Thanksgiving.

Room Tip: Upgrade to tower if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banker1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Good Afternoon,
I am very pleased that you enjoyed the Tower Unit with the wonderful view. Your tripadvisor was wonderful and much appreciated by the team.

We hope to see you soon and want to wish you the Best for 2013.

Thank you,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager at The Riverside Hotel
Executive Vice President at The Las Olas Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Bought 1/2 price coupon from Travelzoo. The weekend we were to go we had a terrible thunderstorm and they were nice enough to allow us to change our reservation without a cost. Staff very polite but Hotel too far from the beach.Great location if you want to stay on the strip to shop. Lots of stores and restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room in the building overlooking the New River
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAM1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Good Day,
I just wanted to drop you a quick note and say "Thank you" for you very nice tripadvisor. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you in the near future.

Happy Holidays,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I have stayed at the Riverside Hotel in Fort Lauderdale several times in the past for business and each time I go I am very impressed with the overall ambience and level of service. This trip I was only there for two nights, but each night the lounge and restaurants were buzzing with activity and they had live music out on the sidewalk for those choosing to dine on the sidewalk tables. Very friendly guest services staff smiled and greeting everyone personally which is always a plus. The area where the Riverside sits, in downtown Fort Lauderdale is sort of the 5th Avenue of Fort Lauderdale with all of the fine shops and outdoor restaurants. If you are going for the beach, this isn't the place because it is not all that close, but if you are going for the ambience and service, the Riverside can't be beat.

Room Tip: I stayed in the old part which is only 3 levels, I rather enjoyed the older style, yet very well mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Good Afternoon,
I really appreciate you taking the time to right this nice tripadvisor and that you enjoyed the service of the Riverside Hotel.

I hope to see you soon again!

Thank you,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at the Riverside for a pre night hotel stay prior to boarding Royal Caribbean Liberty Of The Seas on 11/13/2012, and it was FABULOUS!!!!! We had room 1130 and the view was amazing....check in was smooth sailing and got a complimentary upgrade so the vacation was started off right after booking on expedia ( never used before) and I do want to say it was easy!!!!

We walked in our room and it was sooooo clean and white....and the shops and restaraunts were right there...the dinner at the cheesecake factory was to die for!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Good Afternoon,
I am so pleased that you choose the Riverside Hotel as your Pre-Cruise and that we spoiled you in every way.

Bon Vonyage.

Thank you,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We usually stay in Coconut Grove on our weekends off the rock, but we obtained a Groupon special online and decided to try Fort Lauderdale and the Riverside Hotel. We stayed for a weekend and were very pleased with the property and staff. Upon arrival, we were welcomed and checked in - early - and when the valet noticed our paddle board on top of the vehicle, he offered to store it for us....I didn't plan on taking it off...but since he offered....I promptly unstrapped the board and handed it off to him. He took it into the hotel and stored it safely until we needed it. Then it really got good....when we decided to take the board to the beach (a very short drive), the valet not only retrieved it in mint condition, but offered to put it back on the car. This type of service is the reason we will be back. The property is a class act all around. The rooms are clean, spacious, and we had a balcony with a view of downtown and the river. The area around the property is great for walking. We walked the riverfront and Las Olas shops and found everything we needed. The water taxi was a plus and the bar was very nice. An easy walk to American Social for craft beer and Cheesecake Factory in the same building. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Good Afternoon,
what a pleasure to read your review and how you enjoyed your experience at the Riverside Hotel. We certainly appreciated the top rating from you.

Until we see you again, enjoy life.

Thank you,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehingen
Level Contributor
301 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

we stayed at the riverside hotel for 2 nights in the old part of the hotel. the room was big,
the bed very good. the hotel is in a spanish style on las olas blvd. the french inspirated
cuisine was excellent. for instance the crispy manadarin style calamari with thai-chilly sauce
was world class. the winelist offers more than 200 wines for affordable prices.youcan have breakfast, lunch and dinner inside and outside. when sitting outside you see alot of beautiful people and many mercedes, bmw and bentleys slowly passing by while you listen to the live music. las olas boulevard shows a lot
of nice shops - fashion, gifts, arts and a lot of other restaurants and cafe's. do not go to bed before 11pm - especially on the weekend you will hear some noise from the street - but
that doesn't matter.
the staff of the riverside is very friendly

Room Tip: to the street you will probably hear something but not to the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dobrikowh, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Good Afternoon,
I was so delighted to see that you not only enjoyed your stay at the Riverside Hotel, but also had high remarks on terms of our Cuisine and Wine Selection. It was certainly nice to see that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

Please visit us in the near furture.

Thank you,

Heiko Dobrikow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,723 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing