We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated older hotel”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Renovated older hotel”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Riverside has a central location on Las Olas Blvd - apparently the place to be seen in Fort Lauderdale. Rooms were dated; bathrooms were small but clean with good new showerheads. The staff were very helpful (they were undergoing a change-over of their computer system and things were a bit hectic but the reception staff did everything possible to smooth our check-in) as were the valets who parked our car.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hello MJW!

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and we're so happy to have had you visiting from Canada! We did just switch booking systems in our hotel and are we very happy the reception staff was able to assist you in a timely fashion. We truly hope to see you back next time you are in Fort Lauderdale and we suggest you try staying in our Executive Tower!


Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    504
    166
    77
    48
See reviews for
217
563
88
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis MO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was our 4th cruise leaving out of Ft. Lauderdale, but we'd only stayed the night before for the other cruises. We wanted to spend more time in Ft. Lauderdale this time, and especially on Las Olas Blvd which we'd never been to before. We did not have a rental car, so we wanted to stay somewhere that we could easily walk to shopping & dining locations, as well as a water taxi stop.

We booked a room in the executive tower section - we knew we'd prefer the newer modern rooms. We were given a 12 floor room, with a view toward downtown. The room was quite large - the bathroom especially so. Power outlets were limited, so it's a good idea to have some power strips with you. We enjoyed having a small balcony to sit outside - the weather during the last weekend in Oct was truly the best we've ever experienced in FLL.

The hotel has a few restaurant options, and on our last night we decided to have a light dinner in the Indigo restaurant. Food was good and service was excellent - there were few other diners on what was a very slow Mon night.

We used the hotel arranged shuttle service for transport from the airport to the hotel ($30) and from the hotel to the cruise port ($20)

As a pre- or post- cruise hotel, I think it's definitely a great option for stays of 2+ nights - you have many more dining options being on Las Olas Blvd. It's not quite as convenient to the port as other hotels (some of which offer free shuttle service), so if I was only going to stay one night pre-cruise, I might or might not choose to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macusr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi Macusr!

Thank you for your feedback in TripAdvisor and we are so happy you enjoyed yourself here at the Riverside Hotel! We have to agree- our 12 floor views are our favorite. We hope to see you on your next visit to Fort Lauderdale - if you're here Tues - Sat we suggest you try Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille!

Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I arrived after having disembarked from a a cruise ship and the room was immediately available. Although the room was very pleasant there was no view and I advised reception and they transferred to another room very willingly which had a much better view.
The concierge were extremely helpful and assisted me to go on a most enjoyable day tour to Orlando. Although a long way for the day the coach was comfortable and I had 7 hours at Universal Studios.
The bedroom was a good size with a good air conditioning unit and was very comfortable with no noise disturbance whatsoever.

Room Tip: The rooms that I saw all looked comfortable but a tower view room with a good view over Fort Lauderd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmillsgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for you feedback on TripAdvisor! We're thrilled to have you all the way from the United Kingdom and are so happy you were pleased with our reservations and concierge services. We truly hope to see you back at our lovely hotel and suggest you try the Indigo Restaurants or Wild Sea downstairs in our lobby your next visit!

Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Tried this hotel thanks to Hotwire and would rebook in a heartbeat if ever I find myself back in Fort Lauderdale. The hotel is pet friendly, and even hosts a happy hour for dogs on Sundays at 5:30. I don't normally partake in these types of events but decided since I was here anyway I should see what all the fuss was about and it was a lot of fun.

The hotel is right on Las Olas, surrounded by beautiful shops. The Cheesecake Factory is right next door, it has a huge menu and generous portions.

Unfortunately the hotel is about a 40 minute walk to the beaches, but the Sun Trolley offers a quick was of getting back and forth for $0.50 per direction, or $2.00 for a full day pass.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaTraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi CanadaTrvaeler89,

SO happy you and your pet enjoyed your stay at the Riverside! We're thrilled you experienced and loved Canines and Cocktails at Preston's Martini Lounge and we'll be sure to save you & your pooch a seat next time you are here.

We hope to see you back in sunny FTL very soon and suggest you try the Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille on your next stay!

Very Best,

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

we are so glad we chose to stay at the Riverside Hotel for our pre-cruise hotel.
We spent two wonderful nights and enjoyed every second. The location of the hotel on Las Olas Blvd is perfect - we loved the live music at the front of the hotel each evening. The food in the restaurant was fabulous as was the service. Check-in staff were also excellent.
We absolutely loved our huge room in the old wing- and I am very very happy we did not choose to stay in the tower. Our room was gorgeous.
Backing on to the river was great too
Would not hesitate to stay here next time we're in Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi there!

Thank you so much for you feedback on TripAdvisor! We couldn't be happier you enjoyed your stay here and were able to experience eating on Las Olas with the magical tunes of Wesley Phillips!

We can't wait to see you back and we suggest you try the Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille next time too!

Sunny Regards,

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I just came back from a three night stay at The Riverside Hotel. It was a gorgeous hotel, kept up very well, had lots of character. I read all the reviews and did as most of the reviews stated stay in the tower with a balcony. The room was spacious and nicely furnished. The location was great. Several great bars, restaurants and shopping. Just walking around the area was great. We were attending the Fort Lauderdale boat show and if you go next year, getting to the boat show is not easy! You have about a 3/4 mile to get on a water taxi or you could take the hotel shuttle but it was $15.00 each way. Water taxi is free. This did not affect my rating on the hotel because it was still great! We will defiantly stay there next year, just knowing there is a lot of walking. Water taxi ride was fun, you get to see a lot of the Fort Lauderdale area. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a weekend away with lots of things to do in a quaint hospitable hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hi Kris!

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor! We're thrilled you had such a wonderful stay and got to enjoy the boat show just down Las Olas. I was there as well and had a great time. We truly look forward to your next visit and recommend you try the Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille!

Warm Regards,

Kristi Hollinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Riverside has been our home away from home when visiting Fort Lauderdale for over 20 years. The hotel is in a superb location on Las Olas, with a great selection of dining options in the surrounding neighbourhood. Rooms are well appointed, although our preference is to avoid the traditional rooms which can be a bit musty. More often than not we'll book the classic room and don't mind the occasional upgrade to the executive tower. The downstairs bar is a good place to hang out.

Prices have gone much higher in recent years, and to avoid sticker shock remember to mentally add in for breakfast and parking in the connected multi-storey. Neither are cheap.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulhZ9321KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hello Paul!

Thank you for all of your wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor! We're happy you enjoyed everything our hotel has to offer and we're taking note of your price opinions for future consideration. We're also happy you enjoyed our downstairs bar, Preston's! Next time try our new seafood restaurant, Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille!

Warm Regards,

Kristi Hollinger

Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing