We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pre cruise hotel”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

what a great hotel ... rite on one of the best streets in Ft Lauderdale!.. excellent service, nice bedding in the newer remodeled tower.
water taxi stop very close to hop on & see the million $ homes on the intercoastal.
would definitely stay here again!
Evis was the driver/taxi to /from port & airport,, good job!

Room Tip: new tower is remodeled.. great service
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DONNAKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hi Donna!

Thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We're thrilled you had a wonderful stay and got to experience the Water Taxi! We can't wait to see you back and we hope you have a wonderful Holiday!

Warm Regards,

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We also purchase our hotels early on Booking.com to get special deals. .Always look for 4+ star Hotels .We have always been very happy but this time Riverside Hotel in Ft Lauderdale has changed that Nov.20 to 23/2013. We booked 3 days at the Riverside hotel for 100$ a night. Beautiful Hotel right on a very nice area before we went on our cruise. The young lady at the front desk was surprised at the price. I informed her I purchased a special deal. We were put on the fourth floor in the back, there were about 4 rooms on that floor. It looked like the staff area. Rooms in the dungeon I called them. I went to visit the other floors very nice, not at all like mine.
The room was not very clean, bathroom even worse. 3 star. I will never go back to that Riverside Hotel again and I will advise my friends to keep far away. I was never treated like that before by any other hotel in my life. When a hotel makes a special deals and offers you 5stars they should honor it. very unhappy and disappointed in this hotel.

Room Tip: Never go for their specials
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Hi Elaine,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. Your concerns were passed along to our team and we apologize for the inconvenience it caused you. We truly hope you return and we can change your mind with more tailored reservations for your taste.

Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed 5 nights over the Thanksgiving week. We had a very nice, spacious room in the tower (the newest part of the hotel) on the 12th floor with a balcony and a wonderful view. The view at night is particularly nice with all the high rise buildings and their lights. We faced the Bank of America tower with it's pyramidal top with very interesting lights most of the time. The first few nights it was lit a soft pink which I didn't find very attractive but later in the week it was yellow and orange, with the pattern changing regularly. Very nice.

We could also see the New River with all the monster yachts moored or going back and forth.

The hotel is right on Las Olas Blvd. with all it's spectacularness.

The staff is wonderful, couldn't be nicer or more helpful. We left a note for the maid to leave us regular coffee instead of decaf, and extra creamer. She didn't so when we got back late that evening we went down to the desk. They gave us two packets of regular coffee but couldn't get to the creamer. That area was locked. So we went up to the room and a few minutes later the desk clerk himself knocked on the door. He had gone to the kitchen to get a cup of milk for us and brought it up himself! We put some ice in the ice bucket to keep it cold and had plenty for the next two mornings. That's service above and beyond!

Two minor gripes:

The TV is set on the full screen setting which makes normal dimension pictures wide and squatty. The people look short and fat. We could not find any way adjust the picture to normal setting.

The coffee: A coffee pot in the room is a must for us, we can't get out the door without two cups of coffee in the morning. The Riverside provides packets of coffee from RoyalCup, "The World's Most Passionate Coffee Roasters". It's horrible. Apparently no one from the hotel has tasted the stuff; it's bitter and sour and quite unpleasant.

If you are like us and really need your coffee before you can function, bring your own instant, and some creamer, and just use the pot to heat the water.

Other than those two (very) minor things, a magnificent hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The tower's rooms are newer. We didn't go into the old section but from some other's co...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Temblor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hi Temblor123,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and we're thrilled to have had you here from Alabama for 5 days! We're also very pleased to see you enjoyed our locations and our staff was able to go above and beyond for you! We passed along your tips to our management and we truly look forward to your next stay.

We hope you have very Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was our 4th visit to the Riverside and we cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Fort Lauderdale. It's comfortable, clean, well located (if you're not bothered about the beach) and has 2 excellent bars. 2 small criticisms are the cost of the valet parking and the pool being a little distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: A tower room in the newer part of the hotel is essential.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neal_etherington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hi Neal,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and we thrilled to have you stay with us all the way from the United Kingdom! We're pleased to see you enjoyed the lounges in our hotel and we suggest you try our two restaurants, Indigo and Wild Sea on your next stay!

Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Riverside has a central location on Las Olas Blvd - apparently the place to be seen in Fort Lauderdale. Rooms were dated; bathrooms were small but clean with good new showerheads. The staff were very helpful (they were undergoing a change-over of their computer system and things were a bit hectic but the reception staff did everything possible to smooth our check-in) as were the valets who parked our car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hello MJW!

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and we're so happy to have had you visiting from Canada! We did just switch booking systems in our hotel and are we very happy the reception staff was able to assist you in a timely fashion. We truly hope to see you back next time you are in Fort Lauderdale and we suggest you try staying in our Executive Tower!


Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was our 4th cruise leaving out of Ft. Lauderdale, but we'd only stayed the night before for the other cruises. We wanted to spend more time in Ft. Lauderdale this time, and especially on Las Olas Blvd which we'd never been to before. We did not have a rental car, so we wanted to stay somewhere that we could easily walk to shopping & dining locations, as well as a water taxi stop.

We booked a room in the executive tower section - we knew we'd prefer the newer modern rooms. We were given a 12 floor room, with a view toward downtown. The room was quite large - the bathroom especially so. Power outlets were limited, so it's a good idea to have some power strips with you. We enjoyed having a small balcony to sit outside - the weather during the last weekend in Oct was truly the best we've ever experienced in FLL.

The hotel has a few restaurant options, and on our last night we decided to have a light dinner in the Indigo restaurant. Food was good and service was excellent - there were few other diners on what was a very slow Mon night.

We used the hotel arranged shuttle service for transport from the airport to the hotel ($30) and from the hotel to the cruise port ($20)

As a pre- or post- cruise hotel, I think it's definitely a great option for stays of 2+ nights - you have many more dining options being on Las Olas Blvd. It's not quite as convenient to the port as other hotels (some of which offer free shuttle service), so if I was only going to stay one night pre-cruise, I might or might not choose to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macusr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hi Macusr!

Thank you for your feedback in TripAdvisor and we are so happy you enjoyed yourself here at the Riverside Hotel! We have to agree- our 12 floor views are our favorite. We hope to see you on your next visit to Fort Lauderdale - if you're here Tues - Sat we suggest you try Wild Sea Oyster Bar and Grille!

Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I arrived after having disembarked from a a cruise ship and the room was immediately available. Although the room was very pleasant there was no view and I advised reception and they transferred to another room very willingly which had a much better view.
The concierge were extremely helpful and assisted me to go on a most enjoyable day tour to Orlando. Although a long way for the day the coach was comfortable and I had 7 hours at Universal Studios.
The bedroom was a good size with a good air conditioning unit and was very comfortable with no noise disturbance whatsoever.

Room Tip: The rooms that I saw all looked comfortable but a tower view room with a good view over Fort Lauderd...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmillsgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside1936, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for you feedback on TripAdvisor! We're thrilled to have you all the way from the United Kingdom and are so happy you were pleased with our reservations and concierge services. We truly hope to see you back at our lovely hotel and suggest you try the Indigo Restaurants or Wild Sea downstairs in our lobby your next visit!

Happy Holidays!

Kristi Hollinger
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,762 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,926 reviews
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,720 reviews
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,120 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-2287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £97 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing